We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out dated resort with great pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I found Marriott to be out-dated and over-rated. I believe they are going to be doing a refurb, which is definatley needed. The rooms were of a good size, beds comfy but everything in general just a little tired. Buffet is over priced and nothing special. The lagoon pool area is fantastic and can see why it is such a hit with families.

Stayed: December 2010
2  Thank Chezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

My husband and I spent 3 weeks visiting family members in Queensland and spent the last 4 days at this beautiful hotel. We had nothing but praise for the staff, both in reception on our arrival to the restaurant where we were given the utmost attention and fantastic service including top quality food. Our room was on 22nd floor with breathtaking ocean views and the furnishings,linen, bed and beautiful bathroom was luxury plus. Breakfast menu was extensive and nothing was ever any bother to the staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorisTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I love the Marriott hotel in Brisbane and wanted to try the Gold Coast version. The bed was absolutely to die for! The club lounge is so lovely and relaxing. Only negatives are that the rooms are rather small and its more expensive when getting taxis to Surfers as you have to travel north for quite a while in order to turn around. But its a beautiful hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayCouple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

ideal family holiday spot ,best location comfortable stay ,great sea food . and spa .
hotel to be visited again ,great hospitality good size room .ideal place for family vacation.many activities for children/teenagers . truly a resort

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradiparora1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Fantastic spot w/ ocean view and excellent service from the staff; front desk, concierge, travel desk and the house keeper.... the only thing I wasn't happy about is the breakfast buffet..

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AnyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed three nights at this great hotel. Excellent decor, friendly staff and great ocean and river views make this hotel a favorite. At nearly 300 Aussie dollars, it is not cheap.So when you find that there is no wifi anywhere in the hotel, it is a surprise. Reception staff sold us access to lounge called the Elandra Club Retreat on the 27th floor at an additional 100 a night. What a ripoff. No wifi in that lounge either. Lounge is manned by hotel only breakfast hours and after that have your biscuits and cakes using room access key. Lounge was empty therefore most of the time.Rooms were well appointed. Parking was complimentary. Enjoyed the hotel stay nevertheless.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krisflyer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have been fortunate to be able to stay at the Surfers Paradise Marriott 3 times in the past 7 years, and each time my stay has been very enjoyable. Overall the hotel has a great feel about it – upscale but also casual. The hotel is a little removed from the crowds of Surfers Paradise, but that is a good thing. You can join the crowds just a short drive away or a 10 minute walk, but when you return to the hotel you feel as if you are on a tropical island. The pool area is amazing, featuring a sandy beach and live fish, not to mention a waterfall and water slide. On each of my visits the front desk staff and bell desk personnel have been great, and it is refreshing to find complimentary parking at a hotel of this caliber. If there where anything I would change it would be the food in the Lobby Lounge and the room décor. On my first visit to this hotel 7 years ago the food offered in the Lobby Lounge was very diverse (the Dim Sum was wonderful), however now the food offered is more along the lines of pizza & hamburgers, average at best (however the service remains good). The rooms are very, very comfortable – they just need to be refreshed. The bathroom is large and the bed provides a great night sleep. The carpeting and television could use upgrading, but none of that matters when you are sitting on the balcony looking at the lights of the high-rises, the river and the waves breaking on the beach. The Surfers Paradise Marriott remains one of my favorite hotels in the world.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 68ElCamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
0.8 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
2.8 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 158 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#1 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £143 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa couples quiet luxury with spacious accommodation and intuitive service, providing an unforgettable hotel experience for guests here on the Gold Coast. Tucked amidst sparkling lagoons, white sandy beaches, and cascading waterfalls, the 216 room fully integrated resort offers amenities to please the entire family; from quiet pool zones and unique aquatic experiences to bike rentals and a new Kid's Activities Centre. The immaculately appointed hotel accommodation offers floor-to-ceiling windows, marble bathrooms, and pillow top mattresses. Step out onto your balcony and revel in the beauty of your Gold Coast surroundings. Treat yourself to superb cuisine at Misono, Citrique, or Chapter & Verse bar and lounge, or book a day of pampering at Ruby Spa. Those planning events here on the Gold Coast can make use of the expansive function room space including the stylish Marriott Ballroom. Indulge, discover and explore in effortless style at Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort And Spa
Surfers Paradise Marriott Hotel Surfers Paradise
Marriott Surfers Paradise Hotel
Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort & Spa Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing