We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sat like an idiot for 20 minutes holding our menus”

Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
Reserve with
Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious pastas with home-made sauces. The best oven-baked pizzas. Great tasting veal and chicken dishes. Mouth-watering steaks and seafood. Fresh green salads. A wide selection of wine and beer. "Good food - Good friends - Good life."
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sat like an idiot for 20 minutes holding our menus”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have been going to Costa Doro for 10 years. It was my birthday so we went to the coast for the night, just to go to Costa Doro for dinner as we have done in years past. We where sat right in the entrance way , the staff passed us numerous times and 2 said they would be back in a minute, but no one did. All that seemed to be happening was someone who looked like the owner, just kept having a go at staff he even looked at me 3 times and i was waiving the menu around. So after 20 minutes we got up and walked out, and some Italian guy that had i asked to take out order 10 minutes before , siad have a loveley night. Very dissapointing , but thank you as we have now found a better Italian Restaraunt to go to.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Firstly I'd like to greatly apologize for your bad experience, especially after being such loyal customers and us priding ourselves on quick service, and secondly I'd like to let you know I've discussed the issue with the staff and we will all try harder not to let it happen again to anybody.
Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    132
    51
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprised at how good this was”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Dined here one night late January after walking down the strip and wasn't looking or expecting much from these places, but great service and food, would definitely come back here again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raptas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good reviews are great for our restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to write one. THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halls Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a bad meal and ok priced, at a discount.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Fast, efficient and friendly service with a 25% discount before 7pm. Went for dinner with the kids and ordered the Chicken Parmigiana, kids lasagne, kids bolognaise and a beef pizza.
Veges and sauce with the chicken was average and the pizza was dry. With the discount it cost about $65, I wouldn't have been happy paying full price for the quality of food we had. In saying that if your after quick service and an early dinner for the kids, this place would suit but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby also.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SleeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good reviews are great for our restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to write one. THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Delicious food. Friendly prompt service. Nice ambience. All staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Nice outdoor setting and well protected from the rain. Not too noisy so able to talk comfortably with my partner.

Helpful?
Thank kenny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good reviews are great for our restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to write one. THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fitzroy Crossing, Australia
1 review
“true hospitality on the Gold Coast”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This place is awesome. Apart from the very welcoming staff and management, the customer service here is friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble and you are not only treated as a guest, but even part of their extended family. The food is made with true passion and is the best Italian food on the coast by far. Menu was extensive, the most difficult part was to choose which meal. The wine and beverage menu is also extensive and moderately priced. The meals were delivered to our table with no delays, just hospitality at its best. And to top it off, I love seeing the chef come out during the night to mingle with his guests and ask how they enjoyed their meal. Professionalism. Congratulations Costa D,Oro,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael F, Owner at Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good reviews are great for our restaurant. We appreciate you taking time to write one. THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Southport, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Costa D'oro Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing