We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the first time I have taken time out to write a review of somewhere where I have stayed but my husband and I were so impressed with the Marriott that it is certainly worthwhile doing. I stayed at the resort with my husband and two young children to celebrate a milestone birthday incorporated into a family holiday. We had not been on a holiday for a few years and were immensely looking forward to going away and the Mariott did not disappoint. The hotel was stunning. From the moment we entered we were welcomed by the concierge and then by the friendly receptionist who offered us chocolates on arrival. As our room wasn't ready (as we were early) we came back an hour later - our bags had been taken to our room and the room was fantastic. It was very clean and had a great view of the hinterland, Surfers and even the beach! Now as for the pool, wow, wow and wow. Swimming with the fish was amazing and so were the other pools with 2 spas and even a slide. My little 6 year old even learned how to snorkel. The staff were absolutely friendly and helpful every which way we turned and the ladies who made up our room every day were fabulous. For my special birthday we dined at Citrique and indulged in the seafood buffet - another wow factor and the waiter we had on the night went over and beyond to fulfil every need. It has been said before but more than happy to say it again, this hotel is fantastic and although we usually don't go to the same place twice this will surely be an exception. What a wonderful stay.....thank you.

Room Tip: Room on the 19th floor had great views - may have been slightly noiser due to being up high but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We live on the Gold Coast and decided to book a night away to celebrate a special occasion child free for a change. We had considered booking into the Versace however are so glad we chose to go with the Marriott.
We stayed in an Exective 1 Bedroom suite and have to say we were not disappointed with any aspect of the room. It was a total 5 star experience from the pillow menu, the massaging spa bath tub, the detail in the fantastic room amenities, the turn down service and the chocolates and sparkling wine.
The Elandra Retreat was so much better than anything we had anticipated, we liked that the facilities were self-service and so that wasn't a negative at all for us. The food selection was fantastic, even the afternoon tea which we ate in lieu of lunch once we arrived at the hotel and checked in. The cocktail and canapés selection in the night was superb with such a variety of beverages, there was definitely something to suit all tastes. I settled on the Cosmopolitan Cocktails and later went for a liqueur coffee with Baileys.
We didn't get to the pool but from what we could see from our room it is definitely another wonderful feature of the hotel, it was nice to watch people snorkelling and having fun! Talking of views, we had windows with pool, sea and mountain views, all equally stunning. We were in suite 2401 on the 24th floor! We also appreciated the gorgeous views from the Elandra Retreat and got to witness a spectacular lightening storm and a stunning rainbow that was almost a complete circle, something I'd never seen before.
We had a great nights sleep, despite it being party season and the hotel being full we heard no noise.
We didn't want to leave the hotel which is almost a resort in itself. The complimentary coffee on check out was much appreciated and I even managed to buy a food hamper in the coffee shop full of luxury goodies for Christmas.
We'll definitely be returning - more than just once....

Room Tip: Paying extra for the Elandra Retreat is definitely money well spent, you won't need to spend add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We can't wait to visit the Marriot once again this year. This ia a well priced, luxurious hotel that caters to your every need, The option of a salt water pool, proximity to the beach, wonderful restaurant and best of all, accommodating staff make this a great place to unwind. When you arrive you're faced with an opulent yet relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are lovely and very clean and we had a lovely Russian lady maintain our rooms. Fresh towels are provided in all of the three pool areas and there is plenty of space to have a sense of privacy. I suggest you include breakfast in your package as the meals are a must. The lady making the omelettes tried to show my husband her cooking techniques and although it's been a year he still hasn't mastered her style. It's been a while since we've seen such a courteous staff. Although we considered trying something new we could't look past the Marriot for luxury and vakue!!! A TRULY UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear George and Sophie

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our resort, and for particularly mentioning the service you received from our associates whilst here. We will definitely share your comments with the team and can't wait to welcome you both back to our resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hi. We have been travelling to the Gold Coast for a number of years staying at different hotels. We always wanted to stay at the Mariott and booked in from 08-11 December 2013, 2 Adults and a 4 year old. It appeared lovely and we checked into our room, but within a few hours we heard a tapping noise that was constant and call maintenance and that had other complaint from room 406 next door.Subsequently on our first night we had to pack up and move rooms. it was good that we got an upgrade to an ocean view room although the views were few and far between. Teppanyaki was a great and enjoyable dinner. Then the next night we decided to eat the at Citrique restaurant on Seafood buffet but chose al a carte instead. We sat down and after 45 minutes of waiting for a steak and ceasar salad we saw our waitress rushing back into the kitchen to hurry our meals. When it eventually came out it was the worse ceasar salad I have eaten. For $25 for the salad I expected a great salad. It was wet and limp and obviously had been sitting there too long with soogy croutons and horrible chopped up bacon bits barely cooked! needless to say I refused to pay for it and they did offer a dessert free but by this stage we were over it because of the wait. Its a shame because we saved hard and were really looking forward to the visit. I wont be rushing to go there again for the price and quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosalyn e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Rosalyn

Thank you for choosing to stay at our resort on your recent visit to the Gold Coast. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable dinner at our teppanyaki restaurant, Benihana but do apologise for the quality of the meals ordered in Citrique on the following evening. I understand this was brought to our attention on the night but again would like to apologise that this negatively impacted on your dining experience. Your feedback has been communicated to our Executive Chef for his review.

We thank you for making us aware of the issues with your room on arrival and allowing our team the opportunity to address this straight away so that the inconvenience you experienced was minimised.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family again when you next visit the Gold Coast to regain your faith in our resort. Please feel free to contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 so that we can ensure your next stay with us is a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Surfers Paradise for two nights in late October 2013. We love this resort – with its beautiful lobby and huge lagoon pool! We made sure that we booked the Elandra Retreat Club king room with an ocean view, as we had stayed here before. As part of the Elandra Retreat we enjoyed complimentary breakfast, light refreshments during the day as well as evening drinks and canapés which are served in the club lounge on one of the top floors of the resort. The lounge staff were very friendly and helpful. After mornings at the beach, we would go to the lounge to just relax and read a book, or one of the magazines or newspapers that are supplied, while looking at spectacular views of the coast and hinterland, and enjoying a coffee or soft drink. The beach is only a short (5 min) walk away and we went for long walks each morning and sunset. It was a heavenly 2-3 days. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Hi Alison

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your time here and loved the Elandra Retreat Club. It is such a great space to relax and unwind, especially with those amazing views!

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Surfers Marriott was better than expected, with large airy rooms, balcony, a great pool bar downstairs and good friendly service from all the staff. I stayed there during the V8 Supercars event, and the location was outstanding.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The Marriott surfers paradise was a remarkable experience. It was Australian 5star luxury that was reasonably priced. I was impressed with the surroundings and the pool areas are worth the trip to the Gold Coast. My two young children had a great time and where looked after well by staff.

I will definitely be booking again.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Dalvin_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,113 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £145 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing