We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I don't rate many 5 stars, but I don't even need to finish my stay to give QT 5/5.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
471 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“I don't rate many 5 stars, but I don't even need to finish my stay to give QT 5/5.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I'm still at the hotel, checking out tomorrow, and don't need to wait any longer before giving it 5 stars.

In fact, I probably could have given it 5/5 within 15 minutes of checking in. If this is in your price range I would not hesitate to book in.

The pluses:
- Stunning views in all directions
- Very friendly staff and prompt check in
- Wonderful homemade lemonade on check-in
- A bed you just sink into and never want to come out of
- Exceptional bathroom and amenities
- Great mini bar, television and other supplies in room (bathrobes, iron etc etc).
- Easy, level 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Surfers - basically enough to be away from the noise, but close enough to be near the action (if that's what you're after)
- A funky vibe from start to finish - they've managed to give a very large hotel a very unique feel

The negatives:
-Ummmmmmm. Hard to pick one. I'm in a joining room and I've occasionally been able to hear the neighbours through the joining door. It's not serious enough to affect my rating.

This will definintely be my hotel of choice when next on the Gold Coast for both work and play.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    822
    263
    82
    60
See reviews for
381
1,062
99
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have stayed at QT twice now in the last 2 months. Once with our daughter and once just my wife and I.

The good stuff:

Concierge staff - some of the best we have come across - really on the ball, friendly and very helpful

Breakfast - really yummy and lots of variety and options to choose from. Really liked the juice of the day! The breakfast chef on the mushrooms was also very nice and cooked me up some extra mushrooms. All staff were nice and friendly (especially the one who checks your name off).

Bikes - we used the bikes the hotel has on offer (free for 3 hours) and they were fun to ride along the bike track on the beach

Bathroom products - Uspa - very good brand and nice. Also the towels were nice and fluffy!
The room - bed and pillows very comfortable. Room overall is nice and clean and well set out with a nice view of the ocean i street over.

The stuff that needs improvement / attention:

Dinner - although the salad selection was excellent, desserts nice enough (a few really nice / rest ok), there were very few options as a vegetarian - only pizza and polenta. It was disappointing that there were so many meat / seafood options for the $$ and yet so few vege options. When the waitress took us around to show the set-up (like a buffet style) she mentioned the chefs would put something together for vegetarians, but only the asian section made an effort to put a taster together for us. The others didn't seem very enthused. Wouldn't return unless they made vegetarian more of a focus. All the service staff were friendly.

Reception - not nearly as friendly as the concierge staff. They also didn't give my wife the correct information / token for our meal (we booked a package of room/dinner/breakfast). So when we went to leave the restaurant after dinner the fellow in charge asked for the token and then had to ring reception and was not very apologetic about the mix up. Both times i received the bill is was incorrect. Definitely worth checking.

Room - although overall the room was good, 2 things that were not so good was both doors. The entrance door slammed shut - I know other hotels have this issue too - but when neighbours doors shut they are quite loud and can wake you. The other sliding door out to the balcony (which btw has a great view of the ocean) is old and pretty crappy. Thus the noise from outside is louder than it could be if they replaced the old doors (you could hear some car noise from 21 floors below).

Staff outfits - most of the staff looked fine/cute in their colourful outfits, however the staff in the bar looked like they were at a nightclub. They were very skimpy, revealing and quite inappropriate. We wondered what the policy of management was in terms of this. It just seemed a bit much for a hotel / restaurant.

Overall very good - would return when a good deal comes along!

Room Tip: As per usual higher rooms have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Fiona_Anjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Imagine the Jetsons came to the Gold Coast after living in Miami and then add a nudge and a wink to 21st century kitsch. It's fun and funky. Rooms are big, TVs are massive, bathrooms are small but shower is big. Drawbacks are that the service which was inconsistent (never got the much vaunted homemade lemonade, had to ask for the newspaper I ordered at check in and only found out at check out that I had to pay for it). Power points are in the bedrooms seem to be behind furniture and none seems to be near the desk. Hot water takes an age to come through and then be careful as it's very hot. And it's a 15 min walk to Surfers, which may be a good thing, but does mean you can't walk out of the hotel and find a raft of eating places. I was there for a conference and suspect that put the hotel systems under some strain, such as one friend having to cancel her lunch order after waiting 40 mins and being told that the reason for the delay was that the kitchen was busy (though the bar was almost empty). And finally, do not miss breakfast . it's not cheap, but it's one of the best I've seen anywhere. No hype.

Room Tip: Mountain view is really 'inland view', and can include some parking lots and the highway, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pointyhead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Easy checkin. Room was standard but quirky. Some nice touches like robes.
Bed was sooooo comfy. Made it hard to get up each day.

Massage in the spa was expensive, but with all the touches you would expect, for the price.
Would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyadamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I attended with my wife as an accompanying person at the Romance Writers of Australia annual conference. From what I can gather, the conference went smoothly and QT did a great job with the organisation.
The room (17th level) had a great balcony view over the sea, the bed was comfortable and the pillows soft and the facilities were fine. But the room was modest in size and, to my mind, lacked a "wow" factor. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The Bazaar Restaurant offered a wonderful choice of food at $68 / head and the tepanyaki meal at the Yamagen Restaurant was prepared by a charming and skilful exponent of the art and the food was delicious.
I'm not a great fan of the 1950's Retro theme , but that's just my taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at QT to attend the Romance Writers of Australia conference and was very impressed. It's been refurbished with a retro theme and even the staff were wearing 60's/70's costumes. The furniture in the common areas was colourful and fabulous and the vibe was friendly and super-helpful. I stayed in room 513 which had a view of the beach. It was a twin room and I found the bed quite comfortable, although my roomie said hers was too soft and she kept feeling like she needed to climb out of it! The bathroom was clean and quite plush with a slow-closing toilet seat, enough vanity space for two women's toiletries, and a very clean shower. Only complaint here is the dreadful 'water saver' shower head. I know they're popular, but it takes so long to wash shampoo out! Would have loved to have had a regular shower head.
The linen was great and the teev was a big flatscreen that worked perfectly. Internet wifi costs - from memory it was either $8 or $16 a day depending on download, and the other odd thing was that they insisted on taking a credit card 'hold' on the full amount of the accom + a $100 bond which released as the account was paid. I've never had to do that at any hotel I stayed at, and wished they'd told me that up front so it wouldn't have been such a shock at check-in.

That said, I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were great, the food at breakfast was amazing (apart from the bircher museli - my usual - which was just soaked oats with nothing else added. Strangely disappointing when everything else was so amazingly delicious). The bar was great, with reasonably priced drinks, and fab retro music.

Loved my stay the and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: You can have ocean or mountains views and I'm told they were both beautiful, but I adored the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed at QT on the weekend under their 2 night package deal. The package included 1 dinner for 2 people at the Bazaar restaurant and breakfast for 2 daily.

Location:
Great. Surfer’s paradise, walking distance to all restaurants and entertainment, shopping etc. but far enough away to feel peaceful. Also across the road from a patrolled beach.

Food: Fantastic and unique. The buffet at Bazaar needs to be experienced but the food was superb quality, plentiful and offered something for everyone. Especially dinner. Even if you’re not staying at QT make an effort to visit Bazaar for dinner (make a booking!)

Staff: were generally really friendly and helpful.

Rooms: were a decent size, I was travelling with a friend and we have 2 double beds in the room. Wow are the beds comfortable and plenty of pillows :) I would recommend requesting a high floor so you can have a better view with a glass balcony. We were stuck on the 3rd floor. We were out for all of the morning and housekeeping didn’t come until 230pm, when we were showering after the beach so we didn’t get to have room service as they said they were moving to another floor. A little disappointing but I guess this happens. We had also wanted to watch an in room movie, but the system was down for our whole stay. We were given another room and moved, the system didn’t work in there either and ended up back in our original room.

Overall it was a great stay, there are a few things I would change about the hotel, a super suggestion would be that if a guest has booked a package that included dinner at Bazaar that they be contacted ahead of time to book which night they would like to eat as we couldn’t eat at Bazaar on the night we had wanted due to it being booked out. Loved the added touch of the lemonade upon arrival.

Room Tip: request a high floor! Saw that interconnecting rooms were available for people travelling as a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing