We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surfers favourite, but might have a rethink next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Surfers favourite, but might have a rethink next time.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stay at the Outrigger - this time we stayed for 4 nights to celebrate my husbands birthday and have some winter sun. The reason why we come back is that the hotel is in a great location, the rooms are always clean, beds comfy and rooms have great views over the ocean.
This time around we were a little disappointed to find out on arrival that the hotel was undergoing major air conditioning change over and that we would have limited fan/heat (no cooling) operating for the entire duration of our stay - I had booked directly with the hotel (in advance) and nothing was said at the time of my booking. We had a few times where there was no air at all (fan/heat or cool) and then a capacitor in our room unit blew up, which put an electrical burning smell through our room. Luckily the air con contractors were on site at the time.
Another disappointment was the lighting in the rooms - I know some people might like 'mood' lighting, but our loungeroom area only had a small floor lamp and even smaller table lamp which made it almost impossible to read or see anything at night. We were given another floor lamp to increase the lightning - slightly - but it was still quiet dull at night. Perhaps the hotel could add some wall lights into their rooms to increase the lighthing for those of us who like it a bit brighter.
On the positive side, the hotel management (Katie) and staff were very accommodating and did attend to our issues quite quickly. We were given free breakfast on one day and late checkout.
Although this hotel is a favourite for us, we may rethink staying at the Outrigger next time we visit Surfers.

Room Tip: Rooms on southern side have great ocean views and look over towards Cavill Avenue and out to the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kylie0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    953
    471
    164
    115
See reviews for
665
836
129
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This isn't the best hotel in surfers but for $130-$150 a night it's a good deal for the price. I've stayed here twice now - the first time on new years eve & the second last weekend and will stay again when on a budget. The rooms are spacious enough, the beds comfortable & the hotel is in a good location. Haven't eaten at the restaurant but just around the corner the Clock Hotel has really good pub food at good prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelliAnneMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Outrigger is a Gold Coast icon, and appears to have undergone some recent renovations, and is now a very good hotel. Dining is first class, and location ideal, just 100 metres from Surfers Paradise Beach, and 1 block from the main retail & restaurant precinct.

Room Tip: We stayed in a high-level ocean view suite, which we'd recommend, providing more room, and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Returned from my recent stay here and found the hotel to be of high quality. Rooms are modern and we had quite a nice ocean view from the 14th level. The position is one of the best qualities of this hotel, being a 5 min walk to cavill ave yet far enough away to avoid the noise from there. Check in was fast and pleasant .
Car parking was an extra $8 on top of the room rack rate which I believe is a new charge.

Room Tip: High floors will get the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromCaloundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were very a little nervous to stay here, it was a mystery deal, and they're always a gamble but we've had some great stays with them. This hotel upon revealing the identity had had some worrying feedback but we were pleasantly surprised. 18th floor and views of the ocean, it was great. Staff were friendly and efficient. We loved walking on the beach @ 7am as did lots if other people. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaMoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Not only is the Outrigger a good location in Surfers Paradise, but the hotel itself made for a nice stay. The large lobby is welcoming and situated just off of the Esplanade. The staff (concierge and front desk) were knowledgable, polite, and helpful. The rooms were modern and clean, and the balconies provided amazing views of the city and the sea. One of the hotel highlights is the breakfast which is large enough to cater to any taste. We enjoyed our four day stay very much and I would certainly come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After reading a few unfavorable reviews on TA about this hotel leading up to our stay which made me a bit nervous, however we had a really good stay at the Outrigger.

We were on the Gold Coast for the a GC Marathon event and stayed there the Friday night. While you can tell it's an older building, the lobby and our room were very well fit out. The mirrored wall and window through to the bathroom were nice design additions. We were on the floor with a view over the city and ocean and if it weren't winter we would have spent more time on the balcony. The beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room in the bathroom.

The staff kindly called us the day prior to advise that there would be a traffic in the area because of the marathon and that their carpark lift was out of action. There was a little bit of confusion with the staff in the carpark but this was worked through quickly.

The shower takes a bit of tinkering to get the right pressure and temperature (it was an all or nothing kinda shower head) but not a major concern.

The staff were lovely and we were provided with details on how to check out 'express' as well as a 2-4-1 breakfast voucher, we didn't use it but it was appreciated.

Overall a good location with a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katiekatie119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: Ana Hotel 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish décor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the à la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing