We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great, Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We are locals and have stayed here many times. The rooms have been refurbished fairly recently and this is a big improvement. Our room (2706) was fresh and clean with a great partial view of the ocean and up to Surfers Paradise.

We got a super deal through Travelzoo and booked/paid about 2 months in advance. Really worth it as we had access to the Elandra Retreat included. We enjoyed dropping in for a cup of coffee & biscuit and we also had pre-dinner drinks and nibbles before we headed downstairs for dinner.

Unfortunately, some people really abuse this privilege and were just plain gluttonous. They were set up at 5pm with tables all put together with a large group of friends and were still there when we returned from dinner at 8.30pm - yes, still eating and drinking.

My suggestion to the Marriott F&B Manager, would be to have the waiters serving (with room key & number of guests checked) and no longer allowing the guests to serve themselves. We were amazed to see guests in the kitchen, going to fridge and just helping themselves to whatever they wanted.
There was only 1 attendant most of the day and then 2 attendants after 6pm. These guys worked non-stop and were losing the race!! I am sure the consumption would be less and it would be far more viable to pay for 2 or 3 attendants controlling the abuse of the food & alcohol.

The pool/lagoon area is really nice. Yes, the swimming pool needs attention with tiles coming off and it looks tired. There was a slight problem with the light rail work being done next to the north end of the pool - strong odour when the workmen were welding and fairly noisy. There is a need for more shade over the sunlounges as they are the ones taken first.

Great that you can help yourself to beach towels, again this is being abused with people next to us with 3 or 4 towels each (family of 4 with about 14 towels).

We ordered from the poolside bistro and the food was good for this type of venue. In the evening we dined at the Lobby Lounge as we found out when we called to book that Citrique was closed (Monday night).

The waiter was very helpful and our drinks were served promptly. Unfortunately, the main meals took ages and my meal was only just warm. As it was chicken, I asked for it to be heated but they insisted on replacing it. My meal took so long, everyone else was finished theirs and it wasn't enjoyable. It seemed that initially everything was fine but once it got busier, the service and attentiveness went by the way.

This is a really lovely Resort and the amenities are fabulous. Just little things like having an ice machine on each floor, fabulous bathroom amenities, walk-in wardrobe with plenty of space and many choices for drinks, dining, swimming etc. make the stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The staff also deserve a mention as they are always very courteous and accommodating - whatever your query.

Let's hope the self absorbed guests don't spoil it for everyone else.
We love coming here and will be back sooner than later.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    601
    171
    61
    50
See reviews for
849
648
50
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Beautiful pool, lovely feel to hotel, friendly staff especially Lisa who leads the way with a charismatic personality, children meeting other children in the pool and activities and movie nights are great for parents to enjoy a quiet beverage!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Moranmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stated there for a few nights in January. It was lovely resort and the lagoon was beautiful. The lagoon is Salt Water and seemed to discolour our swimming costumes somewhat which was strange. We had a mixture of Dinner & breakfast at Citrique 5 times over our few days stay. We were there with my friend and her 5yr old son as well as myself and my 4 & 5yr olds.
We enjoyed the beautiful Banquet Meals they serve. My only issue was our finally breakfast Friday Morning. My 4yr old daughter was having a apple juice in one of the glassed provided. While drinking her juice i heard a chatter sound. I turned around n found the glass had shattered in my daughters mouth. I took the glass out of her hands and i ended up grabbing a medium size piece of glass out of her mouth and then she spat the rest on the table. I was with my friend who was a RN and she said to get a glass of water and a empty glass so my daughter could wash her mouth out in which more little chards came out. After a few goes of doing this I noticed her tongue had been cut. So I informed a staff member who went n got the Manager. She was a lovely lady who could see how upset I was and my daughter was as by this stage she had crying and looked very sad. She went n got the First Aid Officer to review my daughter. He said she was fine. She then gave us a voucher for lollies and drinks to use before we checked out in 2hrs time.
I was given a curtesy call and informed that the glasses we use have been now taken off the shelf and the round thicker ones are being used full time. While I had dinned at the restaurant I had noticed some plastic cups but had never seen those when we had got our meal the night before so I was under the impression that they came with a kids meal or something. My advice is to provide all children under a certain age those cups to use when they have been seated at there table. As a mother you could imagine the terror of seeing a shattered glass at my daughters lips and then to find a shattered glass in her mouth was a nightmare I will Never Forget! If she had swallowed that fragment it would have been very very dangerous.

Room Tip: Ask for kids cups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohyn1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

the hotel is really great, the buffet breakfast and lunch was just too, too good, however, the tea was horrible! The pool area needs some work done to it, showing it's age. I was disappointed about the 'reef and fish' was led to believe that it would be like swimming on the reef in an hotel pool, not really, but then there are a lot of people in the pool so I suppose the fish don't want to be around too much. It would have been good to see more shaded areas around the pool. I saw mould on the ceiling in the main area of the hotel. All of the staff were really great, very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and well appointed, but, the pillows were just too soft. The only other things that disappointed me were, cost to connect to the internet, should be free, the cost of drinks and food in the coffee shop and at the pool, should have taken my own supply. To finish on a good note, the availability of any number of clean towels you may need while in the pool area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelamary1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Angela,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with our team regarding your recent stay at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa.

Our saltwater lagoon is home to approximately 300 tropical fish which guests can swim and snorkel with and fish feeding is conducted daily at 9.30am which is a great time to see all of the fish as they come up to the surface to feed.

Our poolside day beds are a popular choice for families looking for a more private area out of the sun while the Poolside Marquee is a great space for guests to have lunch and enjoy some shade during the day.

While there is a small fee for connecting to the internet in our guest rooms, the Resort does offer complimentary WIFI throughout the Lobby and has a dedicated Connect Lounge for the convenience of our guests.

We thank you for choosing to stay at our resort with your family and hope to welcome you all back soon when you are heading to the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Pack your swimming togs and goggles and lap up the luxury of this wonderful resort. All staff very helpful, room comfortable with great views. You'll be sharing the main pool with real fish! As close as you'll get to being on the Great Barrier Reef this far south in Australia! If you don't want a big breakfast there's a great little cafe just near the car park lift. Staff there are fantastic and food great! Only complaint was check in time is listed as 2pm, we arrived at 2.30 but room still wasn't ready. This seems to be quite common on the Gold Coast but it's not a good thing! We were given incentives but would prefer the room to be ready.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JnetMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on our resort.

We are very glad to hear that you were so impressed with our facilities and the attentiveness of our staff during your stay.

We do apologise that there was a delay with your room being ready on arrival. We appreciate your understanding and have noted this item for discussion with our departments to review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful with great views of surfers paradise beach. The lobby is impressive. The pool, rock pool and jacuzzi areas are stunning. The dinner buffet was tasty with a wide variety of dishes to enjoy. The rooms are modern, clean and inviting. It's only a short walk to the beach and we'd definitely stay here again if visiting the GC...

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Firstly congratulations on your anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose our resort to celebrate such a special occasion and are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

pro:
We where staying here just before new years nite 2013 on the 22nd floor with balcony.
Prompt room service , clean as can be, friendly customer service and great food , especialy in the downstairs bar with a serve of a hot stone meal.
con: forget about that jap restaurant on level 3... u better off with the hotel kitchen, its much better
loved the salt water pool, if you have a bunch of kids , they will thank you for that, whilst you can sit back and have a beverage of choice on the banana lounge poolside..

I give it 9.5 outa 10

Room Tip: room with city view all the way to Tamborine on level 20 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomfliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Tom

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our team and rating our resort a 9.5 out of 10! Great to hear you had the opportunity of sampling our new Hot Rock menu in the Lobby Bar during your stay as well. It is a very popular option for guests looking for a relaxed and casual dining experience.

Our Japanese Steakhouse, Benihana offers an entertaining atmosphere with a range of Teppanyaki banquets available which our chefs cook in front of you. It is concerning to hear that Benihana did not live up to your expectations and we would love to speak with you directly to understand what aspects of your experience were disappointing. Please feel free to contact our Executive Office when convenient on 07 5592 9829, we would love to hear from you.

Overall, we are so glad that you have left with such a positive impression of our resort and can’t wait to welcome you back when you next visit the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing