We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill....Good location but very average experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I (used) to stay here frequently when it was the Holiday Inn. Even though it was not perfect then, now as The Outrigger, it has gone downhill somewhat:

1. The sheets in the bedding are rough and cheap.
2. They've ditched the IHG loyalty scheme, so if you used to be on the higher floors you'll be downgraded down to the lowest floors.
3. Even though they've ditched the good aspects of the past, they've retained the bad aspects of the Holiday Inn, for example no complimentary slippers.
4. The Shampoo is poor quality and needs lots of rinsing to get rid of.
5. No more breakfast or buffet coupons from front desk.
6. Not a smooth transition from Holiday Inn to Outrigger. Took ages to check us in.
7. Poor stationery for the breakfast menu. Someone obviously scanned the previous Holiday Inn breakfast menu and cut and pasted it onto the new Outrigger format. You can tell it is cut and pasted as the definition of the text is lacking and a poor resolution.
8. Wardrobe light was burnt out.

To further punctuate the poor quality of the hotel, have a look at the Outrigger neon sign at night time...half of it is burnt out!

Overall a great location, but with slow service, lack of loyalty to former guests, poor quality sheets etc, I won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on higher floors. Lower floors can be noisy and are often reserved for more 'rowdy'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances H, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear AndySPS,
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide feedback on your stay and be assured I will address many of the issues you have raised, such as linen quality and the breakfast menu stationery which was reproduced and not simply copied.
I apologise that we could not honor all of the IHG loyalty components and I was on the understanding IHG had advised all members, but we would always do our best to meet guest requests, such as the high floor.
In regards to the transition, there are always some minor issues and with new computer systems and operations and it will take staff a short period of time for staff to become accustomed and skilled with these changes. Regarding signage as this is brand new neon sign, the tubes have a settling in process that resulted in some tubes not stabilising, and this is being rectified and checked on all three roof top signs. I certainly hope you will stay again, and while I appreciate the IHG Loyalty cannot be continued, I am confident we will show you great service and standards in a great location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,882 - 2,888 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

I booked a room through Wotif on a secret deal for Mid December. The price was high but I guess as it was peak season, I have no reason to complain. I think there is value in this place off peak only. Otherwise it is overpriced. The room was sufficient with two double beds. An odd feature of the room was that there was a set of blinds between the bathroom and the bedroom that could only be operated from the bedroom. We had fun playing peek-a-boo but I just thought it was unusual. I often held a stigma about the Holiday Inn being average, but I was pleasantly surprised at the extent they've gone to to make the interior of the place shine. The foyer is gorgeous. The check in staff were friendly and knowledgeable of the area and gave us good directions for local fare. The aircon did not work but this was fixed as soon as we complained.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Great location. We were looking for a central Surfers Paradise hotel so we could walk to beach/restaurants/bars. It was a 5 minute walk to Cavill Avenue and 100m from the beach. Liquor shop next door. Grocery shop and pharmacy all nearby.

The lobby was very attractive and modern. A Japanese-friendly hotel, as it was previously owned by a Japanese company before being taken over by Holiday Inn. The room (Standard Double) itself was spacious, very clean with an ample sized bathroom. Housekeeping was very efficient in bringing up a shaving kit and also fixing our small bar fridge which wasn't very cold.

Had dinner one night in the restaurant (Sirocco) using the supplied 25% off voucher. Buffet was not too bad. Reasonable selection of seafood, hot dishes and desserts. Worst was the crab which was obviously thawed from frozen.

Service overall was very helpful and friendly. Everyone we spoke with was polite and did their best to help us during our stay. Also accommodating to our request for early check-in (7am).

Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydSquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Having stayed in many Holiday Inn hotels over the years, we felt safe in booking this hotel for the Christmas period, accepting that we were trading a little quality for a known brand. This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We opted for a 'superior' room and were on the 16th floor overlooking the pool, cityscape and with views of the beach. The room was of a very good standard with all we needed for a few nights of relaxation. The balcony was accessible via full-height sliding doors that we left open much of the time, so we could see and hear the sights.

The hotel was perfectly located just far enough away from the beach and 'centre' to give a relatively peaceful experience, but by no means outside of the action. A two minute walk would see you on the beach and five minutes along the front would put you right in the thick of it all.

The hotel had an attached secure car park for a very reasonable 8 AUD a night, where we parked the car and never needed to start it again until the day we moved on.

We didn't use the bar or restaurant in the hotel as it seemed a little pricey and frankly, there were just too many nice alternatives within a very short distance, so we ate out instead.

The pool area was very nice, if a little small for such a big hotel. That said, it was never overly busy, I guess because with so much else going on in and around SP, people were busy doing other stuff. Watch your step in and around the pools; Very slippy!

Having opted for this hotel as the 'safe option' on our month long trip down the east coast, we were delighted to find that it proved to be one of the highlights, and the view from the room has left us with memories we are unlikely to forget in a hurry.

Room Tip: Best views are from a high room on the South (pool) side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey_d31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here recently for one night with my husband. The hotel does look very old and outdated from the outside, but do not let the appearance deceive you, as the lobby and rooms have been nicely renovated to look new & modern. Check in was relatively quick and after getting a very cheap mystery deal on Wotif we were pleased to be allocated a room on the 19th floor. Although the room was labelled Ocean View we only had a partial side view of the ocean. I am not sure if any of the rooms have a front on view of the ocean due to the positioning of the hotel.

The room was a nice size and well-equipped, although I also found it strange that they have a mini-bar without a mini-bar (ie. nothing in the fridge). The room was clean although there were handprint marks on the bedhead which was a little offputting.

I did like the recycling bin in the bathroom, this is a great idea and I wish more hotels did this.

One thing we did not like was the poor signage in the car park, it is quite confusing and you actually need to catch a lift from the shopping centre that adjoins the carpark into the lobby, (via some stairs), and then walk to the hotel's elevator to get upto your room.

Overall though we did have a nice stay, with a great view of the city lights from the balcony at night time. We didn't use the facilities (pool etc) so I can't comment on those. We couldn't hear much noise from the room either which was surprising. The location is great, right in the heart of Surfers. We would definitely stay here again, especially considering the resort has now rebranded to an Outrigger. Hopefully they can make some minor improvements to ensure they maintain the good reputation they currently have.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDiIanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Great location

Terrible room service. Took forever then they forgot the water which was the whole reason for ringing up. Why don't they put it in the fridge anymore. What's the point of having a fridge that's on with nothing in it. Also once again as last time I stayed here 3 people not enough towels. I didn't do they check out but I believe we were charged for the missing water.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Have stayed here a few times in various rooms. Nice touch in the more expensive rooms such as pillow menu, good room service (yum) and interesting window from the room into the shower. Shame to hear it may no longer be a part of the holiday inn chain soon.

As this is the only Holiday Inn I have stayed at, can only hope the rest are the same.

Out of the many hotels I have stayed at on the Gold Coast, this is in my top 3.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyhelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,772 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £72 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation you can choose from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Fantastic amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool, fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon, conference rooms and an on site Restaurant - NOSH Pan Asian, which offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Mantra on View Hotel is also one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. whatever the reason for your stay, you will have an memorable time at Mantra on View Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing