We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely pool & lagoon"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“"lovely pool & lagoon"”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Marriott with my husband & 6 yr old daughter. We chose this hotel because of the pool and lagoon. I had stayed at the hotel many years before and knew that my daughter would love the facilities, which she did!
We paid to upgrade to an ocean view room and was glad that we did as the view of the pool area was stunning. Our room was freshly painted & decorated however the bathroom was still the same as I remembered 15 years ago. It was still very nice and clean though. I suppose we were expecting everything to be new due to all the advertising of "$20 million dollar refurbishments".
Our only complaint would have to be the service we received on our first (and only) trip to Citrique Restaurant. The waiter, Steve, was so unbelievably rude to me at breakfast that it left me speechless. We continued to eat our food but did not return to the restaurant for our evening meals and had to seek out other places to eat to get the service that we were entitled to....and we did at Conrad Jupiters and Seaworld Nara Resort.
So although the hotel is beautiful, it takes more than that to make a holiday and so next time we will not be staying at the Marriott but I know two other great hotels at least which will make our stay more enjoyable!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool had best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    601
    171
    61
    50
See reviews for
849
648
50
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The Marriott was always a top hotel on the Gold Coast. It is 19 years old now and has just undergone a substantial refurbishment, which keeps the hotel right up at the top of the lists of places to stay in paradise. New fixings and furniture is of a very high quality, along with comfy beds and pillow menus and even an executive club. Service throughout is great and the facilities including a tropical pool with live fish, relaxing spa, and collection of brilliant bars and restaurants are top notch. The Marriott is close to the Surfers CBD and loads of great restaurants, shops and entertainment, but is also a quiet oasis for folks needing to recharge. The bottom line is that the Marriott is a great and comfy base for further exploration, or alternatively it is a pleasant and quiet retreat from the hurley burley of a busy life.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself with an Elandra Club room on a higher floor, and get all the nice little touches that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

My husband and I returned to the Gold Coast for a short break recently and chose this hotel. How pleased we were with this choice. The room was spacious and included all you required, including robes, slippers, pool towels, toiletries, large screen TV, tea/coffee, fridge, safe beautiful sheets and great pillows together with a wonderfully comfortable king size bed.

We ate in Benihanahs Japanese Tepenyaki restaurant. Magic! Fun! and great food. Amazing choices of Saki and reasonable prices. Take a look at the beautiful Japanese garden.

The pool (s) can only be described as AMAZING. 'Rock' caves to swim and walk through. Large salt water lagoon pool with tropical fish (they do not bother you!) and other pools without :) Relax on the sandy 'beaches' or hire one of the relaxing and decadent day beds. Check the area out at night. All staff are lovely and greet you with smiles and hellos.

Restaurant on the ground floor is amazing with three different eating 'zones'. Prices are mid to high range, but this is a high end resort. The young lady in the coffee shop was wonderful. Chatty and again provided great customer service.

If you are staying on the Gold Coast in Queensland or just passing through I would strongly suggest you look at this wonderful resort and treat yourself to a great experience

Room Tip: Higher floors - less noise. You can still see glimpses of the ocean from the south facing hinterland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

As i am someone who frequently travels to Surfers Paradise, I can admit to having stayed in some average hotels in this area which all claim to be the best! However, the Marriott Resort & Spa IS the best hotel i have stayed at in Surfers Paradise by FAR!
The location is a short walk to the center of the city, which can be pleasant seeming that the Gold Coast has great weather to walk in and explore things along the way. Take the beach route and take in the great scenery each morning! Very enjoyable..
The lobby is fantastic and has this amazing stair case which immediately tells you that you are going to stay in one classy hotel! The check-in staff are very friendly and all staff are happy to go out of their way to suggest places to go and great things to do during your stay in QLD.
The room is very clean and pleasant to stay in - but the best thing about this hotel has got to be the pool area!! There is a fake beach with fish swimming in certain areas, giving you a great buzz and a totally different experience. There is also a water slide, a spa situated under the manmade caves and a little cafe to enjoy a drink or snack while sun-baking in the Gold Coast sun! I can NOT think of a better way to spend your holiday when traveling to QLD!
This hotel is definitely worthy of my 5 star and Excellent travel review and if you do not go and book the Marriott Resort and Spa right NOW - then you are missing out!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Pago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

You walk into the Marriott and you are transformed to a different world. The pool here is outstanding and is worth booking the stay because of this. Food though can be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aero_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed for one night in an Elandra Retreat room to celebrate my birthday. For the cost per night and experience of other club lounges in other hotel chains, I was expecting the absolute best of everything. My expectations were left lacking.

The room was ok - smallish bedroom area but a huge bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Apparently the rooms have been refurbished, but there's an odd mix of now vs 70's chic. The bed and pillows were the highlight for me - absolutely fabulous night's sleep on one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. There's a sizeable flatscreen tv in the room which is sadly still running on analogue which made the reception pretty poor and completely unwatchable on some channels. We requested this be fixed, but the problem was only made worse.

We had a hinterland view room, which had partial ocean views and views of the canals. I don't think it's worth paying the extra $ per night for an ocean view, given that the hotel is 2 blocks back from the ocean and has other high-rise buildings in front of it.

The Elandra Retreat was nicely furnished, and offers breakfast, morning tea, light lunch refreshments (bread and dips only), afternoon tea, evening canapes & beverages, and desert. It was great being able to help yourself to refreshments whenever you needed them during the day - soft drinks and tea and coffee only. Wine and beer is kept locked away for the evening service only - this is the first club lounge that I have experienced do this. The alcoholic beverages are very average. Cheap-ish wine and local beer - fine to showcase Australian products, but for the cost per night (almost double the cost of a standard room), they need to be serving premium products. The evening canapes and desert are the highlights.

Unlike other club rooms, you have to pay extra if you wish to dine in the hotel restaurant (a "discounted" rate of $50/couple) for breakfast instead of the lounge. Again, for the price you pay, you should have the choice.

On the positive side, they delivered a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate-coated strawberries complimentary for my birthday, which was a lovely touch.

As previously mentioned, check-in is a drawn-out process so allow extra time for this.

Overall, wouldn't stay here again as a value for money "luxury" option.

Room Tip: Don't bother with an ocean view room, but high floors are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrissieKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel. It was very good last year and even better this time around.

I found the check-in staff to be unusually professional and very welcoming. I was a walk-in booking and managed to get a good rate (better than last year).

My family (wife and 3yo daughter) was accommodated in an ocean view room on level 16. The view is very good (but not outstanding). The standard of the room fittings was excellent and everything appeared to be practically new and of very high quality. The sleep quality of the beds was especially good.

There is a flat screen TV with good channel selection and free wifi which was a nice surprise (data rate was pretty good too). The bathroom is bigger than average with good quality fittings. The inclusion of a bath was much appreciated by my little girl.

The standard of housekeeping was top notch and the ladies were very accommodating in working around my sleeping child (who was exhausted between swimming sessions).

My wife had a massage and personal fitness class a the hotel and she was very satisfied with both. The gym is very good.

The real stand out at this hotel is the lagoon pool. Kids (and most adults) just love the sandy bottom and free-swimming tropical fish. i would have to rate the pool as absolutely outstanding.

We found the pool and bar attendants to be very friendly and efficient.

We didn't eat at the in-house restaurants this time but most patrons appeared to be pretty satisfied.

Overall, I would have to give this hotel a top rating. It compares well with many top class international resorts and is certainly head and shoulders above most hotels in Surfers Paradise. It is thoroughly recommended for couples and families with young children.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterSydney80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing