We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Not impressed with the lack of urgency from the staff. Room was poor tv small and soiled curtains, grouting and very tired room. Asked for a room change which was not much better. This hotel needs attention, great location but tired rooms.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jacejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi jacejen

Thanks for sharing your feedback although I am sorry that the room you were first allocated was tired in appearance - I am pleased that the team were able to move you to a more suitable room. Without further detail I cannot specifically respond as to the lack of urgency from staff other than to apologise that you found this to be the case.

I do appreciate all feedback we receive as it does assist in managing our business so thanks again for your post.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    923
    421
    170
    141
See reviews for
534
939
119
339
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at Ledgends on a work trip in March 2012. When I entered the hotel room, I found a cockroach strolling across the floor - bad enough. The highlight was sitting on the bed watching the TV and had a cockroach walking over the bed. It was disgusting. To their credit they at least moved me to a new room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi Bolliegirl

Thanks for taking some time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

I am really sorry that you found cockroachs in your room and completely understand your dissatisfaction - I am pleased that the team were able to move you to a more suitable room.

In any warm climate hotel that has the majority of it's rooms with balconies and sliding doors, it is difficult to completely control insects. Whilst our pest control program was up to date, I have had a full pest control program repeated in early April to ensure we are doing everything we can to minimise any chance of a cockroach entering a room.

Thanks again for your post and please again accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

For my birthday my partner chose Mantra basically as we'd stayed in others before and been relatively happy. There's far too much choice on the Gold Coast so kinda stick with what you know.

We paid over $200 a night for ocean views, but it's our own fault really for feeling a touch of vertigo on the 20th floor. I can't help but feel how dated the decor is here for a hotel only open for 15 years, the elevators, the bathrooms are all motel-like. When you arrive on the 20th floor the carpets give off some musty smells, and upon opening the door to our premier, well-paid ocean view room, that's pretty much all you get. The room is compact, furnishings few, but the balcony seems to me wishes to deter you from using it; it is absolutely tiny, sloping towards the edge with a couple of plastic chairs.

This hotel likes to mitigate any risks, so there is signage plastered all over the pool area (don't do this, don't sit on the edge, don't smoke, keep out of the pond, dry yourself before leaving this area etc) and I can only assume that all those signs are to curb the youth that would frequent the hotel and many others. Our in room safe didn't work, the towels were not only scratchy and threadbare, they stank of bleach.

Add to that the cheesy asian restaurants and souvenir shop as you enter from the street, made this place seem like they aren't too proud of the hotel. Overall, the room itself is quite basic and made for sleeping only. Spend the extra few quid and stay at one of the proper brand name hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diceslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Me and my wife had a 3 night stay on the 11th March at the Mantra Legends. We had travelled from the UK with our 7 month old son to visit relatives in Melbourne and they kindly offered to look after our boy for a few nights to allow us to have some time away.

As most people have already said the location of the hotel is fantastic been just seconds from the beach and main drag of shops, bars and clubs. Been so close to the action I was worried about noise but we had 3 great undisturbed nights sleep. Before we arrived I emailed the hotel to ask for a ocean view room and to let them know it was my wife’s birthday, when we checked they had allocated us a great high floor ocean view room and they also kindly had left a complementary bottle of red in the room which went down nice on the balcony on that first evening.

My only minor complaints are that although the room itself was clean it was a little dated and worn around the edges also there was no plasma TV which you sort of expect from a 4 star now. I believe that a lot of the rooms are private owned so Iam guessing this may be different in other parts of the hotel and to be fair why the hell anyone would want to be in there room watching TV whilst on the amazing Gold Coast is a mystery.

The other thing that could be a problem is the hotel grounds are quite small and while the pool is great there is only room for 20 or so sun lounges and for a hotel that must have 200+ rooms this is a little inadequate but not sure what they can do as there simply isn’t room for anymore plus the beach is so close and the surf beats the pool any day.

So overall we had a great 3 night stay at a very welcoming and professional run hotel with a great view and we wouldn’t think twice about coming back if we pass this way again so feel free to book with confidence……..

Room Tip: Email hotel in advance and ask for a high floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_BFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I only had one night and was attending a workshop with a small group. The Hotel was very comfortable and the rooms were very good and comfortable and well equipped as apartment type rooms. Great views to the surf only a short walk away. The conference facilities were very good and well serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarianmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Aquarianmark

Thanks for your post - glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the Hotel convenient for the work shop that you attended.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My husband and I had a night away at Mantra Legends, Surfers Paradise a couple of weeks ago. We were looking forward to our brief getaway as we tend to stay at Mantra hotels because of their cleanliness and good facilities. We were very disappointed with this Mantra Hotel. When we opened the door we were immediately met with dirty looking carpets and cushions (this is not shown well in the photo).We soon realised that the room had not been cleaned properly; cake crumbs on the carpet (photo), poo marks in the toilet. The toilet seat was not attached properly (had to readjust it so you didn't miss!) and there was mold growing on the ceilings in the room and bathroom. There were other people's hairs in the shower. The buffet breakfast was okay. The reception staff were friendly. I wouldn't go there again nor would I recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Studio rooms barely have a balcony. Get something bigger if you plan to use a balcony and ask which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Nicole S

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on-line although I naturally regret that your time with us fell short of the mark.

Whilst I am glad that the Reception team provided friendly service, the standard of cleanliness of your room was clearly unacceptable and please do accept my most sincere apologies. I have followed through with our team in Housekeeping and Front Office accordingly.

Whilst you have indicated you are unlikely to return, please do not hesitate to contact me on vince.king@mantra.com.au if I can be of service or should you wish to discuss further.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have had a terrible experience here, everyday we see 2-3 live and occaisionally dead roaches. The opinion over here is "no- one else has complained" and we have been unable to be moved to another room or to get a refund on our unused days if we were to leave. Having a 15 month old daughter, (who puts everything in her mouth!!) our experience is that on waking and returning from time away from our room we have to check for roaches before letting our daughter run free in the room. This has been the worst hotel we've stayed in over all our travels!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Originalkylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Property: Mantra Legends Hotel
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. For more car parking information please contact Mantra Legends (parking is subject to availability). Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Legends will undergo exterior repainting of the building from 13 March until 4 August 2017. The works will involve pressure cleaning and remedial work to the building’s exterior prior to re-painting. Work will be carried out from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, no works will be undertaken on the weekends. Mantra Legends Hotel management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing