We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for a conference for 5 days! Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean and spacious! Very retro trendy hotel! Food in Stingray is good. Room Service food is poor. The standout is the breakfast is is amazing! The choice is second to none, there is nothing you I'll wish for! Location. To the each is fantastic, a short walk. When the tram service finally gets up and running for the general public it will make everything much more accessible! Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,366
    860
    278
    91
    64
See reviews for
401
1,107
105
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake , QLD
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and decided to book 2 nights , with a free upgrade to ocean view. Also had 2 for the price of one breakfast.

On arrivals about 4pm we were asked if we needed a hand with our bags. The desk told us that they were was a island life party happening in the stingray bar, that we were welcome to join. Free cocktails and canapés .
We went to drop off bags at room and went down to bar. Amazing service and lovely friendly people.
Later we went walk into surfers and down the market stalls. Great locations. So easy to walk anywhere.
The room was very nice and clean. Down side the water pressure was very bad.
Breakfast was amazing. So much to choose from. Bit pricey at $32 each but we had 2 for 1.
We did mention for the desk that our water pressure was very low and they moved us. Em went up to the top floor. No balconys on the top but amazing views.
We had a snack in the stingray bar. Amazing nachos.
Wh booked a message at the spa. Amazing. We had use of the steam room before hand. So relaxing.
Massage were great too and not too bad a price.

Why didn't use the outside hot tub as it was a little chilli but it all cry clean and tidy.

Great place to stay. Look for specials...

Room Tip: Views are amazing all round. Check the water pressure before you unpack. Look at specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

It's nearly a year sine we stayed at QT GOLD COAST with the Lions supporters tours. As on every supporters tours you stay at many different types of hotel and the QT was the one we were worried about having seen the photos on line. No doubt it is different to your standard hotels but that what made it stand out in a crowd if six hotels in 19 days.
Best breakfast of all
Best views of all
No matter what side of hotel you are the views are great either the ocean or the river with hills in the background. I would suggest if stay for two weeks you swop rooms halfway to get the other view.
Excellent resort unfortunately loads if roadworks fir new tram system being done but I guess should be complete and that will held get around.
Well worth a visit if you want something different in hotels.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NorthWalesRugbyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just spent 10 days at the QT for a Surfer's Paradise holiday. We chose this hotel because it was advertised as 5 Star, and the service proved to be real quality. The hotel employs diverse nationalities on the staff and it was great to talk to them and hear their stories. None were too busy not to smile and greet us, and stop for a moment to give us their time. Our room was serviced by Lily, who did a great job, leaving the room looking fresh and crisp each day. The Bazaar Restaurant was amazing in its choice of dishes for both breakfast and dinner, and to be greeted by name by Rory on our second dinner visit made us feel very special. Elizabeth and Cara stood out for personal service and Shannon and Georgie took time for a chat and a joke. The morning shift was led by Natalie at the desk whose greeting smile would brighten any day. Anna was very helpful at the table and Michelle behind the buffet went out of her way to order my favourite Danish pastries especially for me! Cat at the concierge desk was incredibly helpful over any query, including bookings, sights to see and hotel systems. We have owned and operated 5 Star motels and know that any problems must be pointed out to the staff immediately so they have the chance to correct them for the future. Any small quibbles we had were dealt with at once and pleasantly, making our stay truly memorable. The hotel management should be proud to have people of such calibre on their staff. We will return as you always go back to see family, and that is what QT made us feel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have the sound of the surf
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurscourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well if you are here for the experience it is a nice enough place. Position only a couple of hundred meters from the beach, it is located in an ideal spot. I arrived at midday expecting to be be checked in after traveling for almost 4 hrs only to be told that check in wasn't till 2pm. There was no way after much discussion that they where going to make a room available. I was not happy, I asked if there where any facilities to change and I had to use the toilets. Nor did the desk staff take the opportunity to say, we can make our facilities available to you in the interim, and you may order lunch. Big loss, I went and spent my money elsewhere. The staff certainly need to be educated in up selling!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We decided to see our AFL team play the Gold Coast Suns and combine it with a long weekend with friends in Surfers. On of our friends had stayed at QT previously and recommended we all stay there and it was brilliant.

From pulling up in the car and being greeted by the concierge who whisked our bags off to our rooms to a seamless check in by friendly staff, our weekend started on a very good note and this continued for the remainder of our 3 night stay. All the staff we encountered were friendly, obliging and seriously could not do enough for us.

The hotel is decorated retro 1960s and the decor was a bit of fun and different from the norm.

Dinner and breakfast in Bazaar was amazing and I can see why they have an award for best buffet breakfast. It really is worth trying. It was busiest on the Sunday morning because they get a lot of bookings from outside and this was the only day we had to queue for about 5 minutes.

The weather was beautiful all weekend. We enjoyed cocktails by the pool - if there was one downside it was that that pool was freezing, we all enjoyed the spa because sadly the pool was too cold to swim in - and this was for people who are used to the cold. If the pool was heated it would have been perfect. The ocean temp was 21 degrees and warmer than the pool.

We also enjoyed drinks in the Stingray bar and again the service was good. It was very quiet in the bar on Sunday night but Friday and Saturday were packed.

We were on the 17th floor and our room had an excellent view of the ocean and I opened the curtains when we went to bed because I enjoyed waking up to the sunrise and watching the surfers out catching waves. The bed was ultra comfortable, the room was spacious and the bathroom had been renovated and was modern with a large walk in shower. The towels were large and fluffy and the room was equipped with everything you would expect - it even had umbrellas and a shoe horn. We did not hear any noise from our neighbours and slept really well.

The hotel is well located, one block from the beach and a couple of blocks from Cavill Mall. There is a new light rail running past the hotel with a stop a few metres away, it appeared to be finished and the trams were running but it was still in the commissioning stage so we didn't get to use it, but I would think it will be up and running for passengers very soon and will make getting around very easy.

We were given a 1pm late check out because we are members of their rewards club and a few other benefits so it is worth joining up before booking.

Would I come back to QT? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geel0nggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It wasn't the greatest start to my partner and my selfs' day. Arriving at the QT we expected to be able to Check-in at 10am when we arrived but were soon to find out that we would not be able to until 2pm, we were not happy. So they took our bags to hold and look after so we assumed that when our room was ready they would take them up there ready for us.

After 4 hours of waiting for the room we finally got checked in and told tat our bags would be sent up to meet us in our room. They weren't and waited another hour for them to arrive in saying that we had to call three times to chase them up to get them brought.

From there things got better and our stay became a lot nicer to be there. As to leaving the room at an early hour the next day we didn't return till late and it was nice to come back to a clean and tied room with fresh towels.

The buffet breakfast was really good, and coming from a chefs view myself I was very impressed. There was a lot on offer and all perfectly cook well done to the restaurant. The wait staff was also very polite and friendly, this helping us change our minds a little of the place.

Over all, the hotel is a very nice place to stay although I didn't find the reception staff friendly or overly approachable. An few fix ups need to happen. Like the noise the air-conditioner makes also the humming from the vents on the roof of the kitchen. One other thing I didn't like was bright light that came through the door from the hall way maybe the lights need dimming as they were annoying when it came to sleeping.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear past QT Gold Coast guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Property: QT Gold Coast
Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing