We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just across the road is Cavill Ave with many shops and restaurants. The beach is also just down the road. 

If you are a light sleeper, don't get the room facing the main road as you can hear the traffic quite loudly. In saying that, I don't know how much better the river view rooms were since I didn't stay in them. 

The room was comfortable enough as long as you are not expecting too much. The shampoo and conditioner bottles were half empty when we first arrived but the next day, house keeping gave us extra bottles so that was alright. Our king bed was actually made up of 2 single beds joined together. The room was spacious. There were not many electrical sockets around. I couldn't find any easily accessible ones near the bed. 

The service ranged depending on who you got. The first hotel receptionist just stared at me when I first went to check in. There was no greeting at all. He spoke politely enough I guess. The guy who spoke to when I checked out was much friendlier and warmer. 

Carpark is $8 per night. Just be aware that you may get double parked as the carpark is very small. The hotel staff will move any cars that are double parking other cars but it can be troublesome. 

If you are just looking for a hotel in a good location and you don't need anything fancy, I would recommend the Vibe Hotel. 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear C A,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In regards to the issues you have pointed out. I have taken on board your comments about the service, mini bar and housekeeping, and have shared the feedback with each of the departments to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you for providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. I would like to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast when you are next in Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    1,116
    631
    252
    181
See reviews for
502
1,244
208
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The Vibe was central and came recommended, so my partner and I decided to stay here for 4 nights during a visit to the Gold Coast.

The staff were very friendly, but we were unimpressed with the room. The decor was dated, some of the furniture was mouldy, and the bed was very hard and uncomfortable.

A pool was advertised but we found it to be very small and crowded, so didn't end up using it at all.

I feel this hotel is overpriced for what it is, and won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Matt A,

I would like to thank you for providing this feedback, as it's always nice to read how wonderful the Front Desk staff are.

If you would like to discuss the rooms in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

We would like to welcome you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast when you are next in Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Vibe is what you would expect from you average hotel and is priced accordingly, it is nothing too fancy and although the rooms are clean they need some attention to detail and the hotel is quite old..The staff were just awesome on check in but a real let down on check out when they tried to overcharge me, overall a pleasant trip and i love the gold coast so hardly spend any time in the room, this place offers good value and is in a GREAT location near to the main bus stop and a short walk to everything!

Room Tip: high level room with a lake view as it is quieter and much nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you Nick255103 for your recent feedback on trip advisor, we at the Vibe Gold Coast regard any feedback as good feedback because if we don’t know how our guest experience was during their stay we cannot improve.

It is also great to hear that our staff were helpful and that the hotel offers good value and is in a great location, close to everything one needs when holidaying on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was reasonable quiet considering location, rooms were clean and we had plenty of room.

The bed gave us a good nights sleep, and the breakfast buffet was very good for the price.
Parking onsite was only $8.00 per day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you just_brisbane for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing great news.

I'm very glad you enjoyed your bed and the great parking prices!

Kind regards,
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed for 6 nights for a business trip. My room was very modern with a lovely view on a high floor overlooking the river. The room was spotless, King size bed very comfortable and shower excellent. My compliments also to the chef - I had room service meals several times - both from the healthy and the standard menu. The food was top notch with a great wine selection. The location was fantastic close to shops and the esplanade. I was so impressed I have already booked again for my next work trip in a few weeks.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the river was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear finsavvy,

The team at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you would stay with us again on your next visit, please feel free to book with us directly next time you travel to Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Currently staying at this hotel on a 4 day short break with my daughter. Requested a room with 2 King Singles as she is very tall.
What we got is a tiny room with 2 regular single beds that were not even made up, the sheets were on and the quilt was just sitting on the end of the beds. It is now 2.30pm next day and our room had still not been serviced.We have a balcony with only 1 chair that faces the street. Our room is on the 10th floor and very noisey even with the door shut you can still hear traffic noises and commotion going on in the street late at night. Also didn't enjoy being woken up by what sounded like the garbage truck at 5.30am! The location is good as its close to bus stop, Cavill Ave and Beach but I have stayed in so many better hotels than this and no way does it deserve a 4 Star rating..Very basic hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMN1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Dear CMN1960

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

In relation to the points you have raised regarding the bedding, this is the standard way our Housekeeping team make the guests beds throughout all rooms. Please rest assure, all of our twin beds are king singles to accommodate both adults and children.

Unfortunately, garbage collection times are organised by the local council and are out of our control.

We hope to see you again in the near future and please feel free to contact us directly for your next booking.

Kind Regards
Michelle Phillips
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely place to stay at Gold Coast! Nice location close to shopping area at surfer's paradise!! I was really satisfied with vibe's service as well. I've been to this hotel two times and even if i was there early, front dest staff tried her best to let us in a room. From the room, i couldn't see ocean (it's quite normal at hotels in gold coast) but i had another great view towards a lake! If i have a chance to visit gold coast again, i'll definitely stay here again!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JennaLee_GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear JennaLee_GU

We are grateful that you took the time to review us, We at Vibe Gold Coast always welcome feedback from our guests.

Without feedback, we cannot know the true experience our guests have had whilst staying at the Hotel and I can see from your feedbeack that you enjoyed your experience and will be visiting us hopefully again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Property: Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing