We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Beautiful hotel, great lobby and great service. Breakfast wasn't cheap, but was very plentiful with great options. One weird thing with the room was that there was a window from the room right into the shower. Couldn't figure that one out... Good location being just off the beach

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear JoshK.

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our chef will be happy to see you enjoyed the selection on the buffet as he and the team are continually working hard to ensure fresh varities are offered.

The window from the bathroom, although with ventian blinds fitted appears to have been a design quirk of the developers and their update of the property in 2005/6. We have some comments, both against and in favour, but the inclsuion of the blind provides privacy for guests

I look forward to future stays with us.

Many thanks

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    1,014
    513
    172
    125
See reviews for
703
915
141
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I tried to ignore the slow front desk staff, the long wait for the lift, there looked like there were 4 but only one seemed to be working. The room was adequate but I was a little disappointed. Small television and hard bed. The bed would have been more comfortable with a matress topper. The Pillows were comfy and there was a pillow menu, so that was good. There were no robes in the room and when I called downstairs I was told Housekeeping had gone home ???? It was 6pm ??? Someone found me a robe , don't ask me how !
Housekeeping were run off their feet with check outs so even though I requested my room be cleaned while I was out between 10 am and 2 pm when I returned it was still untouched. I called and asked again if it could be attended to and was told right away so I went out again for another long walk, after an hour returned, still not done. Finally a frazzled little cleaner tore in and rushed around and was out of face cloths . Poor thing I felt bad for her. Outrigger Management, put on more staff , if you are full cater for your guests !
Room service staff were nice but food so so average. We wanted to eat in and did two nights in a row. Vegetarian lasagne Cold and ordinary, home made? Don't make me laugh !, Club Sandwich soggy. Curry cooked to death and with black burnt bits, really not good at all. I won't be back. Shame because the location was great.
Clean up your act Outrigger Surfers Paradise, you're letting the team down !

Room Tip: For God sake choose a Delux room on a high floor like i did. Cant imagine how bad a standard would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notafusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Notafusspot,

My apologies that your stay was not up to standard and be assured these matters are being attended to. It is extremely unfortunate that while we are going through the major lift upgrade that we had one of the lifts yet to be upgraded also had a fault which impacted on guest movement. This has now been rectified and by end of November all lifts will have been completed.

I will address all matters of room service with the chef and his team.

I can advise that by the end of October the vast majority (400 rooms) of beds will have been replaced inclusive of pillow tops. We have also increased our Housekeeping team, but at times cannot always ensure maximum staff with sick leave and other unforeseen issues, but do all possible to meet our guest needs.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and I can assure you it is acted on.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagga wagga
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A big thank you to David Goliath , the Concierge at the Outrigger for his most helpful support in tracking the Gold Coast Shuttle Bus for me...He was very personable with excellent people skills and showed genuine concern and care.... I stayed three nights and found it an excellent , clean Hotel with impressive views and SO central to everything!! and only a minute walk to the beach..To watch the sun rise over the Pacific from the balcony was awsome!!

A very enjoyable stay....Thank you

Room Tip: Request a room with balcony and sea views...maybe a bit hot in summer as North facing but impressive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear CherieP

Many thanks for your feedback and comments on David and I have provided a copy of your comments to him. He is a good representation of our team. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your comments on location and continually commented on.

I think a recent comment ideally explains our location "One block from all that Surfers Paradise has to offer, without the chaos of being right in the middle of it". We are one block from the beach, entertainment centre of Surfers Paradise.

we look forward to you staying with us again.

Kind regards

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I've stayed here a few times and have had no problems. It's close enough to everything, yet far away enough to not have to walk out of the hotel into chaos.
Clean and comfortable and never had an issue with staff, or the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear kakkles.

I am thrilled you had a great stay and you are correct the location is brilliant. Just one block from all the entertainment and dining, but as you said not in the chaos.

We hope to have you stay with us again and do all possible to show you changes when you stay.

Kind regards and much mahalo (thanks in Hawaiian)

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have been travelling around Australia for over a year, and this place had worse service than most hostels I stayed at. My friend and I decided to splurge on a weekend stay at a hotel, and sorrily regretted it. Staff that clearly hate their jobs, bad food, and hard beds. The restaurant looked as though it was run by a bunch of kids, which is fine in an actual hostel. The saving grace is that it had nice views and a good location. If I return to Surfers, I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Have stayed here a few times when it was the Holiday Inn and have to say that I feel the standard has dropped from 4 star to 3 star since Outrigger have taken over. Location is first class, close to absolutely everything; the beach, shops and restaurants. Admittedly I booked on a Wotif special so had a basic room, but found noise levels from adjacent rooms and corridors really disturbing. Room cleanliness was OK, but not fantastic. Air conditioning was also set to too high a temperature and was stifling. Complained, but it wasn't fixed on my 2nd night. Room service menu is very limited. Having said all that, if you don't mind noise (or have kids of your own), then price is right and location perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels have less street noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Cazzy G,

Many thanks for your feedback. My apologies for the noise issues you encountered, and wish you had contacted reception and they would have addressed immediately. Can you please email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain your room number to determine why the air conditioning was not addressed when you called as we have maintenance staff and also trained concierge staff to address outside normal hours.

I sincerely hope that I hear from you to address, but aslo would hope that you come back to stay to experience true Outrigger hospitality.

Many thanks for taking the time to make us aware.

Kind regards

Grant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We used to frequently use this hotel when I was still the Holiday Inn, and wanted to book there again because of its facilities and convenience, but never again.

I struggled to get through to reservations and wanted to book 1 of 2 advertised specials only to be told that I couldnt book either. Eventually, after writing an email they offered me either deal. I took the cracker deal of $135 per night, with buy 1 get one free breakfast and free parking.

Upon check in, the service was poor from get go. I heard reception, them telling the customer infront of me that he had to pay for parking at $10 per day, yet all you have to do is show your hotel key to get in??

After check in we got our keys and were on level 16. We tried to get the AirCon to work but wasnt sure if it was or wasnt. After heading out for dinner and going back to our room, we found that the AC wasnt working. We struggled to get through to reception about the issue but eventually was told that someone would be up to have a look.

A staff member arrived to let us know what we knew already and that the AC was not working. We were told that we would get a room uprade and would be notified accordingly.

Concierge arrived with our new keys and said we would be going to one of their deluxe level, level 19. Upon getting to the room, there was nothing different. The bed were so uncomfortable, we hardly slept. Your could see the bathroom floor was filthy and there were stains around the toilet on the floor, which isnt surprising considering we have previously seen a room being cleaned while walking down the corridor and the cleaner was just using a used towel to wipe the bath down to make it look liked it had been cleaned. A room upgrade is not being moved to a higher level, to a room which is the same or even worse.

The next morning we went for the buffet breakfast, which was absolutely horrible. What did it for me was when my 3yr old said to me that she didnt want her piece of ham, which was meant to be a cooked piece of bacon. Selection was terrible and the quality of food was far below which the Holiday Inn used to provide. We didnt go back the next morning thats for sure.

Overall, it has gone downhill since Outrigger has taken over. Right from the service, to room presentation and food, and will probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne_Botha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freedom1james, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Wayne_Botha,

I am extremely disappointed to read your review, as this is neither the normal Outrigger standard nor one I would expect our team would accept. I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity of gaining additional information on your stay in regards to room and breakfast and would appreciate contact either via email Grant.James@outrigger.com.au or my direct number 07 55040623. I do have our Front Office Manager reviewing our shift logs as well to identify your room

I appreciate your comment about the car parking, but while you show you key to get in, on departure the car park (an independant business) will charge a guest. For the deal you booked, we arrange with the car park.

I will be discussing with our chefs the breakfast buffet, as the majority of feedback we gain is how the fresh produce and variety is great. Even our chefs that transitioned across from Holiday Inn have commented on the changes and how positive they are. In saying this, feedback is critical to our operation and meeting and exceeding our guest expectation and why it is so important to me that I receive additional information from you.

I look forward to receiving the additional information so I can take action and hopefully welcome you back in the future to see we do take notice and act.

Kind regards,

Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish decor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. Maintenance notice: The Mantra on View pool will undergo a refurbishment and repairs from 5 June until 21 June 2017 and then a further 2 weeks of decking work. The pool will be closed during this time. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. Mantra on View exterior building painting will begin June 5 2017 until the end of October 2017, depending on weather. Works include new repaint to the exterior from level 22 down to Porte Chochere including a refurbishment of balcony railings. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing