We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the last Australia Day weekend. I chose it mainly because the lagoon pool with the artificial beach and real reef fishes sounded interesting. We were not disappointed. Our children (13 and 11 years old) spent practically the whole weekend in the water.
For one of the day we hired one of the large daybeds which was fantastic. We had lunch by the pool as well. Stupidly we forgot our flippers and snorkels at home but you can hire them at the pool. It's cheaper to buy some though if you think your kids will use them for more than an hour! They also rent out little motorised things that pull you through the water. We didn't try them because I thought the kids would be bored with them pretty quickly.
The room was fine, but we hardly spent any time there. We purchased a two day membership for the Executive Lounge which gave us access to all day snacks, complimentary beverages and happy hour drinks. We had breakfast up there as well, which we found convenient. While the membership was not cheap we do feel that it saved us money overall.
When I booked the hotel I thought it was located closer to the Surfers Paradise town centre than it actually is. There doesn't seem to be much around it, which didn't bother us, because the purpose of the visit was to meet up with friends who live on the Gold Coast and nor tourism or a day on the beach. I would definitely stay here again. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the resort has a lovely holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,457 - 1,463 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Loved our stay here, friendly, nice food, great coffee, pool was awesome. We recommend it for conferences as its is large and comfortably fits in with our needs of conference and holiday getaway combined. Special mention to Lisa at the front desk, she went above and beyond, from hotel services to local knowledge she helped us with it all, a delightful and charming person.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaequilibrium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa as it is family friendly, and the breakfast buffet had a lot of selection. We have stayed here on a numerous of occasions with our young baby-toddler. The cot provided by the hotel was very nice for our baby. The swimming and man made beach is good entertainment. The downside would be that this particular hotel charges additional fees on arrival e.g./ if you are here during the holidays or special season. There are extra charges to use a certain day bed at the pool. This is never advised at the time of booking and only at check in! The car park recent changes mean parking is no longer free. FREE parking in Gold Coast hotel is very common. The bathroom are outdated and could do with a renovation. Overall, the bedding and linen is off decent quality. It is far from everything and not actually a suitable distance to walk to the beach. But driving is okay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a King Room with Ocean Views via a Wotif mystery deal. The hotel was beautiful inside with excellent facilities and very friendly and helpful staff. We ate at Benihana, Citrique and the Lobby Lounge, all with great food. The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable bed with great pillows, nice views of the pool area and ocean, and a beautiful large bathroom. All of the pool facilities, especially the lagoon pool, were great. We got room service breakfast one morning and although the prices were a bit high (plus a $6 delivery fee) the portions were generous and food was good. On the day we checked out, having a later flight we were able to store our luggage for the day and go to the beach and later use the hotel pools by being issued a temporary key pass. We were also able to use the salon shower facilities afterwards which was really nice. Overall very happy with our stay.

A few downsides:
- the pool bar prices were quite high and the food quality not that great (we got chips with aoli, quite disappointing)
- all equipment for the pool (e.g. floaties, pool noodles) needed to be rented. I can understand putting down a deposit, but found the prices a turn off (e.g. $10 to rent a snorkel for an hour)
- it's a 10-15 minute walk to Cavill Ave, although with a short detour you can walk the distance along the beach
- I found a bit of trash under one of the night stand tables when I dropped something. Other than that, the room was spotless

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We endeavor to ensure that our guests are well looked after at all times and every detail is taken care of.

Your suggestions and observations have been shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards

Neeraj Chadha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I can't fault my stay at the Marriott. They went above and beyond for us any way they could and the staff were lovely, even to the point of having an esky sent to our room without requesting it as the cleaner noticed we were using the basin as an ice bucket! The pillows were amazing and so was the food. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiRochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at this resort for 4 days and had a WONDERFUL experience. The restaurant is excellent with amazing breakfast and dinner buffets. The dinner buffets are legendary around those parts. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spectacular (24th floor suite). Amazing view of the beach and city. It is an easy walk to the beach from the hotel. you can walk down to the esplanade easily. There is a city train that is opening soon with a stop near the hotel that will make getting around very easy. We found the hotel to be very clean and also our room as well. The pool is awesome. sand beach area on both sides. a pool area for kids with a waterslide. Poolside bar service. snorkeling areas with local sea creatures swimming around. Overall our experience at this resort was amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's not right on the esplanade but it is close enough to enjoy it without all the traffic. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localbuzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After staying at Marriot in November 2013 and having excellent experience returned in march hoping for the same.

Service was ok but nowhere near what it was the first time we stayed.

We booked this time with friends and invited 4 other close friends to come for drinks around the pool. After a few hours around the pool and a few trips to the pool bar our friends were asked to leave the pool area by the loss prevention officer. As a group we were not unruly or even loud, quite the opposite. Which meant as a group we went elsewhere to spend our money. So loss prevention officer is doing great job of loosing your hotel money.

The following day returned to the pool and after hiring and item from the pool area to be tapped on the shoulder and again asked if I was staying at the hotel and for my room number by the loss prevention officer. After going for a swim and returning to my seat I was again approached within minutes by the same loss prevention officer and asked how many people were in our room before she went and made a phone call to confirm.

This is complete and utter overkill and guests are made to feel like they are doing something wrong as they are constantly checked upon.

I understand that hotels would experience theft especially around the pool area but I am of the opinion that the money would be better spent in having a qualified lifeguard in the pool area rather than a loss prevention officer that harasses your guests.

The service was what we returned for, not sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenAnderson1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Mr Anderson,

I would like to firstly thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your experiences.

Our saltwater lagoon is a very unique feature of the resort offering guests the opportunity to swim and snorkel with a variety of tropical fish.

At this time of year the lagoon is extremely popular and our team tries to preserve this area for the sole use of hotel guests.

Our Loss Prevention team aim to be consistent with their approach however I am sorry if you were made to feel like you were being harassed as you have described.

We thank you for sharing your comments with us and do hope to be given the chance to welcome you back to the Resort again in the near future.


Kind Regards
Neeraj Chadha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £143 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing