We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-Class Craziness”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High-Class Craziness”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The place has a very opulent feel since its renovation. Stingray bar is a great place to dance, drink elite cocktails and get a little crazy, The rooms are well equipped and our room had an awesome coffee machiene and fresh lemonade on arrival. Highlights - Chilling by the pool with poolside cocktail service & making friends with patrons :) a great place for a girls weekend away.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear Joyouss,

Sounds like QT fit you like a beautiful Prada glove. Exactly what we are aiming for!

You'll be pleased to know that we are completely renovated in our rooms now, so there is no way that you will end up in anything but the pristine QT best.

I agree with you on the Stingray front - many a crazy cocktail fuelled evening has happened in that Lounge, and many of them with groups of ladies on cheeky girls weekends.

I know it's a big trip from Perth, but we hope to see you here again soonest.

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    868
    281
    92
    64
See reviews for
404
1,115
108
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in QT April 2011 and had the best time the service was brilliant and the hotel breakfast was amazing in such a lovely environment! Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbunny529022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear SnowBunny529022,

You kept in short and sweet so I will too.

You sound fun. Bet you fit right in while you were with us. Bet our staff adored you. Please come back and see us soon.

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

guys

Awesome job on getting the head start on a Sydney themed hotel and bar space on the GC. Kudos to the warm welcoming staff and awesome restaurant staff and matching foods. Breakfast was amazing and dinner equally the same. Rooms were very nice with a clear touch of summer and holiday! Beds amazing! Pool and outdoor amenities were great.

One point i would make with regards to the Stingray bar is to perhaps have your waitresses "cover up" a touch more, As a guy it personally wasn't offensive however my partner was quite intimidated and did hear another couple making a similar statement in the Lifts. I'm big on Hotel dining and do so on all holidays and Business trips as i am the Chef at home however I didn't get to spend much time in stingray due to the Waitresses "attire" and slightly "too friendly" and wonder how this may have affected takings out of Peak times for the bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060Jamesb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Dear 255060Jamesb83,

Thanks so much for your review and I am really happy that you loved your stay.

Now to address the second paragraph - I can tell you that this is an issue that has been hotly debated. Now i am a girl, and sit firmly in the camp where I love to see attractive people (regardless of their sex). I'm in a relationship too, and my partner and I don't have any problems with it.

On the other hand, we do have some couples who get a bit turned off by the skin. I think that this seems to be something that happens across the Gold Coast. There is a lot of flesh, a lot of bling, and a lot of hot people shaking their money makers! Kind of like Miami.

QT has that kind of cheeky vibe. We certainly don't present our staff as overtly out there, but yes, you can definitely see that they all have a fair amount of beauty in common, and their outfits reflect that they are genetically blessed.

The Lounge pumps at capacity every Fri/Sat with locals mainly (and the guests who come specifically to get their party on in the bar) , so I think it really may be a Gold Coast, beach bunny, put it all out there vibe that is big up in the sunshine state. I absolutely recognise what you mean though.

I hope it wasn't a massive turnoff for you and that we get to take care of you again. Maybe you could hang by the more relaxed pool bar?

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 10 nights over the new year. Everything about the hotel is wonderful. Love the new design, as others have said the only way to describe it is funky.

We had a mountain view room on the 15th floor and we were lucky enough to also have ocean views. The room was beautiful and of a high standard. The only suggestion i would have is a small shelf would be good in the bathroom as there was no where to really store your toiletries. By the way ladies they have a real hairdryer in there not one of those wall ones that have no power.

The only gripe I would have is that housekeeping was very late in servicing the rooms. We would often come back around 3pm to relax for an hour or so only to find our room hadn't been cleaned even though the tidy up sign had been left on the door from 9am. In the end I called housekeeping on the 3rd day of non servicing the room and the did come up straght away and were most apolagetic.

by far the standout of the QT is the concierge. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stay here and you definately wont be dissapointed>

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieKaye263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear aussieK263,

The more reviews I read from over our busy summer period, the more I know that our concierge staff are really upping the ante in terms of service with a smile. Dean, our head concierge, is a natural people pleaser and this means that he is consistently going above and beyond.

We know that other hotels in our market read our reviews religiously so i say to them 'Hands off Dean! He's ours and we adore him!'.

Sorry about the housekeeping delay. I'm glad that it was all rectified once they were given a little prod.

We would love to take care of you again,

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We loved our stay at the QT Hotel. So many hotels are similar in what they offer that they are forgettable - QT is different from the rest. The funky modern lobby, the little touches like the welcome lemonade and the Nespresso machine as well as the excellent dining choices meant that we would recommend this place and we won't forget our stay in a hurry.
If you stay there, you must go to Bazaar restaurant - it was exceptional! If we had stayed longer, I would have loved to have tried the Yamagen restaurant as well.
Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious enough for our three night stay. The hotel is located about 3 blocks from the main Surfers Paradise shopping area which was perfect for us. The pool area is good - it would be nice to see some more loungers or seating as there are a limited number and they get taken quickly. There is nowhere to throw your used towels either which means they get left all over the place. Staff need to come and collect these more often or there needs to be a place to put them when you are finished.
We thought the hotel had wi-fi in room but it turned out to only be in the lobby. You could use LAN cable and pay but the cable was not near the desk and it was more expensive than a wi-fi service that I found which was separate to the hotel. The modern feel of the hotel means you would expect the hotel to offer wi-fi in the rooms at a reasonable price.
The concierge desk was very good with at least two staff on hand to help. Oh and we stayed in an ocean view room and the view we had from our room was well worth the little extra.
If you are heading to the Gold Coast, definitely give the QT Hotel a try!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Toni G,

Lovely to hear from you! Sounds like we really hit the mark on your stay. We were absolutely flat out over the Christmas/New Year period and we were speaking yesterday about how wonderful it is that we have had such wonderful reviews over this period.

It's really given us a great boost, so thank you for being a part of that!

Fantastic feedback on the towels by the pools. I'll pass that on this morning,

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon,

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed in a mountian view room for 4 nights with other 3 friends. We all enjoyed so much! The room was spacious,clean and bright, with a balcony. The hotel overall is so funky! It was really a good fun staying in there. The bar on ground floor makes beautiful cocktails and wedges.The staffs were friendly and helpful. The service desk helped us booked all of our tours, the only disappointed thing was the hotel failed to inform us when one of the tour had been cancelled, made us got up really early and didnt see the bus we expected. Luckily we didnt need to worry that cant find fun stuff to fill our day in Gold Coast. The location is good, only 5 minutes walking to city centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear CC0119,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and loved the decor of the property. We put so much effort into maling sure that it all tied together in one big 1950's inspired art display.

So sorry about the tour! There's nothing worse than getting up early on holidays when you don't have to!

We would love to take care of you again next time you are in town,

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Aside from our phone not working (it was constantly ringing and when we picked up nobody was actually there), we had a great time at QT hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Kevin L,

Phantom phone calls are a new one for us! I'm not quite sure what was happening, unless you were the victims of some bored pranksters. So sorry that you were disturbed by that.

Awesome that you loved the rest of your stay, please make sure to come back!

Sas Rowlands
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing