We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The main feature of this hotel is the pool area so make sure you spend time by the pool. I do have to say our first day by the pool on Sunday we found the service to be horrible and the food and drinks were not impressive. However when we spent a second day by the pool on Wednesday the service was amazing and the food and drinks were much better. I think they need to work on their consistency,
The breakfast Buffett is great and well worth it. The teppenaki restaurant is a great as well and lots of fun for the kids. You do have to end up going outside of the hotel for food after a few days since they don't have a numerous restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view. We had a view of the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwheeler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    565
    165
    58
    48
See reviews for
808
608
49
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Exceptional service from every staff member made my birthday and our holiday a wonderful memorable experience. How do they do it? Full credit to the management and all the staff who were so friendly and gracious every single day. Breakfast was the best I have ever seen. Luxury service every minute. An amazing hotel... Totally worth it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekender044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Had to make good on some long delayed vacation promises to my kids- chose Gold Coast as a destination and selected this hotel to stay in. Turned out to be a fantastic choice: probably has the best salt water swimming pool I've ever been in- kids get to swim and snorkel with tropical fish. Plenty of nooks and crannies around the other free form pools for the adults to get a decent tan in peace: one of the best thought out layouts for the pool area.

Location wise, brilliant: 10 minute walk to Beach Road and the Esplanade, 15 minute drive to Harbour Town factory outlets for the benefit of shopaholics, and only 10 minutes away from Seaworld Theme Park.

Staff are super kid friendly, and both my daughters enjoyed their snorkeling and cookie baking classes immensely. In fact the only thing preventing me from according this resort a full"Excellent" rating is the slight lack of variety in the buffet breakfast spread.

Worth every dollar spent? Maybe. Tremendous fun for the family? Almost definitely.

Room Tip: Get rooms with a sea view- you'll wake up to the splendor of the coastline!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TT_Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This Marriott truly shines, especially compared to the Sydney Marriott. The pool (or lagoon) and lazy river and secluded hot tubs are fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful. And better yet, these guys really know how to treat their Marriott elite members. If you stay in Surfers, you wont be upset by booking at the Marriott!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KPBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is the first time I have taken time out to write a review of somewhere where I have stayed but my husband and I were so impressed with the Marriott that it is certainly worthwhile doing. I stayed at the resort with my husband and two young children to celebrate a milestone birthday incorporated into a family holiday. We had not been on a holiday for a few years and were immensely looking forward to going away and the Mariott did not disappoint. The hotel was stunning. From the moment we entered we were welcomed by the concierge and then by the friendly receptionist who offered us chocolates on arrival. As our room wasn't ready (as we were early) we came back an hour later - our bags had been taken to our room and the room was fantastic. It was very clean and had a great view of the hinterland, Surfers and even the beach! Now as for the pool, wow, wow and wow. Swimming with the fish was amazing and so were the other pools with 2 spas and even a slide. My little 6 year old even learned how to snorkel. The staff were absolutely friendly and helpful every which way we turned and the ladies who made up our room every day were fabulous. For my special birthday we dined at Citrique and indulged in the seafood buffet - another wow factor and the waiter we had on the night went over and beyond to fulfil every need. It has been said before but more than happy to say it again, this hotel is fantastic and although we usually don't go to the same place twice this will surely be an exception. What a wonderful stay.....thank you.

Room Tip: Room on the 19th floor had great views - may have been slightly noiser due to being up high but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We live on the Gold Coast and decided to book a night away to celebrate a special occasion child free for a change. We had considered booking into the Versace however are so glad we chose to go with the Marriott.
We stayed in an Exective 1 Bedroom suite and have to say we were not disappointed with any aspect of the room. It was a total 5 star experience from the pillow menu, the massaging spa bath tub, the detail in the fantastic room amenities, the turn down service and the chocolates and sparkling wine.
The Elandra Retreat was so much better than anything we had anticipated, we liked that the facilities were self-service and so that wasn't a negative at all for us. The food selection was fantastic, even the afternoon tea which we ate in lieu of lunch once we arrived at the hotel and checked in. The cocktail and canapés selection in the night was superb with such a variety of beverages, there was definitely something to suit all tastes. I settled on the Cosmopolitan Cocktails and later went for a liqueur coffee with Baileys.
We didn't get to the pool but from what we could see from our room it is definitely another wonderful feature of the hotel, it was nice to watch people snorkelling and having fun! Talking of views, we had windows with pool, sea and mountain views, all equally stunning. We were in suite 2401 on the 24th floor! We also appreciated the gorgeous views from the Elandra Retreat and got to witness a spectacular lightening storm and a stunning rainbow that was almost a complete circle, something I'd never seen before.
We had a great nights sleep, despite it being party season and the hotel being full we heard no noise.
We didn't want to leave the hotel which is almost a resort in itself. The complimentary coffee on check out was much appreciated and I even managed to buy a food hamper in the coffee shop full of luxury goodies for Christmas.
We'll definitely be returning - more than just once....

Room Tip: Paying extra for the Elandra Retreat is definitely money well spent, you won't need to spend add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We can't wait to visit the Marriot once again this year. This ia a well priced, luxurious hotel that caters to your every need, The option of a salt water pool, proximity to the beach, wonderful restaurant and best of all, accommodating staff make this a great place to unwind. When you arrive you're faced with an opulent yet relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are lovely and very clean and we had a lovely Russian lady maintain our rooms. Fresh towels are provided in all of the three pool areas and there is plenty of space to have a sense of privacy. I suggest you include breakfast in your package as the meals are a must. The lady making the omelettes tried to show my husband her cooking techniques and although it's been a year he still hasn't mastered her style. It's been a while since we've seen such a courteous staff. Although we considered trying something new we could't look past the Marriot for luxury and vakue!!! A TRULY UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear George and Sophie

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our resort, and for particularly mentioning the service you received from our associates whilst here. We will definitely share your comments with the team and can't wait to welcome you both back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our gorgeously reimagined Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa offers the Gold Coast's ultimate beach holiday and one of the top Surfers Paradise hotels. Immaculate beaches, charming hinterland valleys, and the bustle of high-fashion boutiques greet visitors nearby. Reconnect with nature at our Gold Coast, Australia resort, where verdant tropical gardens, a stunning waterfall, and the area's only private saltwater lagoon (ideal for snorkeling with tropical fish) await. Enjoy lush amenities in elegantly appointed guest rooms, then head out for an indulgent bite of the freshest Japanese cuisine at the award-winning restaurant, Benihana. Or, see what foodies have long been raving about at our famous seafood buffet restaurant, Citrique. Other creature comforts at our hotel include the Lattouf Hair & Day Spa, with a selection of spa treatments and hair services, and also an onsite, 24-hour fitness center. Book your beach holiday today, and let the daydreaming commence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing