We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Island Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
CT USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine for what it is”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Definitely not a 3 star hotel and if you are staying in this area for 3 or more nights than you should book a nice serviced apartment for a similar rate. But for only slightly more than 100 bucks on a Sat night, and being right in the middle of all Surfers has to offer, I can't really have too many complaints. My main issue was that my end room had a "window" in the bathroom that was open to the elements but you could not tell this by looking at it considering the design of it. So when i left the bathroom light on for an hour while resting in bed before going out, i noticed a mosquito and other fun Australian insect party when i went to take a shower. Luckily the spare toilet paper roll makes quite an effective bug swatter and i was able to plug the hole with my other shower towel!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbdect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    105
    92
    49
    60
See reviews for
78
102
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

So we booked this room for one night as we had a wedding in surfers over the weekend. On arrival the reception was welcoming and swift. They gave me a handful of free coupons including free drinks at the hotel bar and cheap alcohol from the local bottlo.
When we got to the room it was large but dated, but considering the price that we paid for we didn't really care as it was only ever going to be used to house our bags and somewhere to crash from 4am till 10am. We had our own little lounge and kitchen with all the accessories. A king size bed and bathroom.
The reception was open 24hrs and when we got back early in the morning we were still able to ask what the best way to get to the airport was. However the graveyard shift staff member did make us wait about 5mins to talk to us whilst he played something on the computer.

I would suggest it for others if you are planning on a big night in surfers and don't want to pay for cabs all of the place as the location in a block away from cavill ave and 200m from melbas.
Fr the price you need to remember that you aren't getting the same as the Hilton but you don't really need it if you plan on staying out and away from your hotel.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irh, General Manager at The Island Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Sounds like it was a great evening!, thank you for your transparency with your stay and reiterating what a fantastic location the property offers. Our rooms are spacious due to the age of the property and we are currently working on a refurbishment program to present to the property’s owner. Thank you for the feedback in relation to our night staff and this will be raised accordingly.
We look forwarding to welcoming you on your next visit to Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed there 20 years ago with our three young boys and the rooms are exactly the same. Very, very tired with the corners of all the furniture knocked off and the chipboard edges exposed. It was clean and the hot shower worked but a constant drip from the hand basin was a bother and the noise from crazy party goers running up the hall around midnight was very disturbing. The hotel definitely needs completely redoing and that is very evident in the downstairs foyer and especially the breakfast area.For backpackers and those on tight, tight budgets it is in a great position at the end of Cavil Mall but there are loads of better hotels in the immediate surrounds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing south are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place needs a serious make over. Granted it is high traffic and budget accommodation for backpackers but the hotel style rooms are seriously run down.

My main gripe during this visit was the fact a serious water leak occurred above our room, soaking all of my stuff and forcing my friend on to the couch due to soaked bed.
We immediately notified staff and the response was to put a bucket under the leak.
Water continued to get worse as the night went on and throughout the night and more leaks appeared.
No attempt made by management to relocate us or any offer of refund. The hotel was fully booked however I would expect a contingency be in place for such a serious problem. The impression I got on the numerous times that I reported the problem was that this is a common issue.

Only one lift operating causing a lot of frustration for all guests.

The pool and spa area is good and appears to be well maintained.
Dinner at the restaurant was also good however breakfast was not so.

Staff were overall helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedave84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Islander hotel is a low cost but good service providing hotel. The rooms on one side gives u a fantastic view of sea and the city.
Services are nice so as the staff. Hotel is well equipped with all the facilities which we need for a comfortable stay.
Only drawback is that the apartments do not not have A/c in the hall, its there in the bedroom only.

Room Tip: The rooms facing towards the sea/city have better views. Prefer on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohnishKapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We (family of 3 adults) had an overnight stay at the Islander. The room was very clean, water was hot, had views of the ocean and the pool from the balcony. Undercar parking (at no extra cost) was appreciated and the hotel was easy to find. Very central to Cavill Mall and the beach. Rates were very reasonable for the Gold Coast over the Christmas holiday period.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The location is definitely the best thing going for this hotel!
It is in walking distance to the beach, shops, resturants, etc.
Pool is large and great option for those who don't like the beach.

Rooms were run down, unclean and showers don't work properly. There was no water pressure in the shower and the hot and cold water were very sensitive and hard to get to the right temperature.

There was air conditining in the room which was great and worked well.

We booked a 2 room apartment which only really had 1 room and a living area. It was titled a self contained appartment and had a fridge/freezer, microwave and oven with stove but with very few pieces of cutlery and bowls/plates.

Had everything worked and the room been more modern it would have been an absolutely fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniW_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Boutique Hotel

Property: The Island Boutique Hotel
Address: Islander Resort 3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Islander Resort Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Island Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
The Island Boutique Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing