We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel! - clean, helpful staff, great buffet”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! - clean, helpful staff, great buffet”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at QT recently for 2 nights for a weekend holiday. We've booked a room with ocean views and it was really amazing! As soon as you walk in the room, the first thing you see is the view. The complimentary home-made lemonade was also good. Room is clean, bathroom is a bit small but clean, housekeeping cleaned the room during the day when we were out and staff are very friendly and helpful. QT is not the typical classy hotel, it's rather hip with its 50's/modern style. The hotel is somewhat close to the beach (3 to 5 mins walk) and a short walk to Cavill Avenue shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet at The Bazaar was also good. The dinner buffet was great and if you have a sweet tooth (like me), you're in for a treat with the dessert and candy buffet. I highly recommend to try The Bazaar either for breakfast or dinner or both! Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean views are really worth it. Dinner buffet is a must @ Bazaar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,355
    848
    277
    89
    62
See reviews for
394
1,101
103
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

There are many hotels in the Gold Coast, but perhaps none capture the feeling of the Gold Coast as well as the QT Gold Coast with it's funky, nostalgic, yet modern design and style (including the staff's outfits). The QT King Ocean Room View that we booked was exactly as advertised, an un-obstructed view (in the room or on the outdoor balcony) of the beautiful Pacific Ocean with surfers and all. Both the room and bathroom were spacious for 2 people and we didn't have any problems with room cleanliness or service.

The hotel is one block from the beach and a 5 minute walk to Broadbeach - the hub of shopping and activities. It was also a 5 minute walk to our Whale Watching boat tour. I highly recommend lunch or drinks/snacks at Stingrays (great tacos!) and I especially recommend dinner at Bazaar (2nd floor) but come hungry as it is literally an all-you-can-eat Bazaar.

Overall it was a wonderful stay with funky style and great food and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liveitup29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wollongong
Level Contributor
168 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at QT again last week - on a work trip to the Gold Coast.
This was my third stay in 12 months and it exceeds expectation every time I visit.
My first visit (12 months ago) was just after the refurbished rooms had been released, and the room I stayed in last week was as immaculate & perfect as the brand new room I stayed in a year ago. Spotlessly clean, hats off to their housekeeping team. The rooms are large & funky, all with balconies and great views to either the ocean or hinterlands. Both views are lovely.
The bathrooms aren't huge, but are well appointed and brand new.
The hotel has a huge foyer, a casual cafe, a really funky large bar with outdoor area, and lovely pool area. Not to mention the restaurant - Bazaar - which is absolutely amazing. Bazaar is an interactive dining experience and I highly recommend it. The food (dinner and breakfast) is the best.
The service from all departments is excellent. The concierge desk team are impressive and efficient and sooo friendly. I love the quirkiness of QT. The staff are all young and gorgeous and the uniforms aren't your usual hotel corporate style. The concierge guys are dressed in 50's style beach culture clothing, and they all have a positive upbeat attitude. Don't be put off by the quirkiness if you are looking for a corporate hotel, as these guys are very professional and do their jobs extremely well. I organised a conference for 650 delegates at QT and the hotel executed it wonderfully. This is a highly recommended hotel - my only gripe is that I haven't had time to get there for a leisure visit yet.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed at QT for 3 days, for a work-related conference. The hotel has a neat '1950's Miami' surf theme - all the way from decorations and fittings to staff uniforms.

The hotel was refurbished in 2011 and is like new. The accommodation and conference facilities are first class - a light breezy atmosphere.

The hotel is one block back from the beach, and just a short walk to the Cavill Avenue shops.

The bar/bistro has an excellent menu - loved the Mexican stuff.

I'll be back here to stay with my family.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Warm welcome. I stayed for 3 nights and found the staff ordinary. The room was not cleaned during the day - the bed was made and the bin emptied but that was all. No cups were cleaned, benches wiped or breakfast menus replaced. Items in the mini bar section look old (wrapping torn and faded, lollipop broken) and uninviting - that maybe a good thing as it certainly does not tempt you to buy them. I spend a lot of time in motels and this is the worst in respect to the service of the rooms that I have experienced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

One of the best hotel experiences I have had was staying at the QT on the Gold Coast. The decor was quirky, but the service and quality were amazing.

All the staff did everything they could to ensure we had a great stay and they were all quite happy to stop and have a chat. The food at the buffet breakfast was brilliant and we constantly ate more than we could fit because it tasted so great.

The dinner we had in the restaurant was also fantastic and besides struggling to walk up the stairs from eating too much, we couldn't possibly complain.

The rooms were lovely, the beds amazingly comfy and it was nice heading out to the balcony for a bit of fresh air.

The location is good in that you are just outside the noisy nightclub strip, but are also close enough to Cavill Ave to walk there in just a few minutes.

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough for anyone heading to the Gold Coast and will be back this summer, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 for a conference and holiday, we had a great time there its a real funky hotel with great atmosphere, the beach front balcony rooms are excellent the views are spectatcular worth the little bit extra cost.
The breakfast is unreal it would be one of the best breakfast buffets I have had and for $25 per person you cant loose.
Short stroll to the best beaches and a 5 min walk to centre of Gold Coast shops, we had a hire car and you can get free street parking out the front no damage or undercover parking real cheap.
This is more a couples place as the pool area isnt huge for kids but nice.
The rooms were really nice and very clean we give it a 5 star
The bar there goes off on a Thursday and Friday with a DJ
Approx $30 cab ride to the casino but we only went there once and the local resturants are very good and street entertainment everywhere

Room Tip: Take a beachside balcony room its worth the little bit extra and makes the stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing