We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pub meal”
Review of Surfers Sandbar - CLOSED

Surfers Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant & Bar, located opposite Surfers Paradise beach. Casual all-day & evening dining with indoor & outdoor seating. Family friendly & relaxed atmosphere. Cafe open from 6am & buffet breakfast from 6.45am. Lunch served from 12pm as well as an all day/night menu. 120 Beers, 20 Taps, Specialising in Local and American Craft Beer. Open until late 7 days a week.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good pub meal”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The sand bar is a place we always come back to for good pub food and great value for money. It is not a fancy night out but a place to sit and relax when you are on holidays. No one ever leaves hungry

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    171
    45
    11
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must for calamari lovers”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Centrally located and good sea view from The Esplanade at Surfers Paradise. We have tried various meals here and they are all very good, but nothing beats their salt and pepper calamari, so if you like calamari, don't order the entree...go for the main course because its that good that you won't want to stop eating it. Friendly service at fair prices. Definitely worth a visit for all tourists and Gold Coast locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Stephen,


I totally agree, the calamari is delicious and really popular, hence why we named it 'our famous' salt & pepper calamari.

Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here 12 months ago and loved it. Great food and value. Kids enjoyed their meals too.

Dined here this trip sans kids. Something appears to have gone wrong in 12 months. Food was bland. Chips warm only. Chicken and steak consumed with the Hawaiian topper. Reasonable. Far too much Carribean spice on the pineapple. It was totally black. Too much pepper on veggies.

It was a shame, as we really enjoyed it last time.

The place is busy at break but Deas in evenings. A look at the quality of food currently may change that. Staff very friendly though.

Helpful?
Thank Damian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
I am sad to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to our restaurant. I hope that you asked to speak to a manager on duty to express your concerns about the quality of your food. The pineapple that is served with the Hawaiian topper with cajun spice is char grilled, so it should be blackened though not totally black. Unfortunately pepper is one of those things where some people love lots and others not as much. I am sorry if we were a bit heavy handed with yours.
Winter time (the low season) is typically a quiet time of year for us and the rest of Surfers Paradise. Even more so with the recent bad weather.
Thank you for your feedback. We do hope to see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clair, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We enjoyed our breakfast here. There was plenty of variety, and it was mostly all fine. There were traditional breakfast foods, fruit and some unusual offerings (Cajun chicken at breakfast?). Overall, quite enjoyable and worth the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shankar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location, variety and great price”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went to the Surfers Sandbar during the Easter Holidays and wanted to eat somewhere different without paying over the top for a buffet breakfast. After finding reviews on the Sandbar we thought to give it a go, firstly the location of the Sandbar is perfect, after a morning walk along the beach you cross the road to the Sandbar and have breakfast. I was so surprise at the price you pay, only $15/adult after seeing the spread at the buffet. Where can you get that much variety, with coffee and juice included at the price you pay. The food was great, tasty and hot, food was always being replenished so you didn't see any empty spots on the buffet and service was great. Would recommend this place to anyone who don't want to pay for expensive hotel buffet breakfast, but wants a great location and variety at a great price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golden8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for posting a great review of our buffet breakfast! We established the first all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast in Surfers Paradise almost 16 years ago. It has been a huge success due to its great quality food and reasonable prices, and of course the fabulous ocean views.
We're really happy that you enjoyed the buffet and hope we see you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfers Sandbar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing