We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and smelly rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and smelly rooms”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The first room we were checked into had a very strong stench that smelt like urine in the carpet. Alot of mould in the bath and shower area and dirty mirror and furniture. The staff member came to the room and confirmed there was a bad stench and moved us to another room. The second room had a smell of stale cigarette smoke. We stayed in this room because we had little hope that a third room would be better. Furniture was not clean and the balconies were very dated and old. The photos on the website are not reflective of the actually quality of the rooms. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryToow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear MaryToow,

Thank you for taking the time to review Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

I was sorry to read that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations, please be assured that your valued feedback has been shared with the team.

I will be grateful if you can please email me directly with the room numbers you stayed in, so I can follow up on the issues you had during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    1,143
    663
    270
    202
See reviews for
525
1,295
222
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Morlang
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My partner and I had an awesome time staying at the vibe. Very friendly staff, excellent rooms, great room service and fantastic value for money. Can't wait to come back. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay F, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jacqui L,

Thank you for a great feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you and your partner had an awesome stay with us, enjoyed the room and the room service.

Our team are also thrilled to hear that you were happy with our friendly service and can’t wait to return.

We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Surfers Paradise and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation.

Best Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and we were in a room with a great view. Bed comfortable, room and balcony good size. Bathroom fairly small and basic, shower not good at all, very hard to get the temperature right. Lovely service. Would stay again but wouldn't pay full price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TasApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay F, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear TasApril,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location, comfortable bed, large balcony and the views.

I apologise the issue you had with the shower temperature during your stay.

We look forward to your return and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Kind Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I can only add my agreement to others on TA who've said this (relatively) small place has a lot going for it. We found it clean and comfortable with generous rooms and friendly staff. The location's close to everything even if it's not beachfront, and the view of the ocean from our balcony was pleasant. Breakfasts are all you can eat and adequate if not brilliant. Be a bit careful in the showers as the ceiling's low, and also be careful leaving the parking lot as it exits onto a really busy street. Room and breakfast were $120 plus $8 a day for parking. Only complaint is that wi-fi's only available in the lobby and it's free for just 30 minutes. Ethernet into the rooms is $11 per day, and the business centre has two tired PC setups that go for $2 per 15 minutes. Someday the Vibe will catch onto the benefits of wi-fi throughout the property and include it in their room rate, but not yet. Otherwise, it's a fine place to stay in a very popular location.

Room Tip: Go for the river side of the hotel and you'll get the best view, but the ocean's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Phil K,

Thank you for the fantastic review.

I agree we are in a special spot here and the river views are just brilliant.

I am pleased to hear you found our hotel value for money, enjoyed our breakfast and were happy with our friendly team.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi and we are looking into getting Wi-Fi available for the whole hotel in the near future.

We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Surfers Paradise and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation.

Best Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Accommodation experience: Very good and comfortable. Everything worked. Nice view of the river. It was strange to have the bedspread in two halves, opened at the middle of the bed.

Should have separate lift buttons for each lift, so that hotel guests can select the right lift to go to the car park.

The lanes to and from the car park are wrong way, causing incoming and outgoing vehicles to cross-path.

Entry to the car park was not automated. Once I had to make many repeated pressing of button for the gate to be opened.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PerryTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Perry Tan,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you found your accommodation comfortable and enjoyed the river views.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the bedspread, lift buttons and car park lanes and I have passed this on to the relevant departments.

We look forward to your return and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Warm Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chermside
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Room was very adequate, views were excellent to the ocean, breakfast was fresh and filling, the television remote was at times hard to operate possibly due to wear on the remote itself or flat batteries, would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear BrettA,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you will return in the near future and will also be recommending our hotel.

It is great to her that you enjoyed our breakfast, room and the ocean views.

We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to Surfers Paradise and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation.

Best Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haberfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overall great hotel.
I recommended it to to my colleagues for our trip to the Gold Coast. Vibe didn't let me down. I'd like to have had a full doona on a kingsized bed not 2 singles. The hotel break buffet was good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for your great feedback.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, found our buffet breakfast of good value, and you will also be recommending our hotel.

I appreciate your comment regarding the king size doona and I will pass your feedback on to the relevant department.

We look forward to your return and please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations.

Best Regards,

Jay Fawckner
Assistant Hotel Manager
jfawckner@vibehotels.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Property: Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing