We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A seaside breakfast delight”
Review of Surfers Sandbar - CLOSED

Surfers Sandbar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant & Bar, located opposite Surfers Paradise beach. Casual all-day & evening dining with indoor & outdoor seating. Family friendly & relaxed atmosphere. Cafe open from 6am & buffet breakfast from 6.45am. Lunch served from 12pm as well as an all day/night menu. 120 Beers, 20 Taps, Specialising in Local and American Craft Beer. Open until late 7 days a week.
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Surfers Paradise has a very good choice of breakfast spots, especially ones by the beach front. Sandbar is located right opposite of Surfers Paradise beach. Sitting in front of the beach having breakfast buffet is just awesome. Watching surfers surfing by the waves and families strolling along the sands is sooooo relaxing. Food-wise ..... just ok. Ambience ..... top star!

Thank Timothylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 312 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an excellent place to go for dinner with friends & family. The menu is pretty varied so you can go back a few times as we did & have many different and delicious meals. I can thoroughly recommend the Supreme Pizzas, the Creamy Garlic Prawns, the Mexican Burger, the Seafood Fry-up & the Roast Dinners. The portion sizes are very generous & good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Trevor,

We're really happy you enjoyed your experience! Thanks for the positive feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The sand bar is a place we always come back to for good pub food and great value for money. It is not a fancy night out but a place to sit and relax when you are on holidays. No one ever leaves hungry

Thank Roslyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Centrally located and good sea view from The Esplanade at Surfers Paradise. We have tried various meals here and they are all very good, but nothing beats their salt and pepper calamari, so if you like calamari, don't order the entree...go for the main course because its that good that you won't want to stop eating it. Friendly service at fair prices. Definitely worth a visit for all tourists and Gold Coast locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Stephen,


I totally agree, the calamari is delicious and really popular, hence why we named it 'our famous' salt & pepper calamari.

Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here 12 months ago and loved it. Great food and value. Kids enjoyed their meals too.

Dined here this trip sans kids. Something appears to have gone wrong in 12 months. Food was bland. Chips warm only. Chicken and steak consumed with the Hawaiian topper. Reasonable. Far too much Carribean spice on the pineapple. It was totally black. Too much pepper on veggies.

It was a shame, as we really enjoyed it last time.

The place is busy at break but Deas in evenings. A look at the quality of food currently may change that. Staff very friendly though.

Thank Damian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01manager, Manager at Surfers Sandbar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

I am sad to hear you didn't enjoy your recent visit to our restaurant. I hope that you asked to speak to a manager on duty to express your concerns about the quality of your food. The pineapple that is served with the Hawaiian topper with cajun spice is char grilled, so it should be blackened though not totally black. Unfortunately pepper is one of those things where some people love lots and others not as much. I am sorry if we were a bit heavy handed with yours.
Winter time (the low season) is typically a quiet time of year for us and the rest of Surfers Paradise. Even more so with the recent bad weather.
Thank you for your feedback. We do hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surfers Sandbar also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing