We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep your expectations in check!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Mmmm..A Marriott Hotel should be a pretty good place to stay? That's what I thought. However I found this hotel to be slight odd. Probably the most interesting aspect of my stay was the refurbished rooms. They are not so much as refurbished as given a coat of paint and soft furnishings. It's an odd sensation to say the least and I'm not convinced the money was spent in the right way. Your sort of living in two works, looks nice from a distance but up close...it's the same. Sounds strange...it's kind of is! Anyway ...the hotels pools are great and it's a nice location with sweeping views of the beach. The Restaurant staff are a bit odd as well, I can't put my finger on it, but their approach and engagement seems somehow managed and slightly unpolished. During one evening dinner, the restaurant managed moved all the tables and chairs around us to make way for some repairs to tiles. We might as well not have existed. Odd considering he was the one that sat us there only 10 minutes earlier. Anyway... Keep your expectations in check... And you may be delighted. Not for me though.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,340 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

I have been coming to the Marriott at Surfers for about 16 years and this place is simply fantastic !! The hotel is a complete resort which you never have to leave if you don't want to. The pool area is something else, it has a big sand lagoon to swim in with the fishes if you want or you can sit in the cave under the waterfall, have a spa in the rock cave or relax on one of their new day beds. There is also the other pool which lines the Nerang river with lots os banana lounges, and fantastic views i love it , you can hang out by the pool all day and have luch, snacks and drinks bought to whenever you want, or play on the waterslide. this place is so relaxing and you have so much to look at you never feel bored, the gardens, the little lizards running around, the atmosphere , Jonothan at the pool shop is always happy and friendly. I love the new restaurant, the food selection is immense and beautiful and fresh, much better than the old one and Colin is my favorite waiter always happy and gives great service. The lobby is beautiful and big and the rooms have always been excellent!! Great beds for sleeping .. we stayed at the elandra retreat club again and the staff there are fabulous and so is the food and drinks and views well. go see for yourself. we just had our 25th anniversary there again , it was an absolute treat and we will return over and over again, it is a true resort with everything you could wish for i say go if you are wondering, just do it !!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vblue737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I traveled to Surfers Paradise in Queensland up the Gold Coast on Oct 24,2011,I went with a friend & we stayed at the Marriott Surfers Paradise,when we walked in the front door we were greeted & the foyer was amazingly beautiful with two grand staircases leading up to 2nd level.The lobby had various big comfy furniture groupings,one area around the corner for privacy had a lounge with 4 large screened conputers for guests to use for free,we used them alot to keep in touch with family & friends. Our room was on the 22nd floor with amazing views.The hotel is not right in the downtown area but we walked to all the shops & eateries everyday in 10-15 mins, less than a mile.The beach is across the street & 2 blocks down from the hotel.The beach is a white sand beach,if you go to the beach from the downtown area it is just a beautiful enterance.I could live here.The rooms were good size & the bathrooms had a huge soak tub & there is a separate glass shower & the counter had drawers to put your'e things in.Pool area is great with a sand beach pool,& a snorkling lagoon w/live tropical fish, a large cave with waterfalls & a hidden Jacuzzi in it,and cooling off pools.I was also glad they had a laundry room on the third floor for guests, we did use it,a little spendy though($4.00 to wash & $4.00 to dry aus coins only.The hotel staff was great & so freindly & helpful to our questions & needs..Will stay here again & again.But i will come back in late nov when it is hotter,not oct when it seems to be a little cooler than i like because it is still spring time.I should mention,we took a train from Brisbane airport to central station & caught a bus from there to surfers paradise, all took about 2 hours & the bus dropped us off about a half a block from The Marriott! Or you can rent a car but you don't need one here,busses go everywhere,that was our mode of transportation!The people in Austraila are the nicest people i have ever met in al my travels.:)

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on a higher floor like the 22nd floor because you can see the whole city view &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyville_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This resort is the best resort with fantastic facilities. We have stayed in a standard room, a junior suite and the executive suite. All the rooms have a fabulous view, either the Hinterland or Ocean View have wonderful views. The rooms are well appointed, the standard room with 2 double beds is comfortable, but for 4 people we like a bit of room if staying more than a few days. The junior suite was a great size, but the Executive Suite with the separate bedroom, 2 toilets, had the best view from the bathroom and spa bath I have ever seen. Lots of room for the family and entertaining.
The buffet breakfast and dinner was sensational with a wonderful selection of foods. The restaurant has their own pizza oven and Room Service have a great pizza family deal, great value. We like to take advantage of the valet parking, you do feel a bit special when the valet's take your car.

The Lagoon pool where you can snorkel with the fish is amazing. You can hire the equipment, or can take your own, or just buy a cheap pair at the many stores in town. The large pool, water slide and heated spas are wonderful for the kids and adults alike. We hired tennis rackets and had a few games of tennis at the hotel, that was interesting. They even have a kids playground on the same level as the tennis courts.
The downside of this hotel is the location, apart from Red Rooster across the highway, there is no other stores directly near this hotel. The hotel does have a gift shop that sells a few essential items. We love this resort and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelAnytime6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

this is the second time we stayed at this place,it was coincidentally on my bday both last yr and this.The stay was comfortable as we upgraded to a club retreat room- $95/- per person.The furnishing is better than the standard room however the bathroom needs updating.Having said that the standard rooms look tired and old especially the bathroom .Overall stay was fine though the elandra retreat club is on the 28th floor and is a place you can go to chill out with refreshments offered throughout the day.
Staff were courteous and friendly.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpepper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

From the moment you walk into the most beautiful foyer you have ever seen, you will feel welcome here. We are a family of 4, with an 'active' 6 year old boy :o) and the staff are always friendly and welcoming, there is no 'stuffy 5 star' feel at all. The rooms are very comfortable, with the most comfortable beds and pillows - we all slept so well, they are well soundproofed and a decent size. The balcony is big enough to sit out on and the view superb - we were on level 23. Probably the star attraction at the Marriott is the pool area, has to be seen to be believed, huge lagoon pool with tropical fish, you can hire snorkels to wim with them- this is a salt water environment, fish feeding at 930am is worth attending, very interesting. The other pools are just as fab, a waterslide and waterfall, 2 spas, all in a natural and tropical setting. Pool bar available, try the watermelon mojito! The bearded dragons who also live in the pool area are gorgeous, as is the birdlife - look for bats at night. If you can, splurge on the Marriott buffet for dinner is a treat, kids will love the dessert decadence station, grown ups the seafood spread. All in all will endeavour to get back to this resort, felt so refreshed and spoilt, just what we all needed. Thankyou, Marriott, loved every minute.

Room Tip: If you can, book a ocean/pool view room, is worth it! Also the upper levels have great view, we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancisCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Having stayed here over a dozen times, I have to say the hotel just keeps getting better with every visit. The new renovations has done wonders with the new look lobby and restaurants also the new look in the rooms. The pool always delivers a fun relaxed vibe, plenty of cocktails and swimming there!
The buffet dinner and brekky are awesome! The only thing I encountered was on check out the receptionist forgot to reverse the amount on my partners credit card that they take upon check in which is the room rate plus am extra $100 bond. So we were charged our bill AND that price so we had double taken off our card and didn't realize till a few days later while checking online. One phone call later though the hotel organized for it to be reversed and it was. Other than that I will be back in January to celebrate my partners bday. So highly recommend ! A+

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIJILUVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £157 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing