We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old dated, not worth the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here and was horrified at the poor quality old and dated rooms, the poor service and the poor standard in general.

The hotel is very old, the rooms are dated, you cant even get standard free to air TV stations, the beds are poor to average, the bathrooms are not clean.

The cheap skates wanted to charge you $4 to deliver a bucket of ice to your room. I have never experienced that in over 200 different hotels and resorts I have stayed in. How sad when they have to get the scummy to charge to give you ice which is sitting there in the ice machines anyway. So as far as service there isnt any. The staff couldnt care less as you stood and waited and should look for work where they dont have to deal with customers as they dont have any customer service skills.

The property is handy to many things which is about the only good thing I could say about it,
Value for money!!!! Very expensive for the little you got and the poor quality and lack of service, you can do FAR BETTER in many other hotels and resorts here in Surfers and they simply leave this place for dead.

Simply I would never return it is no where near worth it. out of ten I would give it a 2.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, There are so many properties for cheaper and some a little more, but you would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear travel_queensland,

It was disappointing to read your feedback, especially concerning the poor service and standards and would appreciate direct contact with you to investigate your comments further. If time permits, please email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain specific information to allow us to address.

We have received many positive comments about the service provided by our team, so want to see what wasnt provided. In regards to your comments old and dated, we commenced operation of the hotel on January 10th 2012 and are currently working with the Body Corporate on upgrades to the hotel, which include:
* Lift upgrade to all guest lifts (in progress)
* Major air conditioning upgrade (in progress - completion due mid July)
* Balcony table replacement (due to be completed mid June)
* Mattress & Base replacement (this is currently underway for the units that were not completed in 2011)
* Painting of guest rooms and corridors - quotes being sought.

I sincerely hope you will have the time to respond to then allow me the opportunity of dealing with specific information with our teams to address your concerns as we do with all guests.

While I appreciate you said you wouldn't return I hoipe you do in the future to see we do act on guest feedback for improvement.

Kind regards

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,837 - 2,843 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We got a great rate through wotif. The hotel is located only a short stroll from the beach. Our rooms had two double beds and the hotel decor is very minimalist and modern. The hotel has a roof top tennis court, gym and pool which are quite nice but the pool is open until 10pm but not very well lit. To be honest I found the hotel to be a bit cold and unwelcoming we were just another number! I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for families as the location is right near pubs & clubs and there were a lot of drunks walking around even in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here only one night. I wasnt expecting too much as I had read some bad reviews. The room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony. We had a smorgasbord breakfast included in our package and it was good with hot and cold choices. This hotel is very central and within easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Mall, shopping, restaurants, nightclubs etc. It is a no fuss motel. Dont expect concierge to come out and greet you when you arrive. Its not that sort of hotel. The price is the winner with this one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfreakAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear JB90210

Many thanks for your review and be assured I will discuss with our teams to ensure you are not treated as a number, but a valued guest.

While I appreciate your comments about our proximity to pubs and clubs, a major draw card for some guests, we are also very conscious of security and making the hotel comfortable for all guests, including families and as such will ensure our security and management presence addresses any issues.

I certainly hope you will come back and stay with us again to see we have acted on your feedback.

Kind regards and many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We enjoyed our nights there, great location, friendly staffs, comfy bed, nice room, nice toilet, good breaki to start our day, what more can I ask for? Im sure there are a bit of downsides like TOOO cold swimming pool. eg; I was all excited to step in but it was SOOOO COLD i just sat there staring at the pool. HAHA.... But mehhhhh... positive outweigh negative so surely a WONDERFUL choice! If I have a chance, I'll surely be back here :D oh! another thing, try to get a upper floor when its e weekend. we were staying on the 8th and we could hear those drunks screaming away from outside or maybe its our unlucky day cause it was really noisy on sat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamateletubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear iamateletubby,

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and are thrilled to see our efforts with the room standards and quality are acknowledged, as well as breakfast quality. Our chefs are committed to providing quality food sources locally.

The comments on the friendly are a testament to the efforts our team members make and their commitment to customer service and I will ensure your feedback is provided to all team members.

We are currently in the process of addressing the pool heating with the Body Corporate and I will also ensure with our teams and security staff that we address where possible noise from the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is great value for money. Bedroom was clean and comfortable.The jaquizzi outside is lovely and heated however the pool was freezing cold and we could not swim in it which was the only downside of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear ZoeanLiam,

Please accept my sincerest thanks for your feedback on your recent stay, particularly about the bed and cleanliness.

We are working with the Body Corporate on the pool heating and replacement of heating unit.

We look forward to you returning to stay with us again

Kind regards,

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger for 3 nights as part of a package deal which included daily breakfast,
a seafood buffet dinner, spa vouchers, free parking and a complimentary bottle of wine. We didn't use the spa service but the accommodation, food and service were all of a very high standard and managed to exceeded our expectations. The hotel is within easy walking distance to wide range of restaurants, pubs & clubs and our 17th floor room had great views all over the southern end of the Gold Coast. The Outrigger provided us with a great 3 day getaway and we would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Whitster04,

Many thanks for your post and comments about your stay with us. I am pleased to read your comments about the food as our Executive Chef and his team are committed to providing great quality, fresh local foods and I know his trips to the prawn trawlers support this.

Of great significance is your comment about exceeding your expectations and that is something we will continue to aim to achieve with all guests and your comments, as with all guest feedback will be communicated to our teams so they know how we are going

We look forward to your return trips and comments to ensure we continue to do all possible to provide great service and quality.

Many thanks


Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

There is no doubt this is the best place to stay if you want hotel standard accommodation and be walking distance to everything. The rooms are a little tired, but the standard of comfort is great. it is important to remember that this is a resort town, not a 'big city' suit and tie place. The pool is great and the meals we had there were on par with what we expected. Perfect location.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Douglass4,

Sincere mahalo (Hawaiian for thanks) for your comments and be assured we are working with the body corporate to address your comments on the some of the property looking tired. Balcony table replacement is underway as is bed and base replacement.

We are currently working with an interior decorator, color consultant and contractors for the repainting of rooms and corridors and are working on a commencement in the coming months.

Your comments about location are brilliant as we are so close to the entertainment precinct and the great Surfers Paradise beaches.

We certainly hope to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,761 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £73 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation you can choose from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Fantastic amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool, fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon, conference rooms and an on site Restaurant - NOSH Pan Asian, which offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Mantra on View Hotel is also one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. whatever the reason for your stay, you will have an memorable time at Mantra on View Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing