We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Price we Paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary with a wonderful deal with Wotif. For the price we paid, we had great value for money. However, for the "normal" price it is quite average in what is provided. We were on the 18th floor and so had excellent views but these were essentially the canals and the ferris wheel rather than the ocean which was obscured by large buildings in front of our window. The lifts were amazingly modern and we liked the keyless entry to our room - just held up the card to the panel. We were upgraded to a "deluxe" room which, it appears just meant that we had a dishwasher, microwave and a very small number of kitchenware - just 2 cups, 2 glasses, 2 plates etc etc. The bed was good - kingsize. The TV was flat screen which was great except that it did not show the digital channels commonly available on the Gold Coast. As we wished to see the Australian Open tennis, we actually drove to our home to watch it as it was not available on the stations provided at the time we wished to view it. This was very disappointing. The bathroom was clean but rather small and there were minimal products provided - 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner etc. As the room is only serviced once per week, if you wish to get clean towels or more products, you need to call Reception. We did this on our 2nd morning and were assured that we could get them. However, they never arrived!! My husband went to Recption himself and got 2 beach" towles, some shampoo but couldn't get Conditioner. This is not really good enough for a hotel which claims to be of the calibre of Mantra. I ended up using my own Conditioner which I had brought from home. I would have been very disappointed had I been an overseas or interstate guest relying on the service of the hotel. On the plus side, the breakfast were superb and both mornings we were greeted by a charming gentlemen (I think his name was Vince). He was so friendly which was more than could be said for the employees in the restaurant who were polite but quite distant and cool. The location of Legends is very good - central to the main part of Surfers and close to the beach. However, this whole area and, indeed, Legends is showing it age. At "normal" rates, I would say that a traveller could do much better in one of the comparable hotels in Surfers or Broadbeach, the latter being a much nicer area but with less attractions.

Room Tip: Aim for a room on a higher level with an uninterrupted ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helena-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

The hotel is pretty centrally located and the room size is decent. But the thing that is missing is the personal touch and professionalism.
The hotel is not totally owned by one group or owner but the rooms have been sold to different people hence the stay doesn't become that great.
The lights in the rooms are pretty less.
All the rooms are not facing the esplanade. For those rooms you have to pay more.
The staff too is not very courteous.
The food was decent though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gautam9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were very impressed by the efficient and friendly service from the staff members. The pool area is gorgeous and there's lots of lounges to lie on. We stayed in a deluxe studio room and were pleased with the size/layout/balcony/cleanliness, but the room is getting a tiny bit tired looking. For the price we paid, we were happy with it though! The TV is a flat screen but its not digital so there were limited channels which was annoying. The friendly service, the pool area and the price you pay make this a worthwhile place to stay on a budget! The only thing is I couldn't stand the bed - my partner didn't mind it - but I felt like my side was going numb and ended up trying to sleep on my stomach! The hotel is located very close to the beach and Cavill Avenue, without being right amongst the noise. Thanks for a good stay Mantra!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueberry_Carrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Legends in January this year and were pleased with what we got!! We got the special Wotif deal and had a studio deluxe room on the eigths floor with ocean view (room 812). The room is spacious enough for two and has (since they revamped the rooms) a flatscreen TV. Everything was well maintained and clean, staff was helpfull and always there to help. I dont have to go into details about location (everything said in precious reviews) you are in the centre of everything and very close to the beach. If you staying for longer it is worth to book ocean view as it makes all the difference.
Very different previous reports about breakfast which I only can relate to different times people are having their breakfast. With three hours time behind New Zealand it was easy for us to have brekki at 6am, when the restaurant opens. You've got a choice of three different newspapers, your coffee is grinded and brewed fresh within seconds from the most amazing coffeemachine and the variety of hot and cold food covers most tastebuds. We couldn't asked for more and celebrated an hours breakfast as you can do while on holiday. Different scenario when you are a late bird as we watched the queue waiting to be seated by round about 9am when we were ready to leave the hotel. Guess that's when items are running out and peoples choices become limited.
Only downfall of the hotel was the plumbing from our next door room as the guests there liked to have a shower in the middle of the night and we got woken up by noise coming from some sort of air in the pipes. The last two nights we got unfortunately some new neighbours (noisy morons) with no respect for other guests but this is not really an issue of the hotel. So, well done Legends, we would stay in your hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIN4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We chose this hotel via wotif and using the wot deal. ie we didn't know which hotel we had booked until after we had actually made the booking.
The hotel is in a great location, close to everything.
We stayed for 3 nights and had a room on the 4th level. Next time I would ask for a room on a higher level which would no doubt have a better view.
We we arrived we were met out the front in the driveway by the concierge. He was very helpful and offered to bring in our luggage. The check-in staff were friendly and efficient. We were allowed to leave our car out front until we had checked into our room before returning to park it in the garage underneath. Parking costs $17 a night, which I think is a little expensive.
The room was great with 2 queens size beds. I had my 2 kids with me so they had to share a bed which was not issue and they knew they would be doing this prior to arrival.
The bathroom was reasonably modern and clean. They had good products available, but on one morning they failed to replace the shampoo so I had to call and ask for more which arrived very quickly.
The kids ate from the in-room dining menu on the first night. The kids meals were really good value at $10.50 each. They were really good size servings suitable for teenagers and the food was clearly fresh.
The beds were comfortable. The room has a tv and it could be improved by providing greater tv channel selection. It did not provide all the free to air digital channels now available.
There was a small balcony for the room with 2 chairs and a small table. The furniture was rusty, which I guess happens when you are close to the beach.
The hotel has a nice bar area with comfy lounges. The hotel also has a great swimming pool and the kids had a great time in it.
There are many restaurants close by as well as supermarkets.
The hotel does not supply bowls or plates in the room so they are clearly not expecting you to bring food back to the room to prepare or eat. They also only supply glasses and cups for 2 people, which is a bit odd given that the room can cater for 4 people. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curfew156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Legends over NYE and for a couple of days after. It is very busy at this time of year which is understandable.
The room was OK with good views as we were on the 20th Floor (One from the top). The Bed was comfortable and the cleaning service was good each day.

Recommend the Hotel breakfast as this was always fresh and the staff were very friendly.

All in All not to bad - good for walking around the Gold Coast - Calvil Ave and there parking is easy as well ( Bit expensive at $25 per day).

Room Tip: Go the Upper Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tys63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at Mantra Legends during last Christmas break. Booked a regular studio room but upgraded to a deluxe ocean view at check-in which was a nice touch. The hotel parking ($17/day) was full and I was directed to a nearby parking spot that charges $35/week. Though it added a little inconvenience but saved us some money.

Room was adequate with a kitchenette, flat screen tv, comfy bed and a small balcony with decent view. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate and while the food quality was ok, it was bland and definitely lacked variety. No made to order egg station was a let down. The best thing of staying in Mantra Legends is the location as the other reviewers mentioned. It's practically in the center of surfers paradise and very close to the beach, shopping, and a variety of excellent food outlets (Indian, Thai, Malaysian) that cater for every taste buds that embrace spicy food. Hotel staff were very friendly and the room service was prompt.

Overall a very positive experience other than the bland breakfast buffet. We will stay there again in future but w/o the breakfast option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longhorn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £66 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Legends rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Legends will undergo exterior repainting of the building from 13 March until 4 August 2017. The works will involve pressure cleaning and remedial work to the building’s exterior prior to re-painting. Work will be carried out from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, no works will be undertaken on the weekends. Mantra Legends Hotel management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing