We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Coast has a new winner!”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at the new QT in early July and can't wait to go back when the renovations are complete. The food and beverage options were nothing short of incredible and worth going for alone. Stingray is like no other bar on the Coast (thankfully) and we could have spent every night there with good music, drinks and staff making it perfect for a pre dinner drink, casual meal or nightcap. Bazaar was just that - bizarre! Hands down the best buffet i have ever seen, but that would be selling it short. You have got to check this place out to believe it. We are looking forward to our next trip north already!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chook_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Chook_11,

When QT was being designed, there was a real emphasis on creating a new vision for the Gold Coast. A new style of property and a revamped look at how to party and dine. Your review says to me that we are really on the right track.

Stingray is truly a refreshing change for the Coast, showing a more mature style of entertainment that hits the mark for people who are looking to sip cocktail to a great lounge beat without the rabble of downtown.

We would love to see you back with us next time you are on the coast and thankyou very much for letting us know about your stay.

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,683 - 2,689 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

Imagine the surprise when we opened our weekend "Mystery Flight" package. QT Gold Coast? What the ... ? A quick flick across to Tripadvisor and we were fearing the worst.

This hotel aint too bad ... maybe a bit overpriced. The position is close to town but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful, the welcome was warm and friendly, the reception and public areas were newly refurbished and very smart. So why haven't we heard of it?

Simply put, this is an old hotel undergoing refurbishment. The public areas seem to be complete, but the rooms (at least ours) hadn't seen a paintbrush or interior designer since the 80s, maybe 70s. Somewhere we read, 50s Chic. Nothing Chic about these rooms. But they are comfortable and clean. A good nights sleep was had.

The food was excellent, breakfast and dinner. Again, pricey ... but excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtbsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear mtbsafari,

With 25 reviews under your belt, and a 'mystery flight package' reference, which is something I have never heard of before, to see 'Top scores for everything but the rooms' as your line for our property, we are suitably chuffed!

The rooms are, as you mentioned, on their way the being the 50's chic that is the design style of the already redeveloped public areas and food and beverage areas. We can't wait to see this stretch through into the rooms and hope that you come back and try us when it's done!

Thanks again,

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I can't wait for the renovations to be complete at this hotel - I'll be back shortly after! The lower level is amazing, great cafes, great bar, great lounges.
The rooms were outdated but they were currently planning to renovate and modernise them - in a retro way I think. The breakfast was also great, a kind of buffet with all of my favourites served in this funky cafe with heaps of sunlight - beautiful!
The front of house service people seemed a little confused about what they were meant to be doing when I checked in, but were still friendly and helpful when asked questions.
Great conference facilities too, but hope to visit on my leisure time soon.
Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daylesfordlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Daylesfordlocal,

Thankyou very much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed QT. We, like you, are very excited about the new room coming online over the next few months which will see the cheeky 50's style of the public areas carried throughout the rest of the property.

We hope that you come and stay with us again once it's all refreshed!

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

3 of my friends and I checked in at qt gold coast on the 11th July. Receptionist, Hidei was friendly, helpful, and warm and welcoming which instantly put a smile on our faces.

The interior of the whole hotel was absolutely beautiful! From the cafe to the bar to the lobby to the restaurant. The rooms were extremely pleasant and clean.

The lifts however were a lil shonky. 1 of the lifts we took actually opened before it reached it floor thus causing the door to jam and repeatedly open and close. Hotel should do a maintenance check on the lifts.

Rooms were great! One flaw though would be the beds. Probably a lil too old i reckon as they were slightly sunk in. Plenty of nice fluffy pilllows thou! =)

Toilet was clean and modern. View from the balcony was stunning even thou it was only the 7th floor.

The hotel had heated pools with temp of 28 degrees which was warm enough to swim even though it was winter. The Jacuzzi was warm and relaxing to be in. My friends and i actually stayed in the for 3.5 hours!

The hotel sold tickets to Dreamworld and few other amusement parks which made it very convenient for us. On out check out day the 14th July, we requested for a wake up call at 4.45am and for a cab at 5.30am. Everything was punctual and in time.

Definitely recommend QT Gold Coast to anyone! Friends, family, business, couples, honeymoons!

Not forgetting the Rydges Priority Guest's prices which is very reasonable.

Will definitely return there if i go to Gold Coast again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear TangoManW,

Reading your review tells me that yourself and your friends really made the most out of your Gold Coast QT experience! From Dreamworld to jacuzzis it sounds every bit the true Surfers Paradise vacation!

Thanks for the tip on the elevator. We will check this out today.

We are getting brand new beds in our rooms redevelopment, happening as we speak. There is nothing better than sleeping on a brand new bed, and these are being created especially for the QT brand so we are looking for to getting to bounce on these ourselves.

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at QT Surfers Paradise for 4 nights in early July. The room (with a spa) was very well appointed and comfortable. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and polite. Any need we had was provided. The beach and ocean views from the room were great. The food in the restaurant was superb. They must have a great chef. Such that we would normally spread our dining more, we ate in The Bazaar restaurant for dinner for 3 out of 4 nights there. The other night we were at a football match. In summary, a great hotel, and we would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, preferably with a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henryThePonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear henryThePonds,

Three out of four nights spent at Bazaar! I will pass that on to George (our head chef) for sure! He is an extremely talented man, as are all the kitchen staff at QT, and it's wonderful to be able to give them these complements.

I'll also pass on your well wishes to the staff in the hotel. They are a lovely bunch of professionals, all working very hard to make sure that our guests are receiving only the best levels or service and care.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and were very impressed with it's new look, friendly staff and clean comfy rooms. The buffet breakfast was excellent especially the omelette station. The buffet dinner was amazing. The only bad thing was my wife was stuck in one of the lifts but it was only for 30 mins and staff were very concerned and helpful. At dinner the General Manager found us in the restaurant, apologised and shouted us some nice wine. All in all the beds were comfy, the bathroom is big with a great strong shower and we love the toiletries that Rydges provide. See you next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Mallie36,

I'm usually grabbing an omelette at the brekkie Bazaar each morning so we probably bumped into each other. They are absolutely delicious aren't they?

That's crazy about your wife being stuck in the lift! I bet the staff on the ground were panicking more than she was trying to get her out :) Our General Manager Matt is a great guy, so I'm sure he was very concerned to make sure you knew how sorry we were for the inconvenience.

I hope that next time you are with us it is all smooth sailing. We would love to see you again soon.

Sas Rowlands
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The changes of the hotel didn't appeal much to us, but everything else was still as good as it used to be. The rooms are spacy and the bed is very comfortable. Love the shampoo, conditioner and body lotion they have. The location of the hotel is very good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £99 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing