We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views and right in the centre of Surfers Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I decided to make a late booking at the Outrigger, and booked a room via Agoda.
When i got to check in, it seemed as though no one was interested in actually making contact with me, so i stood at the desk for about 10 mins till finally someone asked if they could help me.
After finaly been able to check in - i was allocated a room, but to my disappointment - upon entering the room, what hit me first was musty damp smell. So i turned on the lights to my room, took off my shoes - and proceeded to walk o the beds. To my dismay - the carpet was absolutely sopping wet. It seemed that not one of the cleaners from the previous guests had noticed that the carpet around the bathroom was wet - and so i got allocated the room.
After going back down to check in - and trying to explain the situation, i was given a new room - but no apologise or anything for the screw up.
My New room was much better (well, in the fact it had dry carpet) - but the TV wouldn't work - and after ringing reception and them saying they will send someone up, it took them roughly an hour before they called back to tell me i had to switch the settings on the tv to get normal TV channels.

Anyways - after the above, i was finally able to relax and enjoy the room.
The veranda overlooked the north of Surfers paradise (absolutely amazing at night), and also a slight view to the beach!

Unfortunately, i wasn't able to sleep in in the morning - due to loud road works happening on the gold coast h/way due to the light rail works, and also some crane working in the carpark directly across the road from the hotel. This has nothing to do with the hotel - but just a warning for those that are coming to stay that wish to get a good sleep in.

All in all, a decent hotel - but something needs to be done with the room cleaning, and also the manner in which customers are treated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psyvolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Psyvolt,

Firstly, please accept my sincerest apologies for the lack of customer service you received on check in and with the issues you faced. This is unacceptable and will be addressed with the front desk managment team and our guest service agents.

I would appreciate you emailing me at Grant.James@outrigger.com.au with your dates of stay and guest name so I can personally follow this matter through.

I also appreciate your comments re the light rail and hopfully impacts on the hotel will be concluded by end of April.

Again my apologies and I sincerely hope you will come back and stay with us again to see the service issues you experienced are not the normal standard at Outrigger.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,800)
There are newer reviews for Mantra on View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,484 - 2,490 of 2,800 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Room available as booked, very stylish room with good sleep quality. Shower a little small with poor water pressure. If I had have been staying longer I would referred the matter to the hotel.

Location was good with great outlook, aircon worked well. All round high quality hotel experience. Better Internet would help for business stayers... Just not high speed

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2013

Dear GregE


many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us and be assured I will pass on your comments to our Internet provider and ask them to do all possible to review speed both on hard wired and Wi-Fi systems.

We want to ensure we provide best speed possible for our business and conference guests.

Kind regards and we look forward to your future stays with us.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was great. He called room service (probably too many times) and they were quick and just billed it to the room. Having the bar at the pool was super convenient and added a bit of fun as well.
The rooms were lovely but the outside is slightly outdated. Some work could be done to the out side of the building as well.

Staff were friendly and very helpful when our door key stopped working. Will defenatley stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buglettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Buglette,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay. The friendliness of our staff is a what can make such a positive difference to our guests, especially in an older building.

At present we have a number of significant projects underway, that include, complete guest room lock replacement with proximity readers for improved service and security, painting of guest floor corridors, finalisation of colour slection for guest room painting. we have also recently completed balcony furniture replacement and also at present have started our free to air and paid movie system upgrade.

Over the coming weeks we will also see the damage from the Australia Day storms rectified, with the tennis court, pool pergolas and restaurant terrace awnings all repaired.

We look forward to your return in the future so you can experience the changes and upgrades we are undertaking.

Again, sincere thanks for your feedback which is used to congratulate our teams and take action where required.

Kind regards,

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is in a good position, and was a good price. Unfortunately the room we were sent to had either not been made up, or was still occupied. We opened 'our' door to see unmade beds and a tray of food and wine. We beat a hasty retreat and were allocated another (upgraded) room. There is a glass window from the bedroom to the bathroom with little plastic louvres which don't allow much privacy. Odd.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozgrannysally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Ozgrannysally,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for going to a room that was not serviced. Unfortunately we had a system error that showed a small group of rooms as clean when they had not been serviced. This issue has now been rectified by our systems suppliers.

The shower window was a strange quirk of the developer and we are investigating options with the body corporate.

Our location is a treal plus, being one block from the beach and the entertainment centre of Surfers Paradise.

Again my apologies for the issues with the room on your arrival, my thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and I hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband, my son and myself spent last Friday to Sunday at this great hotel. We arrived very early and registered with very friendly staff and came back around 2pm to take our room. We parked our rental in their car park and proceeded up to our room on the 13th floor. 1319 facing to street and some beach views. Room was very big for the 3 adults. Fridge was great for our drinks, no mini bar. No worries we never use them. Internet was not free. Balcony was used by us and it made the room so much bigger having this extra space. Chairs and table provided and we noticed and ashtray for the smokers. Rooms were quite and only some street type noise on the Saturday night from party of young ones in the hotel, but closing the balcony door was enough to block it out for us to sleep.
Breakfast was included for our stay booked through Wotif. Breakfast where where we were unfortunate to only spend one day only was fantastic. Very large breakfast room was so nice.
Beds we comfy and bathroom large and toiletries provided we indeed lovely.
We did not get to the pool which looked lovely and it seemed that the tennis court looked run down from the 13th floor. I can only guess it was part of hotel.
Our room was not cleaned on the Saturday for reasons unknown to us. However a phone call to front desk this was fixed up immediately. Fresh towels, bins emptied and new toiletries provided once more.
There is a convenience store next door and alcohol shop in the street behind so very close. Check out was simple early Sunday morning just by popping key in box as you leave the lifts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear CarolS

It was lovely to read you had a great weekend with your husband and son and that all was very good. I agree and believe our buffet breakfast is fantastic and know the Exec Chef and team are focused on provided variety with fresh local produce.

The lack of mini bars is process we continued from Holiday Inn and also due to the type of Liquor License we have. In saying this though we do offer mini bar options simply by calling room service.

The provision of the ashtray on the balcony is to allow people that smoke that service, but balcony only.

I will be passing on your review to our teams so the know their efforts are appreciated.

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had no idea what to expect from this hotel as it was the accommodation included in a prize holiday we won to the Gold Coast. We arrived in a hire car and found ample parking, especially on second level. Access to foyer was a little strange, as it was through a shopping mall that was closed, so carrying luggage was a little cumbersome. The foyer was large and included a dedicated concierge who could help with any information or bookings to theme parks etc. Not knowing the area, we went for a walk and quickly realised how close everything was ie fast food outlets, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, the beach, the Ripley's Believe or not attraction clubs, bars etc. The room on the 20th floor was very clean, bright, had fabulous views and was very comfortable for our 2 night stay. We had a king bed and it was exceptional. Our hire car was not really necessary, especially as the Avis lot was across the street. We could have just picked up the car there for our last day. We experienced shocking weather, but walking out through the disused shopping mall, made getting about easy. We would gladly stay here again based on proximity to beach, shops and restaurants, and standard of accommodation, and the availability of a dedicated help desk.

Room Tip: An upgrade to a king ocean view room, is inexpensive and well worth the great views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear fravs,

I am thrilled we exceeded your expectations with your prize win and sorry the weather was poor. I must admit the past 2 months hasn't been the best, but the past 2 week have seen a significant improvement and today was a nice 29 degrees.

Our concierge team are there to do all possible to help our guests with local information, bookings and support with luggage etc. Our location is brilliant, central Surfers Paradise and your right just a few hundred metres from Avis and Budget rent a car outlets.

I hope on your next trip to Surfers Paradise that you will stay with us again.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback and kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the now renamed Outrigger Hotel. This time we had a king suite room with views overlooking the pool, down to Cavill Ave and across to the beach - great location!!. The staff were friendly, room was clean, well appointed (except the mini bar - items had to be ordered if needed) and the bed was comfy. Since our last visit 3 years ago, the amenities though have not been maintained that well. The 2 tennis courts were not in use, one was being used to store rusty pipes, the pool had tiles missing off the bottom and sides and we could not access the gym. The sun shades around the pool area were hanging off in pieces and flapping around. We understand that the weather hasn't been that great there, but it doesn't take much to clean up, especially in areas that are going to be seen by hotel guests. The upside of the hotel is the location, which is great. We'll stay there again, but hope they look into tidying up their amenities so that guests can use them during their stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylie0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Kylie 0570,

My apologies that a number of areas were not up to standard, but due to the significant damage from the Australia Day storms we have been unable to remove the shade sail covers near the pool and restaurant areas as insurance assessors have till not undertaken their review. This also includes one tennis court, but the second court on the southern side actually belongs to the shopping centre and we are trying to get the centre manager to address.

Be assured we are doing all possible to address the issues and as soon as the assessor has been all will be removed.

We look forward to your future visits so you can see action has been taken and that we are continually doing things to upgrade the property.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager Australia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Address: 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £74 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation you can choose from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Fantastic amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool, fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon, conference rooms and an on site Restaurant - NOSH Pan Asian, which offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Mantra on View Hotel is also one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. whatever the reason for your stay, you will have an memorable time at Mantra on View Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing