We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not my idea of 5 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice, but not quite what I would expect of an advertised 5 star establishment.
It has good facilities, such as multiple dining options, great pool, playground etc, however the rooms are rather dated.

The Decor in standard rooms is old and desperately needs an update.
The bathrooms take priority in the refurb stakes though!!

The bathrooms really let down the room. The taps are old, the marble is really outdated, there is mould and clearly evident soap scum in showers AND the shampoo/conditioner/body wash are not pleasant at all. They smell funny and are cheap looking and Smelling chinese made product. As a guest, I find little things like fancy or luxurious bathroom consumables a really nice touch.

I would stay again but only if I was able to get a cheap nightly rate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank EzG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed the facilities that our resort has to offer as well as the variety of dining options available.

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with the selection of bathroom amenities available in your room. Marriott have recently introduced Thann natural bath products to our guest rooms which were selected for their natural ingredients as well as contemporary design and are now a standard across all Marriott hotels worldwide.

All of our guest rooms and suites were refurbished in October, 2011 as part of the resort’s $20 million renovation however plans are underway for the bathrooms and fixtures to be updated in the coming months.

We do hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here with my daughter grand-daughter, grandson an my grand-daughters friend , we loved it from the moment we first entered, the staff were very helpful, the food at both restaurants
,was amazing , . the swimming pool was incredible , would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

From the complimentary glass of wine on arrival through to arranging a taxi to the airport when we were leaving, the service in this hotel was impeccable.
The hotel's amenities are lovely and we had a room overlooking the snorkelling pool. We could see fish swimming around the people in the pool.
The buffet lunch on Sunday in Citrique was fabulous, service was friendly, attentive but not intrusive, nothing was too much trouble.
They also serve High Tea in the lobby lounge, but you need to make a booking.
The Buffet price included drinks and was super good value.
We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with our team on Tripadvisor.

Our Sunday Lunch Buffet is fantastic value at $85 per person inclusive of beverages and always very popular with our local guests. We have also recently reviewed our signature High Tea offering and it now includes a selection of French pastries, gourmet finger sandwiches, freshly baked scones with homemade strawberry pineapple jam served with teas by Ronnenfeldt. High Tea is available in the Lobby Lounge on weekends and is also served during the week at Citrique for $32.50 per person.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights here. The hotel is full most of the time as it is probably the best property in goldcoast. The check in was smooth. The rooms are OK not upto marriott standards but the other things compensate for it . The pool is the best ive ever seen you can actually experience snorkelling in the pool with the tropical fish. The hotel was kind enough to cook indian food for us which was amazing. Overall it was a great experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBAK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is truly a quality establishment.
The accommodation, staff, service and facilities were fantastic.
A lovely outlook from our room over the incredible pool with tropical fish ... Just beautiful.
I attended for a work conference and look forward to returning perhaps for a leisure stay!
If I was to be a little 'picky' ... The only thing I found a little off putting was the security deposit pre-payable at $100 per night per room which gets a little excessive when you have booked multiple rooms (for myself and staff) for 3 nights.
But like I said ... A truly beautiful place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also have an outlook over the canal and beach ... You never get tired of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I and our 3 teenage children recently stayed at this amazing resort. We had booked for 6 nights but ended up extending our stay by another 6 nights. Our 2 eldest girls had to return early to Melbourne and it was the saddest day of their lives so far. Our son, my husband and I were left in Paradise, to enjoy cocktails in real coconuts, beside the pool. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the exceptional concierge staff, we felt like we were welcome here. 'The boys' grace, style and brilliant senses of humour brightened our stay each day. Derek certainly has an awesome team in Chris, Malcolm, Anthony, Andrew and Hiroshi (sorry if the spelling is wrong). They are great guys who, as first introduction to the resort, go above and beyond to professionally see all of your needs are met. The reception staff are next, waiting to attend to you with a warm smile. They are outstanding, and a wealth of information. Nothing is too much trouble for them and we had brilliant experiences with Sissi, Daina and Sadhuya (again, sorry about misspelt names). The facilities and events at the resort are second to none, it's hard to find the time to actually enjoy all of them. You have to stay a while, which is the easy part. It's the decisions as to where to eat, by the pool, Benihaha, High Tea at the Lobby bar, breakfast at Citrique, late night room service of beef cheeks and ice creams, canapes at Elandra, sake at the sake bar, pina coladas on the day beds, coffee and chocolates in the cafe, seafood galore at the buffet, then there's Snorkling with the tropical fish (even the bitey blue one hehehe), tennis, zooming through the lagoon pool behind a sea-doo, relaxing on a day bed, floating through the whirl pool, flying down the water slide or just strolling through the gardens or along the canal...these are the hard decisions! The pool staff are fantastic. Jonathon, James and Sam deserve medals. They must walk miles whilst serving guests cocktails and snacks, and always with a smile. They were so attentive and perfectly made us feel like we were the only ones there and that nothing was too much trouble for them. Thanks so much guys. We also joined the Elandra Club and were absolutely floored by the range of all inclusive drinks, snacks, breakfasts and canapes we had to privately choose from. We felt like we were kings and the girls on duty up there on the 27th floor were so friendly and considerate. The surprise cocktails made each night were something I'd look forward too and I think the passionfruit, vodka, lemonade one was my (and another lady we befriended) favourite. I didn't actually get the girls names because they didn't stop long enough for me to catch them, they were tireless and are such an asset. We were welcomed by them and always asked what we had planned for our days, and the difference from other places we've stayed is, they genuinely seemed to want to know the answer. Another bonus of staying at the Marriott is that the Latouffe Spa is there. My daughters and I were spoilt by the girls there with a massage, facial and hands and feet done. It was the first time we had done this and not being touchy feely, we were quite aprehensive. The staff there were so aware and courteous to our needs. It was pure bliss and I can't wait to do it again. The whole morning was just lovely, perfect actually. The Marriott Resort is superb, we just loved it. It is a stunning place, with gorgeous spaces. The rooms are lovely, views breathtaking, furnishings sublime. Everywhere you look, there is something beautiful to see. The smiling faces of the staff when passing by or when you sse them working and they look up and greet you by name or want to know where your kids are, these things make a difference. Nova, Armadeo, Masa and Julia started our days off beautifully in Citrique. They always had a smile and a chat like we were old friends. They simply did this whilst doing their jobs effortlessly ( a sign of great and well trained staff) and then the rest of the staff, like house keeping, maintenence etc would blend in with smiles during the day. We can't wait to get back there and will visit just for weekends, because the place is a perfect escape where you feel special....and who doesn't want that from time to time?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed overnight in a room overlooking the ocean, the views were fantastic. Had dinner at Benihana and enjoyed the marvellous facilities of this lovely hotel. I would like to extend my thanks to the staff, you are doing a great job and went out of your way to make our stay perfect in every way. It really does make a difference.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auspal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,078 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £146 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing