We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to check out all QT now !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Soldiers Point
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Want to check out all QT now !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were recommended by a friend and stayed for three nights, fantastic value, food bazaar was truly unique. Funky atmosphere friendly helpful staff. Great bar downstairs which is obviously supported by local gold coaters. Great location. Would love to bring out kids back as they would really get a kick out of the atmosphere. Quick bites room service was Delish. View was amazing. Cannot fault and will def be back ! Not your average 5 star hotel stay very boutique feeling.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Followthesun80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    822
    263
    82
    60
See reviews for
381
1,062
99
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
far nth nsw
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Well booking last minute and getting a decent deal, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as I hadn’t been there since the renovations. Well how times have changed. This Hotel has become a funky top class hotel which puts a lot of the competition to shame. Check in was very simple and the rooms are fantastic with so many little touches that come together to create a pleasurable stay. I’m sure I would be returning in the near future and it’s a nice change to find a quality hotel on the gold coast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colegate85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beat accommodation on the Gold Coast. Outstanding service, amazing rooms and the food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The food at Bazaar is AHHH MAZING!!!! we got ready for our wedding here and the service from all staff was so incredible. They helped all our hair and makeup ladies carry their gear up to our rooms and allowed them to park in the hotel parking lot free of charge. We will definitely be regulars here at this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Fantastic hotel with excellent service. We left the hotel once and we didn't even need to. We made full use of the pool, the spa pool, Sting Rays Bar, Bazaar restaurant for breakfast and dinner! It was a fantastic weekend away with the girls and the staff went above and beyond to help us out. Make sure to take advantage of the package - excellent value!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here for a conference, on the surface a nice hotel, but the service was very average. room service took bathmat and hand towels and didn't replace them; In Room dinning didn't deliver had to phone again, admittedly they waived the charge for the food.
The Breakfast was good, although like most Aussie Hotels expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPT-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monfrique, Guest Relations Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi RPT-35,

Thanks for the feedback, we will be sure to pass on your comments. We aim to continually improve our service and hope your next stay with us is deserving of 5/5.

Regards,
Monique
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading all the rave reviews (which I now think are fraudulent), my wife booked us the suite (best room) for two nights for our wedding anniversary. After staying in perhaps a dozen different hotels, I'd say this was the most expensive disappointment I've stayed at. Smaller rooms than the (Cheaper) Sheraton Mirage and without a spa!

We booked nearly 6 months in advance and my wife advised the lady via email (online booking) that it was our 4th wedding anniversary. We were promised a high-level room with ocean views and sparkling wine on arrival.

At check-in, we were not given any sort of directions as to how to get to our room (nor are there any signs to advise you of where to go to get to the separate lifts for the rooms from the car park lifts), we get to our 6th floor 'suite', which is merely a bedroom with a small lounge room. Upon opening the door the loud sound of the exhaust fan from the (awesome) Bazaar restaurant was pathetic - seriously QT, I paid over $700 for two nights, fix your damned fan!

I called down to reception and requested a move as I wouldn't be able to sleep with the amount of noise, let alone the written promise of a 'high-level' room. The receptionist who checked us in promised to organise something with a room being cleaned and advised for us to sit tight, she'll get back to us about the carpet drying and it should be before the cleaners finished (at 5pm - it was just 3pm). After sitting about, being careful not to disturb the room (about 2 minutes to 5) we get a call saying the room is ready, which is great. A young staffer came and relocated us to the 20th floor - which we were very happy about. The suite however, was identical, with cheap mirrors, a somewhat nice bathroom and a minibar so small, you couldn't even chill your long-life milk.

We ate at both the Teppanyaki and Bazaar restaurants and both of these were the main attraction, with Bazaar being more-so. I would have prefered to pay similar money and stay at (the similarly pretentious but with infinitely more trained and helpful staff) Palazzo Versace and eat at Bazaar.

We also visited the SpaQ, which was a disaster. My wife had her eyebrows tinted and an eyebrow wax, from which she received BURNS. She also found out about a 'buy-2-get-1-free' deal at the spa only an hour after we visited (viewing the Spa's website), we tried calling to get in on this deal on the day ,as it was not offered by staff, even though she purchased two items (better customer service from McDonalds) but no answer.

Upon visiting the next morning after breakfast we were received with lackluster customer service and a mere 'I'll tell her [the waxer]' about the BURN to my wife's face. We were also told we were not able to receive a free item because the 'system had already balanced the day before' and that she can't refund and recreate an order to give my wife a free item - which is absurd, as my employment is working with Point Of Sale systems and without such a function she would never be able to refund any items - which is against consumer laws in Australia. Simply a joke.

We left a little dazed by the stupidity and without wanting to push it further, after all, we had just exclaimed that we were given poor customer service, left with a possible permanent facial scar and met with mere indifference and weren't even offered a product for free? I would have fired the staff member on the spot if I was the manager, even if out of fear of litigation alone! Gobsmacked.

Upon checkout we were not asked to confirm if we had left the car park, nor were we given a card to leave, only to recall we needed a pass to leave once we have driven to the gate. I was forced to reverse and find a park. I found and asked a concierge about how I was able to exit, upon which the concierge chastised ME about not getting a car park pass to leave! Again, gobsmacked and shocked that the customer was to blame! Those silly customers with all their money paying wages. We were also charged for a soft drink (that was left in the mini-bar by mistake) we purchased elsewhere. The brand isn't even stocked in the mini-bar by the hotel! That's a new one for us!!

Sadly, the QT hotel reminds me of one of those cheap clothes stores frequented by teenagers. On the outside the fitout seems nice, inviting, beachy and funky. Upon closer inspection the cracks, pathetic staff training and enthusiasm are only held together by the decent amenities and restaurants.

As I previously mentioned, the Palazzo is a quick cab-ride (for Bazaar) and rooms can be had (look around!) for similar prices and are a class above this 3.5 star hotel with a fancy foyer.

Room Tip: If you're forced at gun-point to book at this hotel, get the highest room you can or perhaps an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickLeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monfrique, Guest Relations Manager at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello NickLeash,

That's quite a claim you've made there in the title of your review - I can assure you TripAdvisor does not allow suspicious reviews to be posted and they are quite vigilant in ensuring all reviews are in fact genuine. I think the sheer volume of fantastic reviews speak for themselves.
None the less, we have taken your comments on board. It sounds like QT Gold Coast simply wasn't your cup of tea, which we can appreciate.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to the beautiful Gold Coast anyway.
Kind Regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I travel constantly and rarely really LOVE somewhere. I am also someone generally immune to marketing but really, I love this place so much I want to actually buy all the fun stuff in the room. These guys are geniuses..... the staff are extraordinary - thoughtful and nice, food is fabulous, decor funky and fun. Just feels great here, generous. Softest clean blanket in the cupboard, softest bed, biggest wide pillow..... and free lemonade... ie HOMEMADE lemonade that you can play with and make yourself in your room or in the foyer.

This place is fun, lovely, special. Much as I generally hate the Gold Coast I want to come back.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms on the higher floors are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonipow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing