We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Some Improvements Needed Though” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Some Improvements Needed Though”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed at the QT for 2 nights beginning NYE. Having moved to Sydney from the Gold Coast 10 years ago I was keen to see what the GCI had turned into. I was pleasantly surprised! Great hotel and features throughout. Rooms were amazing and loved everything about them. Had the buffet breakfast one morning and it was one of the best I have had in OZ! Nothing beats the Vegas buffets but QT have come pretty close! The only things that need improving would be the customer service, as it can be hit and miss during your stay. Also when we holiday on the Gold Coast we like to stay for the pool area as the you don't want to visit the beach everyday! The pool could really do with more deck chairs - 25 in total for a hotel which I would assume can house more than 500 guests?? We couldn't get a chair both days we went to the pool :( Other than those two flaws the hotel was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    820
    262
    82
    60
See reviews for
380
1,061
99
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We recently spent 3 days at the QT while visiting the Gold Coast. We switch between this and another hotel every so often just for a change. So it's been about 6 months since we last stayed at the QT.
Okay, for a start, we enjoyed the service and food at the restaurant "Bazaar". Food is flavourful and varied and the staff attentive. So no issues there.
But, the hotel seems to be losing some of its mojo. We arrived on a Sunday evening. No-one to meet the car and no-one at the concierge desk - probably quite busy so no big issue. Well we check in with a fairly disinterested checkin person. When I asked to provide keys for valet, she pointed at the empty concierge desk and advised 'leave the keys with them'. When I pointed out that there was no-one at the desk, she then reluctantly took the keys and provided the receipt. Okay so again, it was busy so she may have been running on empty. Up to our room - carpets in the hallway stained and the room okay (except of some reason, the air-conditioning was set to 'freeze' and the condensation on mirrors and windows was interesting.
Room cleaning each day okay except for some reason, only one face cloth provided for two people in the room and no floor towel. Room bar/snacks not restocked throughout the stay.
Out for the day, return and provide keys for valet. Next morning, car still on the driveway - and the concierge wasn't aware of where the car was until I advise it was sitting where it had been left the night before.
One of the lifts was faulty throughout the stay (select you floor and two or three other floors would illuminate slowing the lift travel as it stopped at the unselected floors).
Look, the place is funky and in a good position. Staff generally pretty good and nothing really 'bad' but compared to previous stays, the hotel seems to be losing some of its enthusiasm which is a pity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ogsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Ogsplash,

Thanks so much for your review. So sorry that the service didn't come with the same QT style that you experienced during your other stays.

We have been seeing some less than sparkling reports on TripAdvisor for our front desk team members and have been working very hard to rectify this. Hopefully when you next visit they will be back to their gleaming best.

Thanks again for a really even handed and fair review.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I attend the QT Gold Coast for a business conference in early August. What an amazing experience from the moment you set foot in the door. The employees are dressed in retro attire, the decor is very 60's/70's yet modern at the same time. These two era's are fused giving one the sensation of a professional feel but have fun along the way.
The restaurant was amazing as well. A buffet style meal but not quite. A definite hotel to visit in your journeys if you're ever in Surfers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Second time we have stayed at the QT for a post Xmas wind down. Had the Hinterland room this time which are very clean and tidy.
Had Breakfast there both mornings and is top shelf, also had dinner on one of the nights and once again was faultless. The waiters/waitresses are very attentive.
A small thing we noticed is that you have lost the nice Lemon scented air freshener that wafts through the hotel. Guess you had to be the in 2012 when we visited last but it was most pleasant.
All in all the QT has the wood on its competitors in terms of service and the value of the 2/3 night stays are amazing. After Breakfast each morning and Dinner one night the room ends up costing you around $100! its amazing. I hope you keep this special going, we'll certainly keep coming back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Jamesb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a night at Surfers Paradise. Good location, clean room and nice decorations. Staff are energetic, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good too. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and cannot praise this hotel enough! It was my birthday and when we arrived in our room there was a complimentary bottle of bubbles and some strawberries with chocolate out for me! Such a kind gesture. The room was amazing, great view of the ocean, decor very clean and fresh!
The pool area was great, swim up bar which is always a bonus!
Visited many hotels in the QLD area and the QT is by far the best!!! Previously stayed in the Hilton on the GC and that was not a patch on this hotel!
Had dinner in the Bazaar which was lovely, very different and so much to chose from...
Will definitely be going back very soon!! Big thanks to Sofiia again for my birthday surprise!
Thank you, Paula & Derek

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 80scobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

-Similar to the surrounding Surfers Paradise vibe, QT Gold Coast blends in perfectly being modern retro at its finest. We were mesmerized by the sophisticated, colorful, zany, & vibrant decor & we quickly fell in love with all the furnishings from the elevator mural, solar system like mirrors, & employees coordinated uniforms. It's like Rat Pack meets the space aged Jetsons. Welcome lemonade stand in entry way upon arrival compliments of QT...
-Cool daily bulletin board gives you important neat like temp, tides, & activities. No real room view to speak of but rooms came with a cozy balcony. Super comfy bed...
-10 min walk to the heart of Surfer's Paradise & it's beachfront the whole way & like the ocean-beach is at your doorstep. 20 min walk to Q1 Observatory Deck. We went to Brisbane after via train & it's 25 min drive via cab etc. to nearest station (Nerang)
-Didn't like hotel food options or high prices but there's tons of nearby cafés with diverse menus which provided large tasty portions for affordable prices. One exception was Taco Tuesdays at Stingray downstairs which is a festive gathering place for locals as it was packed with patrons, sports on TV's, & music blaring with people having good time. The $3 tacos were delicious with many flavors & margarita drink specials as well.
-Fee for internet usage, but free wifi available at almost all cafés close by so dine while surfing the web too so no need to buy a hotel plan...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing