We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QT is a must if staying in Surfers!”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Totally blew my expectations, having never heard of the hotel before, i had no idea what to expect.

The front entrance is grand, funky, crisp and elegant at the same time. It feels like you are in a las vegas hotel. There are girls dressed in retro chic 50's outfits and rolling about in roller skates serving drinks and free lemonade.

The rooms are huge and follow the theme of downstairs foyer, classy and funky retro theme. The views from the room are amazing! The bed is soooooo comfortable, the bathrooms are huge and keeps the funky retro them everywhere. Such originality and so well put together in everything, down to the carperts, wallpaper, floor corridors etc.

The staff are so happy to assist with everything and take the time to explain how the hotel works with their restaurants and buffets.

The pool is unreal, feels like you are in a thai or bali retreat. The only thing i would say is that the gym is not up to scratch considering that everything else is so well thought out and modern. It is very small and the machines rickety.

Ate at the restaurant, which is like a customised open kitchen buffet. Pretty hard to explain but the food choices are amazing and if you want anything special such as meet or steak cooked in a certain way or make up your own pizza that is not already in the buffet, just ask one of the chefs and they will make it on the spot to order for you. Likewise with the breakfast, ive never ever had breakfast like it, same concept as dinner.

If i could give it more than 5 stars i would!!! Totally blew my mind!!! So well recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 2,781 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Love it. I recommend to everyone. Think it's cool and great value. Love the lemonade. Love the uniforms. Love the cool extras.
Cool, whilst being fun and original. Love it.
Great hotel. Great bar. Great view. Great staff.
Best buffet breakfast on the market, 2nd to none.
Highly recommend, always something to talk about and check out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfahey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference and was pleasantly surprised. As I'd never heard of the hotel before I didn't know what to expect but I thought it was super cute from the minute I pulled up and was greeted by a female porter in super fun pink shorts and a jacket - she was young and pretty and friendly and impressed me straight off the bat. Once inside I remained impressed, staff were welcoming and the hotel foyer is fun and inviting. There is a pool in the middle and the hotel seems to have considered every aspect of their brand - it is young and cute and cheeky. The room is big with two double beds and a balcony. Again the branding in the room is evident with fabulous novel offerings in the mini bar and quirky embellishments in the room / the whole place feels fun. Breakfast is excellent and while the service at dinner was a tad slow, the seafood buffet was fresh and excellent. All in all I would recommend this hotel to young couples and even young families for its cute and irreverent point of difference

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was a great hotel. Customer service was excellent. The rooms and amenities were great. 2 downfalls that doesn't get this hotel full top marks. 1. The Gym was not very good. It is very out of date and machines do not work properly. While I was trying to work out I observed several people walking out. 2. Parking needs to be improved it was not very good, the car park was constantly full. I would however stay here again it was a great hotel overall it's a pity Rydges couldn't take a leaf out of your books.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at this hotel in August and had a fabulous time. We got the 3 night package which included daily buffet breakfast and 1 buffet dinner.
I give QT 5 stars for service!The service was excellent from the moment we stepped in. Check in time was 2PM and we arrived at 10AM. Although our room wasn't ready at the time, they made sure the next available room was ours. They called an hour later to let us know our room was ready. Staff was always helpful and went out of their way to make you comfortable. The complimentary ice tea and lemonade at the lobby was a nice touch and especially refreshing after a long hot day on the beach.
5 stars for location! Everything was within walking distance, the beach 2 minutes away and the main shopping strip at surfers paradise was a 10 minute stroll from the hotel. It's far enough away to be quiet. Pity about the roadworks nearby.
And definitely for 5 stars for Bazaar's breakfast and dinner buffet! The dinner buffet won't be the largest spread you will come across but whatever they served was absolutely delicious and of good quality. If you like seafood, they had everything from fresh prawns, oysters, mussels to crabs. You could even order sirloin steaks cooked the way you like it. My 7 year old daughter loved the "cold-rock" style ice cream stall and the macaroons for desert.

Room Tip: Sign up to be a priority member for discounts on accommodation, food and drinks. It's free to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I just loved this place! Really cool and groovy retro fit out, awesome bar, pool area and excellent restaurant. While I didn't stay here, I checked out the rooms and conference facilities and just loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

They say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Well I admit I did when I arrived at QT and saw the kitschy staff uniforms and surfing/beach props around the lobby. I expected to be staying in a hotel geared for 20-somethings who think that a hotel should be like the Big Brother experience. OK, yes, I'm ageist as well.

The first couple of times using the lifts tended to give me a bit of a shock as the lift's back wall is a mirror, with each lift featuring a life-size photo of people (i'll say no more about the poses), so it's a bit disconcerting at first. But after a while they grew on me and were a great talking point amongst the group I was with.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that my room was very comfortable (yet still trendy) with a soft bed. There was even a blanket in the wardrobe to replace the doona/quilt - which I really like to do as I find hotel rooms are generally too warm for the former. An eclectic selection of minibar items (GingaNinjas and an intimacy pack!) and funky design touches like round mirrors on the walls helped complete the modern vibe.

The only negatives about my room were that it overlooked the restaurant roof and the noise from the exhaust fans was somewhat annoying, and the air conditioning struggled to make any impact on the room temperature, even though the weather wasn't that warm at this time of year.

The restaurant was another pleasant surprise with an excellent selection of high-quality food on offer. It turns out that it's earned a hat in the Good Food Guide.

Staff members were all very good to deal with and seemed happy to help.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the ocean or inland. Those on the ocean side towards the southern end on lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £101 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing