We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, fun modern”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Loved it here, very quiet in our room, although room was not cold enough for me when sleeping as the air con couldn't go below 20 deg, so I tossed and turned a bit.

Definitely would stay here again though. Great restaurants and bars

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,722)
There are newer reviews for QT Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at QT Gold Coast for the second time in November. The hotel lobby and complimentary lemonade and tea are always refreshing, exceptionally so during summer. Keep up the awesome welcoming experience, QT!

The QT receptionist was professional and friendly, although the lady almost didn't let us check in as an accompanying friend was under 21. The lady insisted that there was a disclaimer on the website and my booking confirmation; however, I read my PDF confirmation and there was nothing on "no entry for under-21s during schoolies week". The only disclaimer was "QT GC does not accept reservations for schoolies".

It was a rather unpleasant experience to be jumped on by the receptionist and faced the prospect of not having a room to stay in that day. After much assurances and a $200 deposit, she eventually did let us check in.

Room was spacious, extremely clean and enjoyable to stay in as per before. Our buffet breakfast at Bazaar was delicious and mouth-watering :) Although we prob won't go back for the third time unless the menu is changed.

The pool area is fun to hangout at, especially with the pool bar. The checkout process was slightly slower; our room's previous guest's lunch was charged to our bill, although this was taken out after some clarifications.

Overall, great place to stay! And I recommend all my friends who have never been here to spend a night and enjoy the QT ambience themselves :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank hadikaiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I like the renovation, and the hotel has a great feel
Rooms look good
Soaps are wonderful
Ocean view is beautiful
Staff are pretty good.
However, the gym has not been renovated and is really really bad - lots of broken stuff. Amazingly it has not been shut down.
The pool area is ok, needs some work to make it look and feel beautiful.
Tennis courts a bit old.

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel has a funky retro theme, which seems a bit out of place given the five star rating. We stayed in an ocean view room, which was more than worth the modest increase in price. The room itself is reasonably sized and ours was very clean and housekeeping did a great job.

The pool is very small, especially considering the size of the hotel, and most of the times I visited it was a bit over-crowded. On one occasion, there were styrofoam bean bag balls floating around everywhere which the staff didn't seem to put much effort into cleaning up.

On a final note, I wouldn't bother with the buffet breakfast - omelettes require 20-25 minutes of waiting around to come out (and they don't bring it out despite the extraordinary wait). For the $32-35 you will find a far better breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a97enig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The rooms are airy and spacious but lack the feel of a star category hotel. The furniture is very chic and gives a feel of a teenagers room apart from this, the hotel is superb. Loved the breakfast here, though they change their menu, but the spread is so good that we didnt get bored even after eating here for 5 straight days. The concierge desk was very helpful. one negative would be no person at front door to help with luggage.

Room Tip: Always take an ocean view room and become a member by registering online before booking to save mone...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saurabhg05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT Gold Coast guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

At arrival I did find the staff clothing/attire very young and trendy. We stayed here for 5 nights over the Christmas period. Firstly, at check in no one was at the door to help us with our luggage, certainly not what I would expect for a 5 star hotel. We had an ocean view room, so the sea breeze at night was very night. I find the air conditioning in our room wasn't working too well for us. Our linen was not changed until the 3rd nights, which I find really annoying especially with the hot weather. The gift shop was very tiny. All the hotel staff all looked like young teenagers, I think the hotel is targeting younger guests. Location is close to the beach, nice 1.5 block stroll to the beach and a mini supermarket.

I find this hotel swimming facility a little bit too small in comparison to other hotels we've stayed at in the GC. Overall, I would not recommend staying here for more than just 2 nights, beyond that you would get sick of the breakfast buffet and poor hotel facilities to keep you entertained.
A nice trendy, very young & hip hotel.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. Don't stay here for more than 2 nights if you have children with you - n...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great service, Great place, Super clean, Linen smells Lovely, Great restaurant
Funky furniture and lifts and style. One of gold coasts better hotels
This Rydges out does all others do not compare to Brisbane Southbank as it is shocking!!

Room Tip: Room facing ocean, great views one small block from beach
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT Gold Coast guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £102 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing