We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Airconditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“No Airconditioning”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Upon arival we noted that the room was very hot. The aircon was turned on but by morning it was no better. The next day we forgot about it and sweated it out for another night.

The next day we brought it to the hotels attention, they advised that the water system to the airconditioning had been turned off for the guest before us. I asked to talk to the hotel manager as I had booked and paid for a room that had airconditioning.

The manager refused to talk to me on the phone leaving it for me to hunt him down the next day. He preceded to laugh about the situation and treat me like it was a storm in a tea cup. While I had been given another room for the night before I was very unhappy with the 1 night credited back to me.

I don't recommend this motel because of the poor management. A real management would ensure that this type of issue doesn't happen.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Executive Assistant Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Dear iac0n,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the management team here at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast in an effort to improve our overall guest experience.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not get the management response that you required. I am happy to advise that the issues that you experienced are currently bring addressed & works will be completed as this response is posted.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    1,142
    662
    270
    202
See reviews for
525
1,295
221
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
487 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is in a very convenient location at the Gold Coast, close to all the shops and the Surfers strip. We got a room high up with the view of the canal which was breathtaking especially at sunset.

The room is very clean and well presented, but the walls look tired and in some places dirty. The air conditioning wasn't working properly in the room we had set the temperature to 16 degrees the whole time and it didn't get cold. We ended up leaving the sliding balcony door open because it got to the point were it was cooler outside than in the room. Sleep quality was poor on the 20th level as the noise from the lift echoed into the room. Some rooms need maintenance with the door closer as the whole night all we heard was a door slamming every 10 mins.

Check in service is prompt and friendly but upon check out there was no feedback service etc. Parking is at a rate of $8 per day, there is no street parking nearby. Price to stay at the hotel was reasonable but to stay at this hotel again I would have to definitely bring some ear plugs!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ_Mizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

When you approach u see the curtains just free and easy. Well this is how it was al around. Really enjoyed the suitye and the pool looking out over the waters.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Executive Assistant Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
The team here at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast is delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here in december, didnt realise it was the end of schoolies time so there was a tonne of kids around (not in this hotel though). Excellent service from front desk, very good 'vibe's' from the hotel, pool and bar area were great. Didn't get to try any food though. Rooms were well decked out, very clean and well presented. Would stay here again for the price too !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herefishyfishy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We travel to Surfers Paradise a fair bit, I had always driven past Vibe Hotel and thought we should stay there it looks very funky and cool.
We stayed between Christmas & New Year, when we arrived at the hotel they didn't have our booking! But the Front Office manager went away & a few minutes later had sorted us out with a room on the 19th floor with great views of the river & ocean.
We did need to make a complaint about the room cleanliness, there was masses of black hair in both plug holes. A very friendly housekeep came up & cleaned the bathroom & made sure everything was up to scratch.
The room price included breakfast, a fairly standard buffet.
Overall the responsiveness of the staff was excellent they rectified the issues we had. The decor of the hotel is average, they've tried to go all modern/funky but it just doesn't work.
The rooms have had a cheap reno & are cheerful but what lets them down is old style tvs, cabinets and chairs.
The lifts are painfully slow.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I was blown away by this place (Although I think I got lucky!)

Great apartment, contemporary and clean cut! Great kitchen and amazing views! To top if off, the room had a private sauna!

I was amazed with what I got for the price...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Stayed at the Vibe for 7 nights in November and couldn't find one single fault with this hotel. I had e mailed them a few weeks before to ask for a high floor with a view of the river as it was a special occasion and they fulfilled my wishes to the T. We had a room on the 19th floor overlooking the river and the view was fantastic. We had a super king size bed and there was plenty of room to move around in the room which was kept spotless. The swimming pool and hot tub were great and there was always room around the pool to sunbathe with plenty of umbrella's. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are plenty of cafe's for breakfast within a 2 minute walk ( cross over the road in front of the hotel and turn right and there is a food mall, supermarket etc) There is a mini bar in the room but we bought from the liquir store over the road which was much cheaper. Loved everthing about this hotel and want to say a very big THANKYOU for making our stay a memorable one.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chickalaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Property: Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing