We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Surfers Paradise Fun Again”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Surfers Paradise seems to have lost its way lately but this hotel brings back some of the old magic. Though I was there for a conference I went into "relax mode" the moment the porter came out to the car to take my luggage. Both check in and check out were easy. The rooms are bright, with big comfortable beds a nice little balcony, function bathroom with a easy to use shower.. Not much bench space to store toiletries, not a problem for me but a couple may find it inconvenient.. Had dinner at Yamagen which we all found fantastic. Had lunch at Stringray Bar, very good value with friendly service. At night the bar gets busy and service can be slow. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet, perhaps the best I have had at an Australian hotel. I can't give the hotel a fill 5 stars though because of the internet charges. $9 an hour or $18 for 24 hours. This is just robbery in this day and age. It takes the shine of an otherwise great hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chairman4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,728)
There are newer reviews for QT Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,661 - 1,667 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel. Rooms are retro style with nice views.

The Stingray bar is cool but shuts at 12!! The buffet here is not your average buffet, top quality and a large selection which is well worth the money,.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Extremely happy with my choice to stay ay QT. Brilliant service. Attention to detail with the decor and all the little extra things that made my stay amazing. Can hire vintage bike from concierge for no extra charge, complimentary iced tea at reception. And who doesnt love a swim up bar. Check in took no more than 2minutes. Perfect distance from Cavill Ave. Loved the whole experience!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank chlo_diggity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for a quick break as we are local and felt like a night away to celebrate the end of year. Really really wanted to love this place but what a let down. The week before our stay, my husband and a friend stopped here at the Stingray Bar for a quick drink and a bite to eat one afternoon, 4 people in the bar in total and he had to ask to be served after waiting 10 minutes. Apparently everyone was too busy to deal with customers. Mmmm, Should have known then to cancel but we were really looking forward to our night away. Rule number 1- follow your instincts. QT, like the rest of the GC, needs to stop resting on its laurels and living on past hype. Whilst the hotel is OK, the cracks are well and truly exposed and what is left is not pretty. I have worked in the hotel industry for 19 years and my husband 22 years so I would hope by now that we know a little something about hotels. We travel quite a bit and like to choose hotels based on a hotels personality and uniqueness. I'm just as happy in a 2 star hotel or a 6 star luxury hotel- as long as the hotel delivers on what it promises. With this place, I felt like I was caught up in a massive hangover. First the good points. Rooms were cute and clean. We stayed in a west facing room which ended up being a better choice as we had the sun in our room all afternoon and that was heaven. Girls on front desk were polite and friendly. Thats where the good parts of this hotel end unfortunately. We asked a girl on the concierge desk for a towel. Oh dear god, the attitude. How can you possibly be asked for a towel, walk away, get towel, and bring it back, hand over to guest, and then turn your back and in all that time not mutter a single word or have any kind of eye contact whatsoever with your guest? If the job of getting a towel is so far beneath you, then get a different job. The outdoor pool area was a shabby mess and in desperate need of a makeover. Old, tired, cracked and generally just miserable looking. Waited to be served for over 10 minutes while the bar girl made a total of 2 drinks. Another staff member that again didn't obviously want to be there or make any kind of eye contact. We asked for a drinks menu. She told us that they didn't have one? Huh?? The following day my husband went for an early morning swim (6 ish) and came back and remarked how dirty the pool area was. Come 9am, we head down to the pool again and he was right- it was filthy......Still. The whole area was full of empty takeaway coffee cups, newspapers blowing around, broken glass, chewed up bits of old pineapple etc (presumably from cocktails the previous night), dead palm fronds, dirty glassware, and horrible sticky pool furniture. The area around Yamagen was the same. Imagine actually eating there and looking out onto that. Another guest warned us about the broken smashed up glass on the ground next to the poolside. We rung and asked for it to be cleaned up. The other guest then remarked that they too had tried to ring but nothing had been done. Eventually, the Redfoo look alike came out pretty reluctantly, swept the glass up, took one look around him at the mess around the pool, put his head down and couldn't run away quick enough. We left the hotel and went for brunch, came back for a swim. This time it was now past midday and all the mess was STILL there. Where is the Duty Manager or Security or Maintenance or Public Area cleaner to deal with this?? Are you telling me that not one member of staff had walked through this area since the night before? And its now midday?? Something tells me, the promise of a glamorous job with this hotel has well and truly faded away for the staff, and the reality of working within the hospitality industry has set in. It is pretty evident that there is no pride, respect or work ethic amongst the staff there. A hotel consists of more than just pretty decorations and there are so many other really good hotels on the GC where your money would be better spent.

Room Tip: Choose a nice room.....at a different hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank happimumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear past QT Gold Coast guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had coffee and tea, tea free but had to pay for coffee very disappointing for $209 per night for a river view and even the hair dryer you have to pay for, no chairs on balcony and didnt look safe. Won't be going again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denny59cab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Service was lovely! Very friendly and helpful. The convenience of a coffee bar in the foyer on one side and the bar and restaurant on the other makes the spot difficult to need to leave.

The bedroom and bed were comfortable, shower pressure OK, but the room was tired, hiding under a quick reno that introduced some funky fittings but can't hide the tired hotel.

The coffee was great, the restaurant even better - I would eat here on a regular basis if I was a local, breakfast and dinner were exceptional. Service here was very good also.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank eves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear past QT Gold Coast guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After staying in many places on the Gold Coast previously (our family lives there) this time we gave QT a go.

Unlike other hotels QT has all the perks and trappings of a luxury hotel but with a cool, friendly, relaxed vibe.

We had a great stay – the restaurant was stunning (we live in Sydney and this beat all our fine dining experiences hands down), the breakfast was unreal and the room was perfect. I would strongly recommend taking a premier room and getting the package that includes the restaurant, its great value for money!

We were particularly impressed by the staff and in particular were well looked after by Hannah and Kat – who made us feel extremely welcome!

Room Tip: We chose the king suite with ocean view which was stunning!!! Very Quiet on the 20th floor and an un...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £103 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing