We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay at this hotel, they have no heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dont stay at this hotel, they have no heart”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I wanted to stay at this Hotel for my birthday as I had previously stayed at the Marriott in Hawaii and had the most wonderful stay thanks to the Hotel Manager.
I emailed the Hotel Manager to organise my booking at this Hotel and explained it was a special occassion and would love an upgrade if possible. I was advised that they would be happy to look at any opportunities closer to the date, but the next day was advised that they could not offer any upgrade. The room rate was still quite expensive $299 per night and did not include breakfast, I thought they may have offered us this. I know an upgrade is not a right but we were looked after so well in Hawaii I had really just assumed we would be looked after here too. I was very very wrong, this hotel may be lovely but they are all about making money, not looking after their guests, they were holding off to see if they could get more money from the upgraded rooms than $299, as one reveiw mentions you do not get the warm fuzzy feeling in dealing with this hotel at all. I actually mentioned that to them but no response.There were much more affordable hotels and apartments on the Gold Coast but my family and myself really love the Marriott hospitality, or so we had thought, I emailed the General Manager and asked was there anything we could do for my birthday and his curt and rude response is not to be believed so I am posting it here for all to see how they couldnt care less about their guests.

As stated - we are not able to offer you a free upgrade to a suite -

We now consider this matter closed and are unable to asist your further

Yours Sincerely
General Manager

I emailed back the Marriott values for example -"Do Whatever it Takes to Take Care of the Customer" and "Use their creativity to find new ways to meet the needs of customers" but of coarse there was no reply.
They were not at all interested in offering any other suggestions or following the Marriott Core Values and just said the matter is closed, of coarse I have shown all my colleagues and friends this horrid response and just wanted to spare any one else going through the heartache I did with this hotel. It is just not worth it

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAZZA0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,372
    590
    171
    61
    49
See reviews for
837
640
50
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

From the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby, with it's grand staircase, you are immediately impressed with the beauty of the hotel. The lagoon pool is amazing, and we were given an awesome room on the 23rd floor that overlooked the other high rises and the inland waterways.

All of the staff we dealt with were gracious and helpful. Even though the hotel is rather posh, they still provide basic amenities for travellers, such as coin laundry. Room service is rather inexpensive compared to restaurants in the area, or at least comparable. The room service sushi platter for two though was disappointing (the tuna seemed canned). Pasta dishes were great though, and so was the apple tart.

We had a great time, and mostly ogled the beautiful view at dusk.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

AC noisy, next to very busy road (you can hear noise clearly on 21st floor), no wireless/internet very slow. A/C cannot be adjusted to get to preferred temperature (a wheel adjustment which seems not to be aligned properly)

Best views (ocean) is the noisest...

Summary: 3 stars at best...so many better values for beach fun.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 300nitesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Stayed in Surfers Paradise for 2 nights to break up the drive from Sydney to Brisbane. The hotel was straight forward to find being on one of the main routes through the area. We had a room on the 26th floor with excellent views over the city and beyond. The hotel has a lagoon pool with sunbeds and another pool with a small waterslide. There were a lot of kids at this hotel so if you're looking for a quiet retreat this isn't it. Our room had 2 double beds, bathroom with walk in shower and bath.There was complimentary parking which was good and the concierges were very helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into the main shopping/drinking/eating area. We used room service once and it was very quick and decent value, $20 us for pizza and fries.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

2nd time at this hotel. love it. great venue for a conference.
Rooms are clean and well kept. the most pleasant staff i have ever encountered in a hotel, from the reception staff to the cleaners.
its not on the beach, but only a 2 minute walk.
and also far enough away from the centre of surfers and its nightlife problems!, but only a 10 minute walk to cavill mall....... but seriously, dont waste your time. Stay in the hotel pool!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew1971Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Marriot for a quick break of three nights in July. We were lucky enough to get a great deal through a promotion at the time (one night free). The staff are friendly, but no more than you would expect of any good hotel.

The room had it's own tiny balcony, and despite it being very small, it was nice to sit out there overlooking the pool in the afternoon. I was suprised, however, that the TV was not a flatscreen or even a widescreen in a 5 star hotel! The king bed was the most comfortable bed I think I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in and the bathroom was huge with a large, deep bath which we didn't get around to using. The room was always made up well and it's a nice touch that they have a card to indicate if you would like fresh linen. The Marriott appears to be quite water wise which is good to see in a major hotel.

The lagoon/pool is great with lots of tropical fish living in there. If you actually want to see the fish you will definately need a mask and snorkle as they're not easily seen from the surface. I'd advise people to bring their own snorkle and mask if they have a set (which is what we did) as hire was a bit steep.

The hotels buffet breakfast is very nice, and if you stay there, at least go once! One grip I did have was with the food on the room service menu, my husband fancied Nachos and he could only either have the corn chips with the salsa part OR the corn chips with the meat part of a normal nachos. Considering the price this was a bit rich!

The hotel itself seems to be family oriented. Lots of families with children of primary school age were around. It even has it's very own little water slid, which we had a go of after watching a number of kids come rocketing out the bottom.

I probably wouldn't recommend it as a romantic escape as it doesn't have that kind of feel. If you're just out for a holiday for a bit of fun in the sun in a better than usual hotel, or if you want a nice place to holiday with well behaved children, this seems like a really great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30sQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

My recent stay at the Marriot was a wonderfully relaxing experience. Right from our original check in, everything seemed to gel. We had a beautiful room (with plenty of space for a childs rollaway bed) complete with a panoramic view of the ocean & river. The decor was fresh & modern with everything you could ask for, including gorgeous aromatherapy bath products. The pool area is paradise, complete with a coral reef, hydro slide & current pool.
Poolside food was a little on the 'deep fried' side & our hotel breakfast seemed somewhat overpriced, but overall the food quality was fine. Every staff member at the Marriot was friendly & helpful, making us feel so welcome day & night. Location is great, as its a quick cab ride to the brilliant Tedder ave- where all the great restaurants are & a 15 minute walk to Cavill ave. I would recommend the Marriot, especially if you have
children with you, as the pools will keep them amused for hours. Overall, a wonderful experience with perfect Gold Coast weather all the way.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing