We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud Doors!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loud Doors!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was a lovely hotel unfortunately the room doors when they closed were very loud. We stayed on floor three and there were several guests who departed at around 4.30am. The closing of the doors was loud enough to wake us up. Reception also repeatedly rang with wake calls for the other rooms which we could also hear. The guests weren't answering the calls so a staff member came up and knocked on the doors announcing loudly 'Wake up call.'

In addition after our first night house keeping didn't service the room, I had to ask on the second day to get it done. A bottle of white wine that was in the mini bar had the seal broken I can only assume by a previous guest.

The staff were of course apologetic, but really I think for a 4 1/2 star hotel the noise levels and lack of room servicing is unacceptable.

Room Tip: Noisy doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay although I naturally regret that you did not enjoy a comfortable nights sleep with us with what appears to be a number of guests on your floor leaving very early in the morning.

We remain conscious of the need to ensure people receive a wake-up call that they have booked - on those occasions that the wake-up phone call is not answered we do attend the room and before knocking and entering any room we must announce accordingly. I will meet with my team and ask them to remain mindful of the needs of both those that have a booked wake-up call as well as those trying to enjoy a good nights sleep.

Please accept my most sincere apologies that your room was not serviced accordingly and that you could not enjoy a relaxing nights sleep.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    788
    354
    144
    121
See reviews for
446
787
103
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The facilities are great. We stayed in a spa suite on 21st floor which was very spacious. Even had two toilets ! Great view from our room. Conveniently located to beaches shops and transport. Internet access was over priced and our only real complaint was with check in. We arrived at 12 noon. Room was not available until 2pm. We completed our check in and signed all the paperwork. We left our bags with the concierge and went for walk. Upon our return there was a HUGE queue of people checking in.
We approached the concierge to ask for our bags and
key only to learn that we then had to join the queue in order to collect our key. Twenty mins later we got our key. A separate queue for key collection would make a lot of sense. It was a very frustrating and unnecessary process.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The Spa Suites are great and I am pleased you found our location so convenient. I take your point regarding having to wait in-ine for your key when you have registered earlier in the day and I will work through with my Front Office Manager ways in which we can better deliver in this regard.

I do appreciate the feedback and thanks again for choosing to stay with us whilst you were on the Gold Coast. I hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here on a work conference. The hotel staff did a great job in looking after the conference attendees. Throughout the stay the food (snacks, lunches, dinner) was excellent. Breakfast was also fine although the breakfast serving area was at times overwhelmed by the number of guests...long queues for the single coffee, hot water machine etc.

If you want to be in the midst of Surfers then this is a good location one block from the beachfront.

The hotel doesn't seem to have much in the way of communal areas for guests - the bar is pretty small, I could imagine it could be very busy quite easily.

The rooms are just OK...a little dated, particularly the bathroom - the extraction system seemed to be next to useless so the mirror was always steamed up.

All in all though it was a good stay and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay whilst conferencing at the Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and that the team provided a high standard of service, making it an enjoyable stay overall.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next on the Gold Coast.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Great location - 1 block from the beach and three short blocks from the main Surfer's area. Large clean rooms and the view to the ocean was fantastic. Only complaint was the king sized bed was actually twin beds pushed together making a ridge in the middle.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzMum231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay last month - great that you enjoyed our location, clean rooms and ocean views although sorry that the king zipper bed did not prove 100% comfortable.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the not too distant future and thanks again for posting your feeback on-line.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I and my wife stayed at the Mantra Legends Hotel, Gold Coast for 10 nights July 2011. The Hotel was very nice, clean and modern with a lovely pool area.
The staff were all most helpful and friendly during our visit.
We were upgraded (at a small cost) to a Studio King room which was also clean and modern. It had a proper king size bed (two good 3/4s pushed together...) which was comftable - the pillows also! The bathroom was VERY clean - the room also had a kitchenette, with 2 hotplates, microwave, dishwasher, sink and mini fridge. The air conditioning was fine, it could be set to run all night and was not loud at all, there was also a balcony with a small table and chairs. There were no loud noises during the night and people noise from other rooms was muffled. The room was serviced each day.

We had the buffet breakfast once from the hotel restaurant and it was good for the price. Everything we asked for was provided.
Cavill Ave is just a short walk away! Q1 is 1 block - ckech the internet for access deals!!
Great views (Floor 16) and great location - GOOD VALUE>

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again some time soon.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and i stayed at this hotel while celebrating a very special occasion. In previous correspondence with management, I was assured we would be looked after and would get a great deal on the Spa Suite that we wanted to book. Upon arrival to the hotel and then our room, we were both extremely impressed with the staff, the hotel itself and the layout of the room. We opened the door to our spa suite and were met by a very nice greeting card congratulating us on our special occasion and a bottle of champagne. Management were just so easy to talk to and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as what it was. We were very very impressed and will definately be back again!!!! Thanks Mantra Legends for our memorable time at your hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksreview3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Congratulations again on your special occasion and thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing feedback regarding your time at the Hotel.

I am pleased the team did such a great job in contributing to a special time away and I look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarraville, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Before writing this review I did some research on how hotels etc get their star rating. The Mantra Legends is rated 4 1/2 stars, by whom I don't know. The star system however is based on what they offer rather than the quality that is offered. They do offer a conceige, mini bar, gym and swimming pool, however I've found that they have misrepresented themselves quite significantly, for example pop onto their website and have a look at the picture of the the gymnasium. Half of the equipment in the photo isn't actually in the gym!

The room itself was sufficient but certainly not of a 4 1/2 star quality standard. Small, outdated and the bathroom was grubby, not from lack of cleaning, but lack of maintainence.
It's location is fantastic, central to surfers shops/restaurants etc. Staff were friendly and helpful, but we likely won't stay here again.
If you want somewhere to stay that's close to the beach/restaurants/shops and don't care so much about quality/cost, then this is the perfect place.

Room Tip: You don't stay here for the hotel entertainment so any room will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay although I am naturally concerned that we did not meet your expecatations in some areas.

The Hotel has been officially rated by AAA Tourism - the main national body that assigns a hotel with an appropriate star rating - this was done following an extensive review of all aspects of the Hotel and does include quality measurements. The star rating that we advertise is not self-rated in any way.

You are 100% correct with regard to the gym photo - a number of items of equipment in the photo have been removed whilst others have been added. I have immediately removed this photo from our website to avoid any further confusion in this regard.

I am pleased that the team have provided you with a high standard of service and that the location of the property proved convenient. Whilst you have indicated that you are unlikely to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly on vince.king@mantra.com.au if I can be of service or should you choose to give us another opportunity to accommodate you.

Thanks again for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Property: Mantra Legends Hotel
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. For more car parking information please contact Mantra Legends (parking is subject to availability). Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Legends will undergo exterior repainting of the building from 13 March until 10 July 2017. The works will involve pressure cleaning and remedial work to the building’s exterior prior to re-painting. Work will be carried out from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, no works will be undertaken on the weekends. Mantra Legends Hotel management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing