We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel.. Poor Internet for business purposes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good hotel.. Poor Internet for business purposes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Room available as booked, very stylish room with good sleep quality. Shower a little small with poor water pressure. If I had have been staying longer I would referred the matter to the hotel.

Location was good with great outlook, aircon worked well. All round high quality hotel experience. Better Internet would help for business stayers... Just not high speed

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear GregE


many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us and be assured I will pass on your comments to our Internet provider and ask them to do all possible to review speed both on hard wired and Wi-Fi systems.

We want to ensure we provide best speed possible for our business and conference guests.

Kind regards and we look forward to your future stays with us.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    916
    443
    155
    108
See reviews for
623
802
124
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. He called room service (probably too many times) and they were quick and just billed it to the room. Having the bar at the pool was super convenient and added a bit of fun as well.
The rooms were lovely but the outside is slightly outdated. Some work could be done to the out side of the building as well.

Staff were friendly and very helpful when our door key stopped working. Will defenatley stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buglettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Buglette,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay. The friendliness of our staff is a what can make such a positive difference to our guests, especially in an older building.

At present we have a number of significant projects underway, that include, complete guest room lock replacement with proximity readers for improved service and security, painting of guest floor corridors, finalisation of colour slection for guest room painting. we have also recently completed balcony furniture replacement and also at present have started our free to air and paid movie system upgrade.

Over the coming weeks we will also see the damage from the Australia Day storms rectified, with the tennis court, pool pergolas and restaurant terrace awnings all repaired.

We look forward to your return in the future so you can experience the changes and upgrades we are undertaking.

Again, sincere thanks for your feedback which is used to congratulate our teams and take action where required.

Kind regards,

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is in a good position, and was a good price. Unfortunately the room we were sent to had either not been made up, or was still occupied. We opened 'our' door to see unmade beds and a tray of food and wine. We beat a hasty retreat and were allocated another (upgraded) room. There is a glass window from the bedroom to the bathroom with little plastic louvres which don't allow much privacy. Odd.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozgrannysally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Ozgrannysally,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for going to a room that was not serviced. Unfortunately we had a system error that showed a small group of rooms as clean when they had not been serviced. This issue has now been rectified by our systems suppliers.

The shower window was a strange quirk of the developer and we are investigating options with the body corporate.

Our location is a treal plus, being one block from the beach and the entertainment centre of Surfers Paradise.

Again my apologies for the issues with the room on your arrival, my thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and I hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstville, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband, my son and myself spent last Friday to Sunday at this great hotel. We arrived very early and registered with very friendly staff and came back around 2pm to take our room. We parked our rental in their car park and proceeded up to our room on the 13th floor. 1319 facing to street and some beach views. Room was very big for the 3 adults. Fridge was great for our drinks, no mini bar. No worries we never use them. Internet was not free. Balcony was used by us and it made the room so much bigger having this extra space. Chairs and table provided and we noticed and ashtray for the smokers. Rooms were quite and only some street type noise on the Saturday night from party of young ones in the hotel, but closing the balcony door was enough to block it out for us to sleep.
Breakfast was included for our stay booked through Wotif. Breakfast where where we were unfortunate to only spend one day only was fantastic. Very large breakfast room was so nice.
Beds we comfy and bathroom large and toiletries provided we indeed lovely.
We did not get to the pool which looked lovely and it seemed that the tennis court looked run down from the 13th floor. I can only guess it was part of hotel.
Our room was not cleaned on the Saturday for reasons unknown to us. However a phone call to front desk this was fixed up immediately. Fresh towels, bins emptied and new toiletries provided once more.
There is a convenience store next door and alcohol shop in the street behind so very close. Check out was simple early Sunday morning just by popping key in box as you leave the lifts.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear CarolS

It was lovely to read you had a great weekend with your husband and son and that all was very good. I agree and believe our buffet breakfast is fantastic and know the Exec Chef and team are focused on provided variety with fresh local produce.

The lack of mini bars is process we continued from Holiday Inn and also due to the type of Liquor License we have. In saying this though we do offer mini bar options simply by calling room service.

The provision of the ashtray on the balcony is to allow people that smoke that service, but balcony only.

I will be passing on your review to our teams so the know their efforts are appreciated.

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had no idea what to expect from this hotel as it was the accommodation included in a prize holiday we won to the Gold Coast. We arrived in a hire car and found ample parking, especially on second level. Access to foyer was a little strange, as it was through a shopping mall that was closed, so carrying luggage was a little cumbersome. The foyer was large and included a dedicated concierge who could help with any information or bookings to theme parks etc. Not knowing the area, we went for a walk and quickly realised how close everything was ie fast food outlets, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, the beach, the Ripley's Believe or not attraction clubs, bars etc. The room on the 20th floor was very clean, bright, had fabulous views and was very comfortable for our 2 night stay. We had a king bed and it was exceptional. Our hire car was not really necessary, especially as the Avis lot was across the street. We could have just picked up the car there for our last day. We experienced shocking weather, but walking out through the disused shopping mall, made getting about easy. We would gladly stay here again based on proximity to beach, shops and restaurants, and standard of accommodation, and the availability of a dedicated help desk.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a king ocean view room, is inexpensive and well worth the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear fravs,

I am thrilled we exceeded your expectations with your prize win and sorry the weather was poor. I must admit the past 2 months hasn't been the best, but the past 2 week have seen a significant improvement and today was a nice 29 degrees.

Our concierge team are there to do all possible to help our guests with local information, bookings and support with luggage etc. Our location is brilliant, central Surfers Paradise and your right just a few hundred metres from Avis and Budget rent a car outlets.

I hope on your next trip to Surfers Paradise that you will stay with us again.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the now renamed Outrigger Hotel. This time we had a king suite room with views overlooking the pool, down to Cavill Ave and across to the beach - great location!!. The staff were friendly, room was clean, well appointed (except the mini bar - items had to be ordered if needed) and the bed was comfy. Since our last visit 3 years ago, the amenities though have not been maintained that well. The 2 tennis courts were not in use, one was being used to store rusty pipes, the pool had tiles missing off the bottom and sides and we could not access the gym. The sun shades around the pool area were hanging off in pieces and flapping around. We understand that the weather hasn't been that great there, but it doesn't take much to clean up, especially in areas that are going to be seen by hotel guests. The upside of the hotel is the location, which is great. We'll stay there again, but hope they look into tidying up their amenities so that guests can use them during their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Kylie 0570,

My apologies that a number of areas were not up to standard, but due to the significant damage from the Australia Day storms we have been unable to remove the shade sail covers near the pool and restaurant areas as insurance assessors have till not undertaken their review. This also includes one tennis court, but the second court on the southern side actually belongs to the shopping centre and we are trying to get the centre manager to address.

Be assured we are doing all possible to address the issues and as soon as the assessor has been all will be removed.

We look forward to your future visits so you can see action has been taken and that we are continually doing things to upgrade the property.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

this hotel is a great location and very close to Cavill Avenue. the room was very clean and beds very comfortable. Concierge was extremely helpful.

We only had 2 days in Surfers and the pool was closed half the day which was not the fault of the hotel (a guest had broken a glass in the area). I would put security on the pool area so if someone does this they are either stopped from entering the pool or charged a large fine).

Room Tip: take a higher floor so you don't hear the noise of people on the street heading to Cavill Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Lisa338,

Many thanks for your comments re your recent stay and we are looking at options for the pool, as the broken glass unfortunately came from a balcony. The behavior of the vast majority of guests is brilliant and this incident did impact on our guests.

I will pass on your comments to our concierge team as our staff attitudes it what makes the biggest impact.

I sincerely hope we have you stay with us again.

Many thanks

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish décor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the à la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing