We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The check in girl made us feel very welcome. She immediately upgraded us to the top floor in a lovely ocean view room. Our original booking was for ocean view but not in this amazing category. Great ocean views. A quick walk to the beach and shops. Room service food and service was perfect. Swimming pools and spa were great. The gym looked amazing with state of the art gear (all a bit too serious for me) We were with a group of authors and the Wifi charging caught everyone a bit off guard. I had broadband but most got caught with fairly high fees. Drop the Wifi fees Outrigger. Even Maccas give you that for free. The only other issue is that if you have a car and use their car park, you will have problems dragging your luggage up a very small lift and then a flight of stairs to reception. The alternative is a very long walk through a deserted shopping centre. Overall however, a great hotel in a great location and well worth the money.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear DrewBoySydney.

I am thrilled you had such a great stay with us and really appreciate the comment about our Guest Service gent. Our staff can make such a positive difference to your stay and I know they really aim to do that. Location is a real benefit for most of our guests, 1 block from the beach and the centre of Surfers Paradise and only across the corner a station for when the light rail starts.

I will be sure to pass onto our Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Operations Manager and teams you great comments on room service, "food and service was perfect".

Swimming pools and spa were great, is thanks to a full upgrade of all operational equipment, replacement of all pool furniture and umbrellas and by mid May all internal pool tiling will have been repaired. Apologies re the Wi-Fi and have asked our provider to review rates, while we also investigate provision of free Wi-Fi, although costs to upgrade are extensive due to age of building - but we are seriously investigating.

Re the car park, I agree that it can be frustrating, but I would ask ALL guests to please park in our entry (Porte Cochere) and have concierge assist with your bags and then park the car. We have asked the owners of the car park to upgrade lift etc. , but still ask that our guests drop luggage at lobby first.

My sincerest thanks for your very positive feedback which s shared with team members to improve, enhance and make changes to our services and products, but also to recognise great performance.

We look forward to you future visits with us.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    1,075
    536
    179
    131
See reviews for
748
958
161
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Cannot believe the reviews on this place! The outrigger is perfect! The location is exactly what you want, 5 minute walk to Cavill Avenue, 1 minute walk to beach, 5 minute walk to the bus stop to get to the theme parks and the airport. The rooms were great, all you need. And what a view! 1 block away from the shore. The service was amazing, always helping or offering to help. Lovely pool with perfect temperature water. Cheap as chips for something so amazing! We half expected it to be pretty dodgy but not at all!
The only downside was that there was a charge for Wifi. First world problem but I can't believe in this day and age WiFi isn't available to all those staying.
Honestly if you want an amazing hotel with everything down to a tee that is fit for a king, stay somewhere like Broadbeach. If you're after a great hotel with everything that you need in a perfect location, look no further.

Room Tip: Pay the tiny bit extra for a beach view, worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tms037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear tms037,

Great feedback such as yours, as with all feedback will be shared with our teams, but I also acknowledge that every piece of feedback we receive is used with our teams to review,, improve and acknowledge. The feedback provided also support change as with your comment on Wi-Fi. We are currently investigating Wi-Fi systems that will allow free Wi-Fi, and while we would love to do tomorrow, the age of this building requires some significant infrastructure changes to facilitate. However in saying this, other feedback as resulted in a significant pool area upgrade, all new pool furniture (completed), umbrellas and pool bar upgrade and the internal tiling to be finished over the coming 4 weeks. All guests floor corridors are currently being upgraded with new paint and new carpet (this project to be finished mid May). We continue our Guest room painting project, conference room upgrades over the coming 3 months. We have also engaged Interior Designers to look at future room and food and beverage area upgrades.

We look forward to your future stays with us, especially as we head to winter and the colder months (I'm originally from Melbourne).

Sincerest thanks and be assured your comments as all guest feedback will be shared with our team members.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel is all show and flash but rather disappointing. Staff are indifferent and rude. Nothing we ordered ever worked. Meals are not cheap at all at this hotel. The worst part about this hotel was that it was in Surfer’s Paradise, something, to be fair, I should have researched. There are way too many drunk people around, on the streets and in the hotel! It also seems like the hotel seems to let these drunks misbehave all they want in the facilities, even if it affects others. This place is too expensive for what it is. If you are party goer, maybe this for you.Most certainly not for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear BlakeC,

It would be sincerely appreciated if you would email me on Grant.James@outrigger.com.au so I can obtain information on who was rude, as this is neither acceptable or the normal Outrigger standard. To address as with the items not working, I would appreciate the additional information.

Your comments "The worst part about this hotel was that it was in Surfer’s Paradise, something, to be fair, I should have researched", is correct, with us being one block from the beach and the entertainment hub. While we cannot control "There are way too many drunk people around, on the streets", we can certainly control in the hotel, with managers on duty 24/7 and security staff either on site or very quickly accessible. We do not tolerate bad behavior and once this is reported to our team members, immediate corrective action is taken.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to see we act on valuable feedback provided to us.

I really hope you will email me so I can address, particularly when we have so many great staff the provide friendly, helpful service as reported in so many of our guest reviews.

Kind regards and many thanks for taking the time to provide a review that will support our improvements.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Its location is spot on, coupled with very clean rooms & friendly staff. Good view of the beach. Love sitting out in the balcony and enjoying the view. Its like a 3min walk to the Esplanade. Ample parking.

Complains: payable WiFi

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear GaryC,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. These reviews are critical to our operation, in addressing issues, recommendations for enhancements and also very importantly acknowledging things that are done really well.

Of paramount importance to us, is the friendly staff, as they make a difference to people stays. The clean rooms is a minimum and currently we are also undertaking some upgrade works, with all guest corridors being re-carpeted (completion my mid May), remaining 9 floor corridors painted, guest rooms being painted and pool upgrades (all to be finished by mid May).

Location is a real bonus for most people, only 1 block from the beach and entertainment center of Surfers, and with the Light Rail "coming soon" we see our location as even more beneficial to guests.

I note you are from Singapore, but we look forward to your future stays with us, especially with the Scoot flight details.

Kind regards and many thanks.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan City, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here as a birthday treat for me and my boyfriend as we have our birthdays close together. Before we arrived we rung up and wanted to know a question and a lady named Lesley answerd then hung up straight away so we called back and she heard our voice again and hung up once again, so we called one more time we called and we had no answer, she was very rude. Anyways we get checked into our room quickly and was amazed on how beautiful the room was, we payed for a city view king and we could see not only the city but also the ocean which was beautiful. So everything was good. Room service is a bit expensive, $19.50 for a kids meal? We had breakfest also the next day and all the food was cold, then we booked the 24 hour movie service and it didnt work so we had no movies only tv. Overall everything looked beautiful but service was bad and food wasnt very great.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaliaWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear TaliaWalkerr1

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues with Lesley, and be assured I am dealing with this personally on her return from days off. This is neither acceptable nor the normal standard of service, especially with our focus on guest service through our Service Perceptions and Expectations training.

I continue to address all our surveys and the majority of reviews comment on the friendly and helpful nature of the employees, which is critical to our success and the comfort of our guests. We are currently reviewing our room service menu with a focus on family friendly menus and pricing.

I sincerely hope you will stay with us again to see these matters have been addressed, particularly the employee attitude and that we act on our guest feedback. With the changes to the property, new guests corridor carpet, painting of corridors, pool area renovation and room painting, we want both our facilities and service to be A1 for our guests.

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kind regards

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger Surfer paradise hotel on Friday 14th March for one night. We were doing a trip around Queensland, for our honeymoon/considering if Queensland maybe a place to move to. We had already stayed a night in Noose, and were planning to continue onto Brisbane after the Gold coast. Entrance to hotel was beautiful, with easy accessible parking. Hotel staff at reception were absolutely lovely and the lady who greeted us (I wish I could remember her name, started with a A) was wonderful, she had upgraded us to a suite on the 20th floor as it was our honey moon. We were over the moon. Beautiful room with stunning views. Bed was comfortable and location could not be more ideal. We just wished we could have stayed longer. We would love to return here on our next visit. Outrigger was beyond our expectations and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher the better, views are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binaca1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Binaca1986,

It was great to read your review this morning and I will ensure I thanks Allana for her making your honeymoon that extra special.

The views of Surfers Paradise beach can be really spectacular and our location is a real positive. We continue to undertake upgrades of the hotel with us recommencing the painting of guest floor corridors, and all 18 guest floors to be re-carpeted over the coming 3 - 4 months, starting next week. Room painting continues and the pool area furniture replacement is now complete, with internal pool tiling to be completed next month.

We look forward to your return visits and I sincerely appreciate your recommendation.

Kind regards and sincere thanks for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.

Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a lovely surprise this hotel turned out to be...great location, comfortable and well-presented rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Also, unlike so many hotels on the Gold Coast (which are 2 nights minimum), it is available for an overnight stay which is what we needed.
Would definitely recommend it (in fact, I already have!).

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerSPGM, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear PatriciaS

It is always great to read positive reviews, but more so when our staff make a difference and I know they are focussed on providing friendly helpful service.

The changes to the hotel with corridor and room painting continue and in the coming weeks we will start to also replace the carpet in all guest floor corridors and by June also upgraded conference rooms.

The pool area is nearly finished with only the internal tiling to be done in late April. All pool furniture now fully replaced and new spa blower and all pool pumps etc upgraded. In April\/May we will also complete more airconditioning upgrades.


I also appreciate and thank you for your recommendation of the hotel and we look forward to your future stays with us.

Kind regards


Grant

Grant S James
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish decor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. Maintenance notice: The Mantra on View pool will undergo a refurbishment and repairs from 5 June until 21 June 2017 and then a further 2 weeks of decking work. The pool will be closed during this time. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. Mantra on View exterior building painting will begin June 5 2017 until the end of October 2017, depending on weather. Works include new repaint to the exterior from level 22 down to Porte Chochere including a refurbishment of balcony railings. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing