We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Pool”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife, two year old child and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We booked a transfer on viator.com instead of using the hotel transfer. The hotel transfer is twice the price. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walking distance from the center of the city. However, they are building a tram that will take you there.

The room was very nice and the pool is excellent. They are a waterfall, sandy beach, a pool and a waterslide. It was very big and nice for kids.

Breakfast was large and had many choices. The breakfast restaurant was kid friendly too. However, this restaurant closes on Mondays which makes absolutely no sense to us. In our opinion, all of the restaurants in the hotel should be open every day. It is difficult to get reservations for the Benihana restaurant. It is a typical hibachi restaurant and we were not that impressed. The prices are very expensive too. It cost $55 per person for the chicken meal and our 2 year old was charged $30. It does not make sense to us for the baby to order her own meal which she cannot finish.

Often times, we would ask at the reception desk if our room could be cleaned as we ate breakfast or went to the pool. Many times, these requests were ignored by the maid staff. We were disappointed to have to adjust our schedule to fit the maid's schedule.

This hotel is very expensive and we used points for our stay. We would not have stayed here if we could not use points. In our opinion, it is not worth the expensive price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review following your stay in November. We do appreciate our guest’s feedback as it helps us to understand which areas we do well in and where we can improve.

Our resort is very popular for families with children who love the lagoon and pool area as well as the activities which are offered during school holiday periods and we are glad that you were impressed with our facilities overall.

The resort’s main restaurant, Citrique is open daily for breakfast and lunch. Dinner is now available from Monday to Saturday evenings and guests can select from an a la carte menu or indulge in our famous seafood buffet. We have also introduced a new “Sticks and Stones” menu in the resort’s Lobby Lounge Bar which offers a relaxed atmosphere for guests overlooking our lagoon and landscaped gardens.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience in our Teppanyaki restaurant, Benihana and found it to be an expensive option. We do have an earlybird special which is available for early seatings between Sunday and Friday evenings for only $34.00 per person and includes a choice of hibachi chicken, steak or tofu served with vegetables, rice and entrees.

I would also like to take the opportunity to apologies that the requests you made for your room to be serviced at specific times were not met. This was definitely not intentional and where possible we do try to accommodate our guests’ requests.

November through to January can be a very busy time at the resort but we do offer special rates during other times of the year which are always listed on our website. We hope you will choose to stay at our resort again in the future and welcome you to contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 so that we can oversee your accommodation arrangements to ensure you have a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    574
    166
    59
    49
See reviews for
819
618
49
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband surprised me with a romantic night at the Marriott. The price was a bit more than we had budgeted - but was worth every cent. When we got to reception was greeted by lovely staff and given a room on a high floor. Opened the doors to a newly renovated room with a huge king sized room. Our favourite part is the pool - AMAZING and love the bar provided. Have been to Benihana restaurant before and was provided with the same wonderful, entertaining and fun experience. Also, was very spoilt as my husband has booked us a room with the Elandra retreat. We had drinks and canapés provided in the afternoon and breakfast, coffee, snacks and wifi provided throughout the day - and the staff treat you like royalty. Will definitely need to come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincents_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and positive words on the service offered by our associates. It is great to hear that you had such an enjoyable time here with your husband and had the opportunity to relax in our Elandra Retreat Club during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Unfortunately I could only get one night booked here due to a 'Meyer'conference going on at the same time. However we were on the 26th floor with fantastic views over surfers and the surrounding area. The room was excellent, very large and the bathroom has both shower and bath. The hotel has a great swimming pool with a little man-made beach to relax and have a quiet drink/snack. All in all, a great hotel in a location that's just far enough away from the noise of the beach parties but close enough to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Took my mother for High tea this afternoon. When we arrived at 1.55 we were advised that it was only being served until 2pm and they needed 24 hrs notice. We were not very pleased as it doesn't say this on the website and 24hrs notice was only for parties of 10 or more and mentions it's open until 4pm. The staff member carolyn was very professional and advised she would get website updated. She then gave us a complimentry drink and seated us in a lovely area and arranged for our high tea. Carolyn and Debbie were very attentive and as it was my mother's birthday brought out a special dessert.Thanks for a lovely afternoon. Just get your web page updated.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverley92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Beverley,

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the misunderstanding you experienced in regards to our high tea booking policy and serving times during the week. High tea is served from 12noon in Citrique restaurant between Monday to Friday. On weekends, our Lobby Lounge Bar has two main seatings that can be booked at 11am and 1.30pm. Bookings are definitely recommended as detailed on our website. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention and will ensure that this information is clearly outlined on all of our online channels.

I am pleased to hear that our team were attentive and ensured you and your mother had an enjoyable high tea experience. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We didnt get a chance to taste the critique buffet which is famous for its seafood, but the place looked amazing even from the outside. The lagoon and pool is breath taking. You can hire snorkelling gear for $10 to swim with tropical fish. All staff were lovely and friendly. Our room had 2 double beds and it was so clean I felt at home. The view was mountain view but I could still get a glimpse of the sea and the city view at night was lovely. I don't know if it would be worth investing more in a ocean view as the mountain view is just as lovely. It's a place that I definitely want to come back. The only down side is that a lot of things, we had to pay for. Eg. snorkelling and the movies on the tv which were a little disappointing. But other than that, marriott is the place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunJung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Our team are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to make the most of your time here. Our standard hinterland view rooms do offer fantastic views of the Gold Coast hinterland as well as the city lights of Surfers Paradise while our Ocean rooms enjoy views of the resort’s lagoon and the Pacific Ocean during the day.

There is a lot of work that goes into maintaining our beautiful lagoon and marine life which is why we do charge a small fee for the hire of snorkels. Our in house movies are provided by an external company so that we are able to offer the latest new releases for our guests enjoyment so there is also a small fee for this service.

Next time you visit you will have to make sure you try our famous buffet at Citrique - it is a great option for seafood lovers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed here for 3 nights and we chose for the reef pool so the kids could have the opportunity to snorkel with fish. And it did not disappoint! The kids absolutely loved it, my 5 yr old son learnt to snorkel without even knowing how to swim and all because of the fish. Swimming in the reef pool before fish feeding and during fish feeding at 9.30am is definitely recommended as you see a lot more fish than other times of the day and a lot less stirred up sediment. Amenities in the executive suite on the 17 floor were fantastic, they have everything covered and views were amazing! The buffet dinner and breakfast were both delicious and we really couldn't complain about anything. One day the concierge forgot to bring our car up but that's it. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful holiday here at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. We can only imagine your excitement at seeing your 5 year old son learn how to snorkel in our tropical lagoon whilst here!

Thank you for choosing our resort for your family vacation and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Marriott Surfers Paradise was great for the pools, and for the customer service, but we kind of expected more for the hefty price tag. We stayed for two nights at New Years, so that we could watch the fireworks at the beach. The room was on the 15th floor, and did have an amazing view overlooking the lagoon and pool, and right out to the beach. The room itself was actually a little run down in spots - the blinds to the window were broken, and the bathroom was a bit tired and in need of an update. The service, however, was outstanding, from the moment we arrived and were greeting by the valet, to check in and beyond. Everyone was very helpful. The lobby was gorgeous, all decked out in Christmas decor with a huge tree and sparkling lights. There was a communications center with about four or five computers, where you could connect and/or check the internet, but no free wifi in the room (and the price to purchase it was outrageous). The hotel was walking distance to the beach (about 4 blocks), and about a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Surfers Paradise. The pool was the main draw, with a salt water pool for snorkeling, however, it was dirty and there weren't many fish to see. The regular pools with caves, hot tubs and a water slide were nice. Overall a nice resort, but for the price tag, we expected more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_DTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa.

You have been very kind in recognising where we did well and I am delighted that you enjoyed both our customer service and the poolside. I am sorry however that you were a little disappointed with your room and the rate being charged. Unfortunately due to seasonal demand, Christmas & New Year are probably the most expensive times to stay with us. I can assure you that at other times of the year we offer some extremely competitive rates and packages to stay here at the resort. Please note that we are committed to advertising our lowest advertised rates on our website so make sure you visit the site for all of the latest offers.

I do hope that you will give us the opportunity of hosting you in the future and thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing