We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Fantastic resort. Amazing swimming pool, our children loved feeding the fish. Wonderful buffet breakfast. The teppanyakki restaurant upstairs is a must try, best teppenyakki we have ever had. The rooms very quiet, spacious and clean, slightly dated but very comfortable. All the staff were extemely friendly and welcoming. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,321)
There are newer reviews for Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here for business and the hotel, pool and rooms are nicely finished. The concierge was helpful and room service was enjoyable. However, there were a few things missing. The front desk experience was mid-range. I did get help with internet (had dig around and join Marriott Rewards to avoid ridiculous charges) but not a smile at check-in or check-out. I have since had no success trying to obtain an electronic copy of my bill despite several phone calls. I also experienced a noisy/rattling air conditioner and bar fridge that woke me several times during the night. I turned these off on successive nights but there were also little things: no comp water daily; only instant coffee in the rooms. Small things make a big difference at a hotel of this calibre. It wouldn't take much to make this a superlative place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starfishjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback for our team following your recent stay.

While we are glad that for the most part, you enjoyed the facilities that our resort offers, we acknowledge that there have also been areas which have negatively affected your experience here and we apologise for this. We would like to follow up with our Engineering Team to check both the air conditioning unit and bar fridge in the room you stayed in but unfortunately cannot view your surname on Tripadvisor to look up you reservation and gain access this information.

We encourage you to contact our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829 so that we can discuss your comments with you and relay these back to our Front Office team as well. We will also ensure that a copy of your account is emailed to you promptly.

We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying for four nights at The Marriott Hotel, Surfers Paradise and what a delight it was. On arrival we were greeted warmly in the stunning foyer and our check in was both professional and swift - we were offered chocolates along with a glass of champagne. Our ocean view room on the 15 floor with a balcony was stylishly furnished and had lovely views of ocean, river and the swimming pools below. Within minutes of entering our room their was a knock at the door with a staff member presenting us with a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne and just to add a lovely touch chilled champagne glasses! The very spacious bathroom comprised of a large bath along with walk in shower. One feature of the room I found most pleasing was the step in wardrobe that included a large shelf for your luggage, generous hanging space and drawers - this allowed for personal items to be stowed out of sight - therefore no suitcases cluttering the room. The hotel is well maintained to a high standard and the vast foyer has many areas to sit, relax and enjoy the ambience. The outdoor garden with two massive pools is simply beautiful - we used the large heated pool and one of the spas - although it was fairly cool an early morning swim was a wonderful way to start the day. Our package included the buffet breakfast - which we both agreed was the best we have experienced for many years - excellent quality with a huge selection catering for all tastes and requirements. We had room service on one occasion and it was delicious. The staff we encountered were friendly and professional. We came to the Gold Coast to attend an event but I can understand why some people say in previous posts that they did not leave the resort! We plan to return to this wonderful hotel as they really have captured what a resort hotel should offer. Thank you for four wonderful nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we went with 2 young kids and the pool was great fun for kids. it's different from other hotel's square shaped pool. You get what you see in the photo.

Room was not big but bed was big and very comfy. We didn't dine in the restaurant but bought our breakfast from cafe where food and service was great.

Location is also good. it was schoolies time and found city centre was very noisy with drunken students. It would have been a nightmare if we stayed in one of hotel in the city centre. Marriott was quiet, no schoolies stayed in Marriott yet it was not too far from city centre. You can walk to centre. it takes 15-20 minutes with young kids and pram.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and would return to the same place if we visit Gold Coast again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank taebong8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My child was had just turned 2 at that time and I was really looking for a hotel with a private beach for safety and logistics reasons.

I'm sure all parents will agree that when traveling with kids, you want things to be as hassle free as possible.

The pool at the Marriott definitely checks all the boxes and more. It's designed to have the beach effect complete with sand, is very clean, has a neat little waterfall with fishes so kids can do a bit of snorkeling and most importantly is conveniently located at the hotel.

She had the best time, we felt refreshed because it was an easy vacation and we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sxabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife booked us on a Mystery deal and wife ended up with an Ocean View room at the Marriott. I had stayed here in the past on business and I must confess a little disappointed that we were not staying somewhere I hadn't stayed before.
BUT, the room was fantastic the view wonderful. Large bathroom King-size bed and .very quite.
The staff were efficient with a nice surprise when the valet even remembered my room number although he had only seen me once before.
We eat in and had great service in a friendly but not 'in your face' manner.
I think that the Hotel may had recently been refurbished, the room was much nicer than I remembered my previous stays. All in all we had a very relaxed stay.

Room Tip: I have seen the penthouse and would stay there if I could, but an Ocean View room was all we really...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Marriott was a very tricky hotel to give a rating to, there were so many aspects of this hotel that were absolutely amazing yet there were a few parts of our experience that weren't quite so great at all.
I will start with the good- the entire pool area was just wonderful with the opportunity to swim with fish, the lovely hot spa and lots of beautiful spots to lounge by the pool with a yummy cocktail from the pool bar. Dinner at Benihana teppenyaki and Citrique buffet was wonderful, the staff were fabulous and the food was of very high quality and absolutely delicious! Most of the staff members that we encountered throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and our bed was comfortable.
The bad- Upon check in we were greeted by a staff member who we found to be unfriendly, although we were offered champagne and chocolate it wasn't a very nice experience. We then headed up to our assigned room and as we entered we were confronted by a constant loud banging noise coming from the vent inside the walk in robe, this noise could be clearly heard throughout the entire room, the thing that struck us most about this was that the porter had left our bags directly under the source of the noise and expected us to stay there! We believe that the reception staff were all already aware of this issue as the staff member who checked us in seemed desperate to sell us an upgrade to another room, also when we called about the issue we were upgraded to an ocean view room without any questions, although it was nice to be upgraded I would have thought that if they hadn't known what the issue was they would first send someone up from maintenance to investigate this and to see if there was an easy fix (I could be wrong).
When the porter arrived to collect our bags to move us to a new room he tried to be polite but he was very huffy and clearly annoyed (I wonder if he has been through this before). All of this within the very first hour of our arrival did not make for a good start to our stay and we were left feeling as though we had made a very bad decision choosing the Marriott. The other issue we had was the breakfast we ordered through room service, the toast was not cooked it was not even slightly browned, the hash browns had a burnt taste, the entire dish was cold and we didn't receive any butter with the meal, needless to say we did not order room service again.

All in all, although our stay was not without it's issues we will be returning to the Marriott as we thoroughly enjoyed most of our stay.

I did take note of the staff that I found to be especially friendly and/or helpful as I believe it is nice to recognise good service and these were the people that helped to make our stay enjoyable, these people were: Kurt (helpful and friendly staff member from the lobby), Natalie (who delivered our room service) Ildiko and Brock from Citrique and Jonathan from the pool bar.

I have a video which captures the noise in the original room as well as photos from our stay, I will try to upload these during the next week or two.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott S, General Manager at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with our team and taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We certainly value the feedback we receive from our guests as it allows us the opportunity to identify areas that require additional focus or attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies for your check in experience. We do appreciate you taking the time to share the positive experiences you had at the Resort including the quality of service from majority of our associates. We will be sure to commend each one on delivering exceptional service to you as our guest.

We would like to speak to you personally in regards to the issues that negatively impacted your stay and can be contacted via our Executive Office on 07 5592 9829.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,656 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £165 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing