We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to spoil you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Island Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Island Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“How to spoil you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place is paradise in surfer paradise! Everything is so convenient with a simple walk up the road. The staff were great, the view was excellent and we can't wait to go back and stay again! The room had an ensuite and bar fridge and it's own safe that was cheap to use! With bus stops 2 minutes away having a go card made travelling so simple!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NushNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irh, General Manager at The Island Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear KiwiJo2013,
Location, Location, Location!. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Surfers Paradise and the Islander. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and the new light rail system will be passing our door by mid-2014 which will make transportation a breeze. The closest station is on the next corner so your go card will interface perfectly. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Dean Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    104
    91
    49
    60
See reviews for
76
102
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I just returned from a weekend the Islander Resort and we absolutely loved it. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room was perfect. Clean, tidy and the bed was massive. Our balcony looked straight out over Surfers Paradise Boulevard and out to the ocean, could not have asked for more. Location could not have been more perfect, so close to the beach and shopping. The pool is beautiful - well maintained and not too busy.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irh, General Manager at The Island Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear KiwiJo2013,
Nothing better than a weekend away on the Gold Coast, we are pleased to hear you shared it with the Islander and our fantastic employees. Our central location makes a night or a week away super convenient and we look forward to welcoming you back this year. Remember to ask for a King size bed again next time :). We value and appreciate your feedback.
Kind Regards
Dean Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a run down place. Very old and needs an upgrade very very badly.
The toilet smelled worse than a public toilet. Breakfast was bad and
absolutely the same lousy breakfast every other day. Positive point clean
towel, bed sheets and great location. Rest was all lousy. I am being very
conservative here when I say bad/lousy. It was really terrible!! Will not
recommend staying here again. Just spend a little extra and find a nicer
hotel around this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irh, General Manager at The Island Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Saralae,
Thank you kindly for providing your feedback and we are sincerely sorry for the poor experience you have encountered. I note your breakfast and bathroom concerns and will certainly review accordingly. We appreciate the positive feedback on our linen and location.
Kind Regards
Dean Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in the hotel last Christmas and it was probably one of the worst hotels I ever stayed.
Room and specially bathroom were dirty.
However nothing compares to the dreadful customer services I experienced during my stay. I was staying in a room and the room next door to mine was loud, having parties since 3 in the afternoon, I could not even stay in my room.

I complained at reception several times and about 7:00 pm I asked to talk to the duty manager and complained about it. He told me he would check it and do something. At 8:00 I complained again and to my surprise I heard that I was being unreasonable, that the noise was not loud and they could do whatever they wanted until 10:00 pm, that it was staying in Surfers Paradise and if I wanted to stay in the room without any noise I should not go Surfers paradise, he also added that it was Christmas holidays, when people were having a good time and he could not ask them to stop it because of me. After this he said that he could change me to another room, from a different category but I had to pay extra for it.
The party was on until 11:30 when I called reception again and was about to call the cops about the noise.
I have stayed in many other hotels at Surfers Paradise and around the world and NEVER seen anything like this.

It is a kind of place that a poor management ruins a hotel in a great locations.

Stay away of this hotel for your own sake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahMello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irh, General Manager at The Island Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear DeborahMello,
We are truly disappointed to hear that you had such an unpleasant experience with our Hotel and team. As an older property we recognise that our customer service must excel and we have clearly failed on this occasion. I will personally action the items raised and understand that this should have been handled very differently. You are welcome to email me directly on info@islander.com.au should you wish to discuss any further. Our team receives praise on a daily basis and I am sorry that you were not able to experience this.
Thank you for providing your feedback and I do apologise for the inconvenience.
Kind Regards
Dean Cooper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Despite the location steer well clear of this aging 60's hotel.
Obviously going for the hippy youth budget market, as it appears others are staying well clear.
The place has a seedy ambiance.
If you like noisy parties throughout the night and not that worried about cleanliness or decor then this is the place for you.
We complained to Reception and Manager about the noise and dirty bathrooms but they did nothing and did not want to listen to our complaints the second night. Thought we being unreasonable. Ended up moving some place else just to get some sleep. Surf Parade Resort same price but worlds apart from this place.
As it says in its Trip Advisor ranking the price is above average but the value is well below average. There are plenty of better value hotels in Surfers Paradise.
I should have paid more attention to the poorer reviews here in Trip Advisor as they proved to be more accurate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTatler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Very easy to get to the beach, just walk 2 minutes to Hard Rock Shop or 5 minutes to Surfers Paradise Beach. We didn't bring any traveller adapter so we borrowed from the reception at no cost, this is great so we no need to buy a new one.
Also easy to get a bus (walking to bus station about 7-10 minutes) to MovieWorld or SeaWorld and surrounding by many shop & restaurant. Halal food a bit tricky to find but in front of the hotel there is 1 pizza shop which has halal sign.
Gold Coast is one of may fav place, I'll come again & if I need hotel with reasonable price I will looking for this hotel again :)

Room Tip: If your power adapter if not suitable, you may borrow from the receptionist 1,2 or even 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex_R3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have got ourselves a free upgrade to a one-bedroom apartment from a standard room.
It was indeed a pleasant stay! We love it!
The unit is spacious and clean.
And they provided all the cooking utensils and they even have oven, microwave, a fridge.

The location is pretty convenient where it's located right at the heart of surfers paradise.

They have a swimming pool as well but too bad we didn't get to enjoy in it due to limited of time. I must try it on my next visit!

However, girls please be aware of some drunk guys around the hotel as there are pubs around.

Room Tip: Go for a one-bedroom apartment if you are looking for a more pleasant stay at surfers paradise! You...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elsmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Boutique Hotel

Property: The Island Boutique Hotel
Address: Islander Resort 3128 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Islander Resort Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Island Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islander Resort Hotel is located in the heart of Surfers Paradise, only a block from the famous Surfers Paradise Beach and the excitement of Cavill Avenue. The hotel is located on the corner of Beach Road and Surfers Paradise Blvd, only a short walk to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Accommodation consists of Standard Hotel Rooms or One Bedroom Apartments. All rooms feature a private balcony, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, refrigerator, clock radio and in-room safe. Apartments also have full kitchen facilities.Guests can enjoy free use of full resort facilities including tropical outdoor pool, spa, steam room, tennis and squash courts. Other hotel facilities include 24 hour internet café, on-site bottleshop, 24 hour reception, tour desk, on-site car rental, laundry facilities and limited undercover parking. Vegas in Paradise Restaurant, Bar and Gaming lounge is located on the ground floor and a new outdoor café is now open serving fresh coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Island Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Surfers Paradise
Islander Surfers Paradise
The Island Boutique Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing