We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We were put on a non smoking floor and unfortunately in the hallways all you could smell was cigarettes, however this smell did not come into our rooms so it wasn't worthy of complaining about. The gym is great for a hotel gym and unfortunately due to the wet weather we weren't able to use the other facilities (pool, spa, tennis courts etc). We ate at the Deja View restaurant on the Saturday night for the seafood buffet. This was quite disappointing. The quality of food was nice however for a buffet that charges $60pp, there was VERY limited variety. The staff were lovely and we got a free bottle of wine with dinner so overall the night was lovely regardless of the lack of meals provided within the buffet. As a returning customer to the Outrigger I would always recommend to friends to stay here as it is central, nice and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieU123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    757
    1,050
    524
    175
    131
See reviews for
732
936
150
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked this stay for a conference being held there, I phoned to take an extra day before the conference and was given a special rate for the extra stay, staff over the phone were really good and helpful.
On arrival I was met by Katie at the front desk, she was friendly and happy to help with anything I needed, check in was fast and painless, over the period of my stay Katie was a fabulous representative for the outrigger hotel group.
the room was large and comfortable, everything was there that you would need for the stay. the bed was a king and comfortable and there was no noise from outside the room, which made for a quiet sleep.

Breakfast is a buffet style affair, not a lot of variety but good for me, all the basics were there, I'm not sure it is worth the $40 normally paid, but for the package I was on it was worth the $20 a day.
The location is great and you can walk to many shops and restaurants and the beach is only 100m away, the bus stops at the front of the hotel and there is the new Train stop only 50m away so you can head anywhere on the coast.

Parking is a little disappointing, there is no parking on site and you have to park next door in a public car park, the hotel can book the parking to the room (for $8.00 a day) and you can pay at the end of the stay, however; the sign at the car park says that it is only $5.00 a day to park????
(and the gates were broken, so you would not have had to pay anyway)

Conference facilities were very good, once we got the sound sorted out and the morning and afternoon teas were also very good.

Overall: a good place to stay and have a conference. Great staff across the board and great location.
You can get a feed cheaper down the road.
I would stay again no worries.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had booked to stay at the Outrigger, to attend a conference and fishing charter. Unfortunately at late notice both were cancelled (the fishing charter on the day). I had booked via booking.com and was aware of the 100% cancellation policy at such late notice. I called the hotel to see if I could at least look at a credit or a reduced cancellation fee. I was advised by the hotel to call booking.com which I did, I spoke to a lovely lady at booking.com, who said they needed to speak to the hotel to see what could be done as it was the hotels decision. She did so and advised it would be the full cost. I understand that it was unlikely I would not have to pay a full cancelation. However I don't understand why the hotel did not just tell me this when I called given all I ended up doing was calling booking.com to have them call the hotel to get an answer the hotel could have given me.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, General Manager at Mantra on View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Jamie T,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking at the Outrigger Surfers Paradise I do apologise for the issue you had regarding your request for a refund ,or reduced cancellation fee. However, the procedure advised to you was the correct one. As we received the booking from Booking.com , as the agent,any changes to the booking, or requests for cancellation or refunds need to be made between the booking agency and the Hotel, not directly between the Hotel and the guest. Once we receive the request from the agent,the reply is then sent to booking .com who have then advised you.
Again, I do apologise if this has inconvenienced you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking with agoda we scored ourselves a great deal ($105 on a Friday night) For a twin room with city views. Service and check in was fast the room was nice with its city views and the room service was quick ordered a pizza and that was ok. Express check out and $8 parking we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hungryhippo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Checked out the online deals for the Outrigger, gave them a call and asked for a king room at the same rate as the online price. No problem. We were around the corner when I called. We went in and there was a problem with the room so they upgraded us with no fuss whatsoever. We had room 2004 which had ocean views as well as the river and pretty much all of the main part of Surfers Paradise. The views both day and night were amazing. The room was clean & well appointed. We had been told they were doing renovations and it really could have done with a bit of a freshen up. There were a couple of small things that could have been improved (none of which were huge problems) we had an interconnecting room and the people next door came home in the middle of the night and made a fair bit of noise which sounded like they were in our room. There was a window panel in the bathroom which had blinds on the outside of them, I found this a bit strange...wouldn't you have them on the inside? And they just didn't seem to close properly. The room was quite hot through the night and we couldn't get the air conditioner to run at a good temperature, we ended up opening the door up and that cooled things down. All of the staff were really friendly and really helpful, nothing was a problem to them. The location was absolutely ideal. There was a bus stop around the corner as well as cafes, shops and pubs. It was literally a 2 minute walk to the beach. We looked at a few places online and their locations and honestly the Outrigger was the best location and value for money that we found. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Attending a family birthday on the coast and had difficulty finding any place that would accept 1 night stays outside of the over-priced large hotel chains. Through a friend we came across the Outrigger - It was fantastic, well priced, clean rooms, great views and you couldn't ask for a better location, right in the heart of Surfers.

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View - Well worth the extra few $ If you have a 4WD watch the car-park closely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazngav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the outrigger from the 16th till the 19th August viewes were amazing from 15th floor and was great value for money staff were great and friendly and the cleanliness of the place was amazing

The glass wall in our shower did however have a leek ( maybe the silicone needs re doing)

Close to the team which is so quick and easy to use and a nice 5 min pleasant stroll to cavil av / orchid av

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,658 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on View Hotel

Property: Mantra on View Hotel
Address: 22 View Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Surfers Paradise)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on View Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in View Avenue, just up from the Esplanade, Mantra on View Hotel is a great choice in Surfers Paradise accommodation for pleasure seekers, corporate travellers, and events such as wedding and banquets. The modern and stylish decor gives a feeling of spaciousness throughout and you can choose from a variety of accommodation styles from the City View Twin Suite right through to the Ocean View Spa suite. All have private balconies, wonderful Gold Coast views, high speed internet, cable TV and super-comfy beds. Outside your suite you'll find great amenities like the resort-style pool and children's pool. The fully equipped gymnasium, tennis courts and an excellent restaurant on site - NOSH Pan Asian offers a daily buffet breakfast with traditional favourites including cereals, pastries, tropical fresh fruits and hot meals prepared in our open kitchen, it's the a la carte lunch and dinner menu where NOSH Pan Asian gets decidedly exotic. Featuring authentically prepared specialties from a variety of regions across Asia, it's a serious spread of diverse offerings. There are a great many exciting things to do on the Gold Coast and you are very close to a great choice of these. There's excellent shopping to be had, theme parks, long stretches of sandy Gold Coast beaches and an excellent variety of restaurants and bars. If you really feel like spoiling yourself visit the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon where pampering is the order of the day with a range of soothing massages and treatments. Mantra on View Hotel is a very popular choice for business with nine conference rooms in all, catering for small meetings through to large banquets or perhaps a seminar for up to 600 delegates. Planning a Gold Coast wedding? Mantra on View Hotel is one of the best wedding venues on the Gold Coast. The wedding team can help you choose from one of the beautiful celebration venues and for the ceremony itself there is also a number of romantic choices from beach to poolside. Preparing for your big day is also no hassle at Mantra on View Hotel, with the Ocean Day Spa and Hair Salon there to take care of everything. Maintenance notice: The Mantra on View pool will undergo a refurbishment and repairs from 5 June until 21 June 2017 and then a further 2 weeks of decking work. The pool will be closed during this time. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. Mantra on View exterior building painting will begin June 5 2017 until the end of October 2017, depending on weather. Works include new repaint to the exterior from level 22 down to Porte Chochere including a refurbishment of balcony railings. Works will happen Monday to Friday approximately 7am to 3pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Holiday Inn Surfers Paradise
Surfers Paradise Holiday Inn
Mantra On View Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing