We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing the fourth time round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing the fourth time round”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here with my family over the Xmas period. This was my fourth visit to the hotel, and we got a reasonable deal on wotif.com. After staying at a number of five star hotels around the world, I really think that the Marriott is not worth the money, nor should it be rated as a five star - probably a four star. The rooms and beds were luxurious, the view from the balcony was amazing, and the pool itself is probably one of the best I've ever swam in. It was very crowded, though, and I disagree with hotels charging an additional cost to reserve sunbeds. However, I found the price of the food to be outrageous and unjustified. The bottom line - I really don't think it's value for money, and unfrortunaely that wil be my last visit to the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie_wahini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Evie,

Thank you for your loyalty and choosing to visit Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa once again. We appreciate your very positive comments regarding our guest rooms and the beautiful views from the balconies. It is also great to read that you loved our lagoon experience so much and had the opportunity to relax poolside during your stay. Our sun lounges by the pool are available for the convenience of all our guests on a complimentary basis however there are also additional Day Beds which guests can book exclusively that offer a more superior level of comfort if preferred.

With our food & beverage offerings we do try to be as competitive as possible however acknowledge that on certain special event days, particular over Christmas and holiday periods, we showcase an enhanced buffet offering and increase pricing accordingly.

I do hope that you will try us again and would be happy to talk to you regarding your stay. Please feel free to contact our Executive Office directly when next travelling to the Gold Coast so that we can assist with your accommodation arrangements and ensure a positive experience once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    574
    166
    60
    49
See reviews for
823
618
50
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marriott for 4 nights in February.

The lobby and surrounding grounds are beautiful.

The rooms are good but bathrooms could do with some work. The silastic was coming off from around the taps in our shower and grout was yellowed and old.

The lagoon pool was lovely but the other pool needs an update. Tiles are missing and there are sharp edges where tiles are broken and missing.

Staff were great and housekeeping did a great job.

Probably wouldn't stay again unless it was at a largely discounted rate.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missimelda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa and for your kind comments particularly in regards to the service provided by our team.

We are pleased to confirm that we are in the process of working through a plan for our bathrooms to be refreshed in the next few months. We have noted your comments on the tiling around our pool and this will also be addressed accordingly.

Throughout the year, we do offer discounted rates especially outside of school holiday periods and these packages can be found on our website so we encourage you to visit the site when you are next planning a visit to the Gold Coast.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a review of my experience at the Marriott Surfers Paradise.

The Marriott should not benchmark itself against other properties on the GC, rather other 5 star hotels in Asia and Sydney/Melbourne, simply the Marriott is not a 5 star hotel.

The foyer has been renovated recently and what has resulted in a mis-mash of styles of decor which frankly looks tacky.

At reception the staff seem like they are forcing a smile when they speak to you, however their insincerity shines through.

The rooms have also been recently renovated but, however still look tired and worn. Stains on the carpet and chipped furniture. Oh and the bathrooms have not been renovated/updated since the hotel was built, mould and soap scum are clearly evident. Nearly forgot to mention the fluorescent lighting on the wardrobe is a nice touch.

Point to also mention;

- No turn down service
- No slippers
- No bathroom amenities, except soap, shampoo and conditioner
- Towels are thin and rough

The service at the lobby bar is non-existent, you have to line up at the bar to order drinks and wait for them to be made. True 5 star properties have table service, this felt like I was at the bar at a nightclub fighting for the bartenders attention.

The buffet breakfast was very average, once again you have to queue to enter the restaurant, another no no. The food quality was average and they only offer drip coffee and tea, if you want an espresso blend you have to pay $5.

The poor area is great, salt water lagoon and regular pools also.

I originally booked for 5 night but decided to leave after 2 and make arrangements with the Sheraton Mirage.

i did bring the mould and soap scum to the attention of the duty manager at the front desk, however she seemed disinterested.

Holiday makers looking for a real 5 star experience, please avoid.... You have been warned.

Also, this is my 3rd and last visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Mr Murphy

It is very disappointing to read that your last stay at the Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa did not meet your expectations on this particular visit.

You have provided feedback on a number of areas which we would like to address with you personally over the phone if at all possible. Please contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 so that we can discuss your comments in detail and make changes where required.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Great service, great location, great views and a pool which is superb. Staying here was a very nice experience. We found that the location was good as it's a short walk away from central Surfers Paradise, a minute or two to the beautiful beach, close enough but far enough away to be shielded from the busyness. The pool would be one of the best in Surfers. Rooms were big enough, clean and adequate but just starting to show their age decor wise. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend a stay here and I will certainly be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KingyOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and experienced the Japanese restaurant Benihana and loved it. Citrique was lovely too. Cocktails and food pricey by the pool bit worth it. Make sire you get s package deal with extras. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I absolutely loved my stay at the Marriott. Came for a weekend away and even though it was raining had the most amazing time staying in the hotel. The highlight would be the pool and being able to snorkel with the fish. I recommend this hotel for couples and even family trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This wasn't our first stay here, but we wanted a few days break and we love the pool. They are not the greatest rooms for a family. 2 double beds with no room to spare. We got a good deal to the club Elandra which absolutely made our stay. Open all day, it gave us somewhere to go, have a snack and relax.
I was annoyed that pool toys were only "for hire" and were not cheap. For a hotel of that price I always get annoyed when they try to charge extra for everything.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing