We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff rude and Arrogant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I booked my daughter and new husband into the Vibe Hotel for their wedding night and paid for it over the internet. Rang them the week of the wedding to inform the staff they wouldn't arrive til 11pm, and did they need to do anything beforehand. The staff said no. After a beautiful weddind day the limosine dropped them off at the hotel and they were unable to book in as they had no ID or a credit card for a deposit. My daughter was left in the foyer of the Hotel in her bridal attire. When I arrived the staff member was rude and arrogant and said I obviously didn't read the fineprint. Yes that is true but I had rung the Hotel beforehand and they didn't say anything to me about this. I live on the Gold Coast i could have given them a credit card over the phone. I faxed them a complaint letter and have NOT heard one thing from the Hotel at all. I found the staff unsatisfactory and unsympathetic on a very special day in my beautiful daughters life. I am complaining here as I did not receive a letter back from the Hotel in response to my fax.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank JulieHooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear JulieHooly,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your daughter’s recent stay at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I do apologise for the events that have occurred as they have impacted your daughter's stay with us here at Vibe Hotel.

I understand how important a wedding day is & would like to discuss the events of that night with you personally. I am contactable directly through the hotel reception desk & look forward to talking with you soon.

Warm regards,

Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,023 - 3,029 of 3,231 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

Very close to all shops and restaurants within walking distance and great pool and relaxing grounds at hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianne082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2011

Dear Marianne082,

The team at Vibe are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay on the Gold Coast.

We are pleased that you found the location of Vibe Hotel to you liking. The Vibe is in a great location here on the Gold Coast and is one of the many reasons that happy guests return.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Gold Coast in the near future.

Warm regards

Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

A word of caution, I am a very fussy sleeper.

Initially the Vibe looked like a younger persons option, which being a 25 year old should be a great selling point... However honestly it really isn't for me but we were sold on it by our travel agent friend, and I'm glad we were despite some stupid mistakes on my part.

The room was very clean and the bed nice and firm (although not 'hard') and the curtains blocked most of the light even during the day and there was almost no road noise despite some of the reviews complaints, all pros in my books. Staff were helpful and all was going thus far.

Location was awesome, the Titans bar was right next door and although we never ate there it looked like a great option. There was a bus stop right outside so theme parks were very easy to get to and it was only a short walk to the main beach and to food etc.

Now here comes my dumb move and possibly a great tip if staying at the Vibe.... Our aircon turned out being rubbish and I didn't sleep very well at all, and instead of complaining straight away I just kept trying to sleep. When we did finally complain they did a repair, which didn't seem to change much so on the last day we asked just out of interest how much a sea view room and an upgrade would have been. Turns out it really would have been small change, something like 10 or 20 bucks to change into an ocean view and the same again for an upgrade. Needless to say I felt like a real nob.

Oh and that bit about it being a rowdy young persons hotel... it looked the part and I'm sure there were some around but it was nice and quiet and I sure as heck didn't see any trouble or anything while we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Upon arival we noted that the room was very hot. The aircon was turned on but by morning it was no better. The next day we forgot about it and sweated it out for another night.

The next day we brought it to the hotels attention, they advised that the water system to the airconditioning had been turned off for the guest before us. I asked to talk to the hotel manager as I had booked and paid for a room that had airconditioning.

The manager refused to talk to me on the phone leaving it for me to hunt him down the next day. He preceded to laugh about the situation and treat me like it was a storm in a tea cup. While I had been given another room for the night before I was very unhappy with the 1 night credited back to me.

I don't recommend this motel because of the poor management. A real management would ensure that this type of issue doesn't happen.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iac0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Executive Assistant Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Dear iac0n,

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the management team here at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast in an effort to improve our overall guest experience.

I am disappointed to hear that you did not get the management response that you required. I am happy to advise that the issues that you experienced are currently bring addressed & works will be completed as this response is posted.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The hotel is in a very convenient location at the Gold Coast, close to all the shops and the Surfers strip. We got a room high up with the view of the canal which was breathtaking especially at sunset.

The room is very clean and well presented, but the walls look tired and in some places dirty. The air conditioning wasn't working properly in the room we had set the temperature to 16 degrees the whole time and it didn't get cold. We ended up leaving the sliding balcony door open because it got to the point were it was cooler outside than in the room. Sleep quality was poor on the 20th level as the noise from the lift echoed into the room. Some rooms need maintenance with the door closer as the whole night all we heard was a door slamming every 10 mins.

Check in service is prompt and friendly but upon check out there was no feedback service etc. Parking is at a rate of $8 per day, there is no street parking nearby. Price to stay at the hotel was reasonable but to stay at this hotel again I would have to definitely bring some ear plugs!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ_Mizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

When you approach u see the curtains just free and easy. Well this is how it was al around. Really enjoyed the suitye and the pool looking out over the waters.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Executive Assistant Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2011

The team here at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast is delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Fitzpatrick
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here in december, didnt realise it was the end of schoolies time so there was a tonne of kids around (not in this hotel though). Excellent service from front desk, very good 'vibe's' from the hotel, pool and bar area were great. Didn't get to try any food though. Rooms were well decked out, very clean and well presented. Would stay here again for the price too !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herefishyfishy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,675 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#17 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £75 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing