We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star rating without a doubt!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

As i am someone who frequently travels to Surfers Paradise, I can admit to having stayed in some average hotels in this area which all claim to be the best! However, the Marriott Resort & Spa IS the best hotel i have stayed at in Surfers Paradise by FAR!
The location is a short walk to the center of the city, which can be pleasant seeming that the Gold Coast has great weather to walk in and explore things along the way. Take the beach route and take in the great scenery each morning! Very enjoyable..
The lobby is fantastic and has this amazing stair case which immediately tells you that you are going to stay in one classy hotel! The check-in staff are very friendly and all staff are happy to go out of their way to suggest places to go and great things to do during your stay in QLD.
The room is very clean and pleasant to stay in - but the best thing about this hotel has got to be the pool area!! There is a fake beach with fish swimming in certain areas, giving you a great buzz and a totally different experience. There is also a water slide, a spa situated under the manmade caves and a little cafe to enjoy a drink or snack while sun-baking in the Gold Coast sun! I can NOT think of a better way to spend your holiday when traveling to QLD!
This hotel is definitely worthy of my 5 star and Excellent travel review and if you do not go and book the Marriott Resort and Spa right NOW - then you are missing out!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Pago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,101 - 2,107 of 2,463 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

You walk into the Marriott and you are transformed to a different world. The pool here is outstanding and is worth booking the stay because of this. Food though can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aero_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed for one night in an Elandra Retreat room to celebrate my birthday. For the cost per night and experience of other club lounges in other hotel chains, I was expecting the absolute best of everything. My expectations were left lacking.

The room was ok - smallish bedroom area but a huge bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Apparently the rooms have been refurbished, but there's an odd mix of now vs 70's chic. The bed and pillows were the highlight for me - absolutely fabulous night's sleep on one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. There's a sizeable flatscreen tv in the room which is sadly still running on analogue which made the reception pretty poor and completely unwatchable on some channels. We requested this be fixed, but the problem was only made worse.

We had a hinterland view room, which had partial ocean views and views of the canals. I don't think it's worth paying the extra $ per night for an ocean view, given that the hotel is 2 blocks back from the ocean and has other high-rise buildings in front of it.

The Elandra Retreat was nicely furnished, and offers breakfast, morning tea, light lunch refreshments (bread and dips only), afternoon tea, evening canapes & beverages, and desert. It was great being able to help yourself to refreshments whenever you needed them during the day - soft drinks and tea and coffee only. Wine and beer is kept locked away for the evening service only - this is the first club lounge that I have experienced do this. The alcoholic beverages are very average. Cheap-ish wine and local beer - fine to showcase Australian products, but for the cost per night (almost double the cost of a standard room), they need to be serving premium products. The evening canapes and desert are the highlights.

Unlike other club rooms, you have to pay extra if you wish to dine in the hotel restaurant (a "discounted" rate of $50/couple) for breakfast instead of the lounge. Again, for the price you pay, you should have the choice.

On the positive side, they delivered a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate-coated strawberries complimentary for my birthday, which was a lovely touch.

As previously mentioned, check-in is a drawn-out process so allow extra time for this.

Overall, wouldn't stay here again as a value for money "luxury" option.

Room Tip: Don't bother with an ocean view room, but high floors are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrissieKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel. It was very good last year and even better this time around.

I found the check-in staff to be unusually professional and very welcoming. I was a walk-in booking and managed to get a good rate (better than last year).

My family (wife and 3yo daughter) was accommodated in an ocean view room on level 16. The view is very good (but not outstanding). The standard of the room fittings was excellent and everything appeared to be practically new and of very high quality. The sleep quality of the beds was especially good.

There is a flat screen TV with good channel selection and free wifi which was a nice surprise (data rate was pretty good too). The bathroom is bigger than average with good quality fittings. The inclusion of a bath was much appreciated by my little girl.

The standard of housekeeping was top notch and the ladies were very accommodating in working around my sleeping child (who was exhausted between swimming sessions).

My wife had a massage and personal fitness class a the hotel and she was very satisfied with both. The gym is very good.

The real stand out at this hotel is the lagoon pool. Kids (and most adults) just love the sandy bottom and free-swimming tropical fish. i would have to rate the pool as absolutely outstanding.

We found the pool and bar attendants to be very friendly and efficient.

We didn't eat at the in-house restaurants this time but most patrons appeared to be pretty satisfied.

Overall, I would have to give this hotel a top rating. It compares well with many top class international resorts and is certainly head and shoulders above most hotels in Surfers Paradise. It is thoroughly recommended for couples and families with young children.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterSydney80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently attended a conference at the Marriott surfers paradise. The team was really great, the hotel is looking really good after the new refurbishment with a great view of surfers paradise. The restaurant food was really good value for money, seafood buffet for dinner, great spread for breakfast and spoilt for choice during lunch.
Nice and relaxing next to the beach pool with everything within walking distance of the hotel.
Clean rooms, great location, fantastic service!!

Thank you to the team Cory, Adrian, Cassey, Kelly, Sanjay, Grant, Debbie for making it a memorable experience

Can’t wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klipvissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We decided to stay in one of the ocean view rooms. It was so small and had a very tiny balcony. Previously we have stayed at the casino and comparing the two is not possible. There was a mess up with our bill for dinner which was supposed to be included in our package and we had to wait 20 mins for our drinks. Also included was a spa voucher but the spa was only available after 3 pm? Check out is at 11am? So we left without using it but two days later received a charge of $111 on our credit card. 3 phone calls later and a whole day before they grudgingly refunded it. I was spending time there to see if it would be a good location for my wedding next year. Needless to say I was not impressed. They need to take a hard look at the five star, I have stayed in 3 star with better service. Disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rach_12783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed at the Marriott for one night only in November 2011 and found it to be great value for a 5 star hotel. The rooms have been refurbished and are clean & modern with good facilities. We chose ocean view standard room with breakfast (fantastic). We had a car which we parked underneath and it was only a short walk to the main action of Surfers and also to the beach. The pool is lovely and we relaxed on the sun lounges until our late checkout ($30 extra) at 2pm. We really enjoyed out time there - our only criticism was the check in and check out procedures - it took forever for the staff to go through the routine and eventually give over the the keycards - set aside at least 15mins for this and if there is a queue it could take 30 mins.

Room Tip: Ocean Room only -river views have the blasting western sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidicat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,112 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £145 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing