We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel”
Review of QT Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful room with view to die for. Friendly and helpful staff. Really interesting hotel restaurant and bar. Unfortunately we only had one night on the Gold Coast, would love to have been able to truly chill out in the room for longer. All good!

Room Tip: a sea view is the only way to go!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helenlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,728)
There are newer reviews for QT Gold Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,549 - 1,555 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was expecting the average old hotel , well I soon changed that way of thinking. A staff member full of energy and dressed to match , welcomed us thus the door . Just offered to take our bags , but I was wowed . The theme of the hotel is bright and fun feeling . Check in was fast and also full of energy . Off to our room we went and enjoyed the decor along the way . I felt like I really was staying the beach with a sixties modern feel .
We had a standard room , and it was perfect . Clean , modern had very thing you need for a stay .
I normally avoid the Gold Coast for a stay away .changed my way of thinking now .all of the staff we came in contact with did 10 out 10 job . Please times my review by 8 , as this is how many rooms we had amongst our group. Room service spot on , thanks to the valet . I will be Also writing a review of bazaar restaurant . Stingray bar , before dinner drinks and after dinner drinks perfect service , heaps of staff on hand . Very Polite security staff advised us they were closing. Well priced . Management please thank your staff and keep up,the good work .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Pro's:
Clean and modern rooms
Adjustable air conditioning
Attentive staff
Very quirky!
Coffee machine
Great location - close to beach and shops

Con's:
Bed was very uncomfortable! Mattress far too soft
Noisy lifts - quite disconcerting
Shampoo and conditioner smells horrible!
No cutlery provided

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I love staying in modern hotels and QT Gold Coast was perfect. It was furnished with kitch furnishings in bright colours that gave the place a homely feeling. We were so happy with the value for money. We recieved breakfast daily (not your typical included breakfast), a dinner (also not your typical included meal), and a $50 voucher to spend at the bar. In addition to this, we were given a bottle of champange on arrival to help celebrate our aniversary.
The hotel itself has been renovated and the facade is a little tired. Food was amazing - we didn't need to eat anywhere else! We particularly loved the cheesy fries - yum!
Staff were helpful and friendly. We found the location great - close enough to walk into town but not noisy.
We really loved our stay and will be back. This is one of our favourite hotels in Australia.

Room Tip: Ocean view really is worth it if you can. It was so nice to wake up to the view and helped me get ou...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nessydoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

So when you walk in at night, it feels a bit like a night club. Music is going, atmosphere is buzzing and then you step on the elevator and freak out because of the life sized images of well endowed retro looking girl !!! This hotel was impeccably clean, the bed was VERY comfortable, the food for room service was amazing and I am glad I stayed here. It's a little different to the usual poshy place you might stay in - the staff look like they walked off the set of "Happy Days" and it is a pretty nice set up. Close to centre of Surfers and close to beach. Good value too. The ONLY think I would say needs improving is the attitude of the younger staff members - they were more self-involved at the desk than guest focused. The Concierge lady was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I travelled to the Gold Coast and stayed at the QT Hotel for two nights last week. What a fabulous experience! From the second we walked through the doors we were blown away by the unique qualities of this hotel.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, offered freshly made lemonade and iced tea (all served on a cute soda cart) and shown to reception for check in. All staff were dressed in bright and colourful uniforms with a 50s twist. A great and exciting novelty.

The foyer area was brightly festooned with bright, coloured and beautifully patterned light fixtures, couches and tables. A quaint cafe displayed towers of jelly beans and macaroons (as well as fantastic coffee). The sunny lawn and pool area were clearly visible through the huge windows which let in heaps of sunshine. This entire area was "hip" and trendy and automatically made us feel as though we were definitely in for a different experience.

We had a river/mountain view room on the 13th floor and WOW!!! It didn't even matter that we weren't on the same side as the ocean because the view of the river, city and surrounding mountains was spectacular.

The spacious room was decked out in a very retro style (think Happy Days) with a massive (and spectacularly comfortable) king bed, a clean bathroom with a huge shower and the best mini bar we've ever seen. Lots of chocolates, sweets, drinks and even games and mementos that could either be purchased by taking them from the minibar or by visiting the gift shop on the ground floor. EVERYTHING in the room was offered for purchase in the gift shop - except the obvious. Lamps, mirrors, trays, glasses, games, lollies and biscuits could all be bought as soveniers. A great idea!

Everything about this hotel screams style and funkiness. The carpets, elevators, decor and wall features all gave off a vibe of being caught in another era. I loved every second of it. I couldn't take enough photos!

The hotel boasts 3 restaurants and a spa (for which you need to make appointments). Visit Stingray for a glass of wine or a (rather generously sized) cocktail. Sit in comfort on the many couches or sit outside in the sun on the lawn. The hotel also has a Tepanyaki restaurant (I can't remember it's name) and a smaller, more cafe-style restaurant on the first floor. This is where breakfast is served and that in itself is a huge treat! The entire space is dominated by a smorgasboard of items ranging from hot breakfast foods, to breads, yoghurts, museli, fresh fruit, individually bottled juices, a vast array of different kinds of milk and even cakes and pastries. Needless to say, we didn't go hungry! All food was fresh and incredibly delicious.

We would like to say a HUGE thank you to Beth, one of the girls who works the concierge desk. She bent over backwards to ensure our stay was comfortable and that we had everything we needed. She was also great to chat to and was genuinely interested in listening to what we'd be doing.

It's super easy to walk into the main shopping precinct from the QT. We enjoyed every second of the walk as to get into the main area we needed to walk right along the beach! Bus transfers and even taxis were easy to organise and picked you up right at the front door and dropped you off there later on. Easy! A cab to and from the theme parks from the QT was about $45 (each way). Cheap considering it's a half hour journey.

If there was anything to complain about it would have to be being pestered by a local who apparently frequents the hotel bar everyday. We made the mistake of saying hello and striking up a conversation and before we knew it he was trying to sell us all sorts of tourist experiences. We humoured him initially but made it quite clear we'd set our own itinerary. He came back the next day to look for us after which we politely told him to leave us alone. Apparently he is quite the fixture in the hotel and is renown for annoying guests. Rather than complain, just avoid engaging anyone named Peter in conversation. He was a pest and caused us some frustration.

All in all, a fantastic stay. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Do yourself a favour and organise to stay at the QT!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner are ideal for the best views. River/Mountain side just as great as the ocean vie...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BrookeSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment I parked the car I was blown away by the great service from all the staff who ensured a great short stay. The room was funky and comfortable with a great view even though it is not on the water. The location must be said is not in the thick of it, but it is not too far to the local 'sights'.

The only downside when I visited was the roadworks which not only made getting to the hotel a pain, but made it a bit difficult going for a walk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alldayidreamoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Gold Coast

Address: 7 Staghorn Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Gold Coast International Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#2 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#3 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £103 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location easy walking distance to the beach, Cavill Avenue shopping and the entertainment district, QT Gold Coast blends first class service with inspired facilities. Formerly the Gold Coast International Hotel, QT Gold Coast is a designer hotel haven unlike anything Surfer’s Paradise has seen before. Relax in our revamped pool area, energise on one of two newly re-topped tennis courts or indulge in the all new market place style Bazaar restaurant after sipping a coastal cocktail creation from Stingray Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qt Gold Coast Hotel Surfers Paradise
Hotel Gold Coast International
Gold Coast International Surfers Paradise
QT Gold Coast Surfers Paradise, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing