We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with a great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with a great view”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My partner and I stayed one night in a king room on the 22nd floor and had great views of the beach. The studio room was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed as did the bathroom. The location was fantastic - walking distance (minutes) to the beach, shops, restaurants/cafes, and attractions. Parking at the hotel is also available for a fee.

The staff at reception were friendly and efficient and we did not have any issues with check in or check out. One minor detail was that one of our two room keycards did not work but it did not pose a problem for us.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applemintfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear applemintfrappe,

I sincerely appreciate your feedback concerning your recent stay, especially your comments about our friendly staff and also the cleanliness of the hotel.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our teams and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards and thanks.

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    953
    471
    164
    115
See reviews for
665
836
129
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
aussie in queensland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here and was horrified at the poor quality old and dated rooms, the poor service and the poor standard in general.

The hotel is very old, the rooms are dated, you cant even get standard free to air TV stations, the beds are poor to average, the bathrooms are not clean.

The cheap skates wanted to charge you $4 to deliver a bucket of ice to your room. I have never experienced that in over 200 different hotels and resorts I have stayed in. How sad when they have to get the scummy to charge to give you ice which is sitting there in the ice machines anyway. So as far as service there isnt any. The staff couldnt care less as you stood and waited and should look for work where they dont have to deal with customers as they dont have any customer service skills.

The property is handy to many things which is about the only good thing I could say about it,
Value for money!!!! Very expensive for the little you got and the poor quality and lack of service, you can do FAR BETTER in many other hotels and resorts here in Surfers and they simply leave this place for dead.

Simply I would never return it is no where near worth it. out of ten I would give it a 2.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, There are so many properties for cheaper and some a little more, but you would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear travel_queensland,

It was disappointing to read your feedback, especially concerning the poor service and standards and would appreciate direct contact with you to investigate your comments further. If time permits, please email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain specific information to allow us to address.

We have received many positive comments about the service provided by our team, so want to see what wasnt provided. In regards to your comments old and dated, we commenced operation of the hotel on January 10th 2012 and are currently working with the Body Corporate on upgrades to the hotel, which include:
* Lift upgrade to all guest lifts (in progress)
* Major air conditioning upgrade (in progress - completion due mid July)
* Balcony table replacement (due to be completed mid June)
* Mattress & Base replacement (this is currently underway for the units that were not completed in 2011)
* Painting of guest rooms and corridors - quotes being sought.

I sincerely hope you will have the time to respond to then allow me the opportunity of dealing with specific information with our teams to address your concerns as we do with all guests.

While I appreciate you said you wouldn't return I hoipe you do in the future to see we do act on guest feedback for improvement.

Kind regards

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We got a great rate through wotif. The hotel is located only a short stroll from the beach. Our rooms had two double beds and the hotel decor is very minimalist and modern. The hotel has a roof top tennis court, gym and pool which are quite nice but the pool is open until 10pm but not very well lit. To be honest I found the hotel to be a bit cold and unwelcoming we were just another number! I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for families as the location is right near pubs & clubs and there were a lot of drunks walking around even in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here only one night. I wasnt expecting too much as I had read some bad reviews. The room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony. We had a smorgasbord breakfast included in our package and it was good with hot and cold choices. This hotel is very central and within easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Mall, shopping, restaurants, nightclubs etc. It is a no fuss motel. Dont expect concierge to come out and greet you when you arrive. Its not that sort of hotel. The price is the winner with this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfreakAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear JB90210

Many thanks for your review and be assured I will discuss with our teams to ensure you are not treated as a number, but a valued guest.

While I appreciate your comments about our proximity to pubs and clubs, a major draw card for some guests, we are also very conscious of security and making the hotel comfortable for all guests, including families and as such will ensure our security and management presence addresses any issues.

I certainly hope you will come back and stay with us again to see we have acted on your feedback.

Kind regards and many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We enjoyed our nights there, great location, friendly staffs, comfy bed, nice room, nice toilet, good breaki to start our day, what more can I ask for? Im sure there are a bit of downsides like TOOO cold swimming pool. eg; I was all excited to step in but it was SOOOO COLD i just sat there staring at the pool. HAHA.... But mehhhhh... positive outweigh negative so surely a WONDERFUL choice! If I have a chance, I'll surely be back here :D oh! another thing, try to get a upper floor when its e weekend. we were staying on the 8th and we could hear those drunks screaming away from outside or maybe its our unlucky day cause it was really noisy on sat!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamateletubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear iamateletubby,

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay and are thrilled to see our efforts with the room standards and quality are acknowledged, as well as breakfast quality. Our chefs are committed to providing quality food sources locally.

The comments on the friendly are a testament to the efforts our team members make and their commitment to customer service and I will ensure your feedback is provided to all team members.

We are currently in the process of addressing the pool heating with the Body Corporate and I will also ensure with our teams and security staff that we address where possible noise from the street.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This hotel is great value for money. Bedroom was clean and comfortable.The jaquizzi outside is lovely and heated however the pool was freezing cold and we could not swim in it which was the only downside of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear ZoeanLiam,

Please accept my sincerest thanks for your feedback on your recent stay, particularly about the bed and cleanliness.

We are working with the Body Corporate on the pool heating and replacement of heating unit.

We look forward to you returning to stay with us again

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger for 3 nights as part of a package deal which included daily breakfast,
a seafood buffet dinner, spa vouchers, free parking and a complimentary bottle of wine. We didn't use the spa service but the accommodation, food and service were all of a very high standard and managed to exceeded our expectations. The hotel is within easy walking distance to wide range of restaurants, pubs & clubs and our 17th floor room had great views all over the southern end of the Gold Coast. The Outrigger provided us with a great 3 day getaway and we would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Whitster04,

Many thanks for your post and comments about your stay with us. I am pleased to read your comments about the food as our Executive Chef and his team are committed to providing great quality, fresh local foods and I know his trips to the prawn trawlers support this.

Of great significance is your comment about exceeding your expectations and that is something we will continue to aim to achieve with all guests and your comments, as with all guest feedback will be communicated to our teams so they know how we are going

We look forward to your return trips and comments to ensure we continue to do all possible to provide great service and quality.

Many thanks


Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish décor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the à la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing