We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Gold coast is best part of Australia and that too surfers paradise. Beautiful location and it symbolises with all good things. Stayed here in November and was delighted with the hotel. Great location, view from the hotel room with ocean on one side and landscaped residential area with waterbodies, boats and greenery is sight to behold. Hotel itself is quite large and high rise. Rooms are spacious, restaurant have nice dining option & it has a nice pool. While intent of going to surfers paradise is to stay outdoor, but there are enough reason to stay indoor in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: take room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Family of 4, 2 boys, ages 11 and 13. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. This Marriott did a great job of providing a nice, posh atmosphere while at the same time providing a family friendly environment. We were on the 21st floor with the Hinterland view and it was stunning! The pool was great fun. It is large and there were a lot of people, but it is designed in such a way that you have privacy. The snorkeling was great with over 200 different types of fish and the hot tubs were actually hot, not bath tub temperature. We normally do not like resorts, but we found the staff and the other guests to be interesting and friendly. We also felt very safe and the hotel was clean and contemporary, we must have been in one of the newly renovated rooms. You have to walk to the beach and with the construction of the Tram Line, it isn't the prettiest walk, but it is only about a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: We were on Floor 21 and the view was of the Hinterlands, it was great. I think the goal is to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Rachel

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful comments with our team following your recent stay. It sounds like you and your family really made the most of your time here and enjoyed our five star facilities.

From mid 2014, the light rail system will be up and running, providing passengers with transport between the major tourist hubs of Broadbeach, Surfers Paradise and Southport as well as connecting them with bus services and local attractions. As the project nears completion, landscaping and additional work is being undertaken to ensure that the tram line and stations are well presented following the construction that has taken place.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort again soon when you are next holidaying in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Enjoyed a few nights at this fabulous resort with our 2 young boys (aged 6 and 10). I must say the staff recruitment and training program must be excellent because from the moment we arrived all the staff were genuinely friendly and engaging. The guys at concierge were great, staff at reception always acknowledged guests even if they we just passing by......excellent. For the record - i stayed at Jupiters on business a few weeks prior and experienced a level of customer service at the opposite end of the spectrum!

Credit must go to whoever came up with the idea of taking complimentary ice tea and slices of watermelon around to guests at the lagoon around lunchtime.....just a very small thing but we were very impressed with the gesture.....and it happened every day so is obviously just part of the daily routine. Well done!

As with all stories......there is always a BUT.....so....

The only negative experience we had was at the Benihana Restaurant.....it has such a great reputation we decided to try it but came away disappointed with the experience. As a japanese restaurant the food and the way it was cooked is not authentic and the drummer performance during the meal was a bit cheesy, and you don't see that in a traditional japanese teppanyaki restaurant. To be honest - we stopped at a great little sushi train in Burleigh Heads on our way back to the airport and that place offers a more traditional japanese experience than Benihana was (for the record my wife is japanese and i have been to japan a number of times.....so we have experienced authentic japanese cuisine and restaurant culture).

Finally, whilst this resort is not in the heart of surfers (which is not a bad thing), it is walking distance to the beach and once the new tram starts operating however (by June/July 2014 i think) you wont need a car at all. The track runs past the front door and it looks like there will be a tram stop out front?

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bne4069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in december with my wife for honeymoon....we reached here around 9 in the morning after travelling for 18 hours from India, though I had already informed the management about it, no such information was there at the reception about it and also about we r honeymooners. I know that early check in depends on availability but prior information to the reception would ve made things better.
About the room it was clean, view was amazing, house keeping was good, bed was comfortable, room service was amazing...
They have a concierge at the right side of entrance and the staff thre is very friendly and helpful and has all type of tours and transfers at the best price...A meal at benhana is highly recommended....
There salt water pool is the best of its kind with snorkelling and variety of fishes with a beautiful small waterfall at the corner, there pool side bar has many options for drinks and food with good and quick service...Fish feeding was also an interesting activity...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gursimar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate such a special occasion and congratulations on your recent marriage.

It is wonderful to read that overall, you loved the resort, especially our beautiful lagoon and pool area. We understand your disappointment upon arrival after travelling for such a long time, to find that your room was not ready on check in. We do always try to accommodate early check in requests where possible however at times, are unable due to the hotel’s occupancy. We thank you for your understanding and are very glad to read that you had such a memorable experience during your stay.

We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the resort on your next visit to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Although we don't like this type of "hotel factory", we were booked here with a group.
Again at reception, our credit card should be debited for $ 200 for "eventual expenses"
We refused. We are no thieves. We pay our bill at check out.
The room was fine, well equipped, very clean.
The restaurant is a huge place and the food is not that great.
Breakfast was of a better quality but again first lots of paperwork before they let you in, then needed to change 3 tables before we found a clean one ( spots, breadcrumbs of previous guests on chairs etc ) And of course an army of staff sneaking around your table and taking away plates that were not even finished !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Karel

We trust you had a safe flight back to New Zealand and thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Tripadvisor. We certainly appreciate feedback from our guests and have made note of your comments, particularly when dining in Citrique.

It is a standard procedure that many hotels including our property, do ask for a pre authorisation or holding amount upon checkin just to cover any incidental purchases that are charged back to the room during the stay. It is definitely not our intention to inconvenience our guests in any way.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at in December 2013 over the weekend that coincided with the Hotel's opening of the Xmas festive season which was great because we joined in the fun. We stayed in the Suite on the high floors with great view of the ocean. The room is spacious but does require a complete makeover to modernise it. Whilst the room looks like it has been renovated slightly, the bathroom still has a very 80-90's era to it but these are minor issues.

The pool is great for the family because there are the lagoon pool for some snorkelling, water slide, whirl pools, pool side water falls and plenty of equipment which can be hired (at a cost) to enhance the fun in the pool.

Generally, all the restaurants/ lounges in the hotel is typical Marriott, which serve good quality cuisine.

All staffs we encountered are all friendly, and service is always prompt & polite.

Some minor gripes are
- the gym & tennis court could do with some freshening
- there are sections of the hotel that still look its original age that could do with some freshening too

Location of hotel is fair as it is within walking distance to Surface Paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VHILW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and really enjoyed ourself. It's a very family friendly resort. We loved the snorkeling and pool area. Just amazing. The breakfast was lovely and in room dining was fast and efficient. The rooms were of a good size and the staff were very friendly. We will be returning for longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haddlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,098 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £145 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing