We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the market hotel, but variable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top of the market hotel, but variable service”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Beautiful hotel and still feeling new after being open for a year or so. Nice well appointed rooms. Highly variable service from front desk, bar and Executive Floor staff. Some are absolutely delightful; others (especially in the bar where they delight in 'showing off', throwing bottles around, sneering at customers they think don't 'fit' the oh-so-fashionable ethos, and pouring drinks from two feet above the glass) are verging on the plain rude. A shame really, because it spoils the rest of the show. But we would come back again (and avoid the bar)!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Visitor951,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that in general your stay met expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at the bar which was disappointing and will be followed up.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Surfers Paradise and I hope we see you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    916
    535
    308
    182
See reviews for
1,115
1,048
105
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for the first time over the weekend of the 23rd of March the room itself was fairly spacious, not significantly larger nor smaller than other 5 Star hotels. The bathroom however was excellent, with ample towels and toiletries, a huge bath and a monsoon shower head. But really this place is all about the bed. What can I say about the bed? It was amazing. If you can’t sleep like a baby on one of these beds there’s something wrong with you

The staff at this hotel are simply superb - very friendly, helpful, know their city very well and they work very hard in anticipating guest needs. The concierge staff were very professional and friendly/ helpful. If you talk to the Chief Concierge Anthony, you are lucky. He knows it all and has great suggestions and recommendations. He took the time to go over what we had already planned and then pretty much tailored our entire visit which was fantastic. He and his team are an asset to the resort.
The only downside is noise. I could hear people signing, garbage trucks collecting trash all throughout the night and I was already on a higher floor (with a balcony). Perhaps double glaze windows needs to be installed?
Overall a great hotel which provides great quality of comfort. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Angie S,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your special mention of Anthony, he will be delighted.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Gorgeous complex in a super location! Rooms and bathrooms were great, beds comfy, great views and the swimming pool and breakfast were awesome! The kitchen facilities within the rooms were also great but the only thing I would fault is that our room didnt come with a tea towel so we couldnt comfortably wash any of our own dishes.

Also the toiletries provided are amazing, really really impressed with the service at the Hilton! Its located right in the entertainment district next to bars, restaurants and clubs so if this is what you are after this district is walking distance from the hotel. Being three young girls who shopped, wined and dined - we found it to be a perfect location. Make sure you check out the pool deck if you stay here its gorgeous!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear LKD_13,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope to see you back on future travels.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Busy breakfast period and the kitchen particularly were under the pump.
Candice was the only chef on at the time and she owned that kitchen like a boss punching out orders.
I found out later that she rarely does the breakfast run
Well done also to Benja one of the waiting staff and Bonnie managing the restaurant.
Overall, all staff were fantastic at such a busy time and food was awesome!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWODcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dera GWODcentral,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

It was great to see that you had a memorable breakfast at Salt grill and I hope we see you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Hilton at Surfers is an excellent hotel with great staff and facilities. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. I will definitely stay there again. Must add more. Trip adviser with 200 minimum charters is doing themselves a disservice. How many characters is this now?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Philip K,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Mid March for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment since we were 3 adults and 2 kids. While I had researched prices @ Kayak.com and Hotels.com I've decided to book directly on their website, which turned out to be a great decision. They offered me an upgrade for AUD99 per night which was worth every cent since we managed to stay at the 46th floor. I can understand people complaning about noise since the Hotel is right in the middle of Surfer's Paradise night life hence an upgrade while not guaranteed is highly recommend.
I've read people here complaining about the service but for us it was impecable from check in to check out. Maids came very often asking if we needed extra towels and extra cleaning.
I can't understand complaints about breakfast since one of the points in staying at a Hotel with a kitchen is exactly the confort of eating at 'home' and not depending on Hotel's restaurants. There is a fantastic supermarket 1.5 blocks away. Having said that Salt restaurant on 1st level is excellent. Please note that in Surfer's Paradise most of the shops and restaurants close early. The attendants looked at us like if we were from a diferent planet trying to reserve a table for dinner at 9pm

Negatives - Small pool for the complex. But hey with such a nice beach 2 blocks away who needs a pool?
Positives - Location, location and location. Car park, views and shops around. Check in and check out were fast and precise.

Overall highly recommended

Room Tip: If offered a AUD99 upgrade to high floors TAKE IT
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbeninatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear rsbeninatto,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in a Hilton Residence and that paying for an upgrade enhanced your experience. The hotel certainly does have a central location in Surfers Paradise and is just a short stroll to the beach.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but enjoyed it so much and the same Wotif deal is still on, so we are returning for another two nights on the 30th. I agree about all the toddlers in the spa, but with the amazing outdoor pool, I left them to it and went out there. Very friendly greeting on arrival, our room on the 10th floor was great. Love the location and was happy to pay the $15 to park for the convenience and security. The building work for the light rail didn't start until 7am so we were ok with that.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BHP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear janetbritton2001,

Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate your feedback.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you back on the 30th!

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing