We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good portions”

Kitty O'shea's Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Welcome to Kitty O'Shea's Irish Bar & Restaurant, Surfers Paradise! As an established Bar & Restaurant which has been in operation for the last 10 years Kitty's welcomes all age groups to come on down and enjoy some relaxed hospitality. Our staff will greet you from the moment you walk in the door... We have many different Irish and local beers to choose from, along with some traditional Irish fare and the favourite meals you expect from a tavern style venue such as ours.
Bradenton
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great views and good portions”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This place had so much potential. I kept waiting for something great to happen. We were there early in the day, and it was dead, but I am guessing at night, it is one rocking place.

The food was good and very large size portions. I had the salad and my friends had the fish and chips. I can't really say anything negative. But nothing amazing either.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    106
    29
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I had a drink here one evening and decided to go back for dinner. Basically another Irish themed pub styled eatery with a reasonable selection of beer, wine and food. I had the ribs which were excellent. My wife had the salmon and the kids - the guinness pie and a burger (of course). Reasonable value with good service and an enjoyable outdoor atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aje71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We came in here for a simple pub meal, and were quite surprised by its offerings. My partner ordered, for the first time in his life, bangers and mash. The French in him did not turn up his nose on the food, which means it must be pretty good.
I ordered the Cajun fish, which was on the specials board, and was served fish with spiced couscous. It was beautifully done.
The beers were cold, the service was quick, the food was good, and we really enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FordPrefectII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forbes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Worst Guinness in Australia”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Food is average, what you would expect in any RSL in Australia.
Guinness is shocking, I would say the worst I have tasted in Australia or anywhere else

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location and good specials”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Check out the specials board... Their $10 meals are great value and easily big enough for an average appetite - or there is room for an ice cream after dinner. We did notice that the 'specials' board disappeared on friday night - i suppose fair enough, but we dined elsewhere that nighta s we didnt want a full sized meal!
The location is central surfers, lots happening, people coming and going. The only annoyance was nothing to do with the bar and that was an overly loud busker outside. Very loud, and while good, he was only singing a limited repertoire!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NinkyandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitty O'shea's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Kitty O'shea's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing