We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is nice but without a soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It is nice but without a soul”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

It has been more than a decade since I last spent any time at the Gold Coast or more correctly in Surfers Paradise. I flew in for a mates 40th bday and booked 4 nights at the Hilton to be close to the action.

Check in ran smoothly and I was shown to my room on the 12 floor with views of main beach from the balcony. The room was pretty nondescript and while functional, tidy and clean it could have been any business hotel. This really shouldn't be the case I assume the Hilton Surfers isn't marketing itself as a business hotel.

For those keen on the night life the hotel is smack bang in the middle of Cavill Avenue which has numerous bars and food options. Sadly Cavill avenue doesn't appear to have gotten much better in the past decade and still has a few drunks wandering the streets and the Hotel has a number of nightclubs that are very close. It would be wise to ensure you have a high floor as friends staying on a lower floor had a sleepness night on the Friday and Saturday.

Luke Magnan's name is associated with the food although not sure why. As above it was standard and somewhat boring nameless business hotel food. It filled you up but you don't even really recall what you ate.

Would I stay again ? No.

Was my experience that bad ? no it wasn't.

But if I am going to spend time at main beach surfers paradise then I want a holiday feel to my accommodation. The Hilton in Surfers Paradise feels like it hasnt got a soul, I could have been at the Hyatt or Marriott in Brisbane, Adelaide or Newcastle.

There are better choices for a beachside holiday

Room Tip: Get a high floor room to avoid the sound of nightclubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_W_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Matt_W_Oz,

Thank you for your review, we value your feedback and have taken on board your thoughts on the look and feel of the property design. The original design concept for the property was to capture a more urban feel rather than a typical seaside resort. I have shared your comments relating to the food with our Executive Chef who works closely with Luke Mangan.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,293
    916
    538
    308
    181
See reviews for
1,116
1,050
105
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My partner and I frequently travel to Hilton for overnight stays & time alone away from our children, Love the hilton bedding the most & its the only hotel we stay at that has a bed better than ours lol.... Food is average & very expensive, Location is bang on & lots to do around you....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanneniblett .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Jeanneniblett,

Thank you for posting your review, we are delighted to see that you enjoy your stays and in particular the bed and location. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location is supurb. Close to shopping, restaurants, bars and night clubs. Room was spacious (2 bedroom apartment) amenities were great, very comfortable pillow and bed, awsome nights sleep. No need to have a vehicle everything is at doors step including 5 star restaurants. Staff very friendly and polite. Great room service. Would definately stay again. Looking forward to next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mario Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Mario Anthony T,

Thank you for your review, we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in a Hilton Surfers Paradise Residence. It is always great for the team to see such positive feedback.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It was a very good experience me and my family had during our stay in the Hotel. The services and the staffs were outstanding and friendly. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a good holiday in Gold Coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Ren L,

Thanks you for your review, I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise Residences and thank you for your recommendation.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were very dissatisified with the toilet flushing systems which were not working properly and worst of all the the dirty toilet bowls were not even cleaned up during our last day of stay. This had definitely leave us a very bad experience with Hilton Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Chew E,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you may have encountered an issue in relation to the toilet flushing properly which has been foloowed up with Engineering and I do apologise for the inconvenience.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parramatta, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights and really relaxed and enjoyed our visit. The hotel is located close to Cavill Ave and the beach. We had partial ocean views and the room was spacious and very clean. We sat with our balcony doors open and could hear the ocean. We didn't swim in the outdoor pool as the water felt too cold.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear clb40_12,

Thank you for your review, we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Your comment regarding the pool temperature has been noted and followed up with the Engineering team.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

It might be the worst Hilton Hotel that I have ever stayed. My partner and I went there during the Easter holidays. It was disappointing that you spent a lot of money but received very poor service.

First, we were only allowed to check in by 3pm, but you had to check out before 10am. I haven't seen any greedy hotel like this.

Second, our booking included the access to the executive lounge on the 15th floor. When we got there while waiting for check-in. There were no one greeting you, and there were leftover food and used cups on many tables. I couldn't believe it is a five stars hotel.

Third, I expected the room should be impressed with good facilities, but unfortunately it was very average. It's shame they called it a luxury hotel.

Fourth, the included breakfast was all about cold food except for coffee and self-service toasts. There was no any hot food in the very simple breakfast. Very limited choices.

Fifth, you have to pay for WIFI if you don't have an access to the executive lounge.

Sixth, the location is very good, I have to say. I reckon they maybe don't really care about the service because of their good location.

Room Tip: If you can access to the executive lounge, please ask for the free WIFI PIN and you can use it at an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPHSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Bin2012,

Thank you for your review, naturally we were disappointed to see that your stay did not fully meet expectations.

If I may address some of your concerns, check in time at the Hilton Hotel and Residences is 3:00pm, if there are rooms avaialble prior to this time we will endeavour to facilitate an earlier check-in. Check out time is 11:00am which is a fairly standard departure time across the industry, if reqested and depending on the hotel occupancy we may be able to assist with a later check out time.

I am sorry that the Executive Lounge was untidy when you arrived and have passed this to the Lounge Manager for her information. When booking accommodation through Hilton channels and most other booking sites that for room types that include access to the Executive Lounge it is clearly stated that Continental Breakfast is included.

Once again apologies that your expectations were not fully met, but we were pleased to see you liked our location.

Best regards,

Chris Partridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing