We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had good and bad points.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mantra Legends Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had good and bad points.”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I was part of a wedding at the Mantra Legends recently so I was there for a very happy occasion. Unfortunately though the motel had many bad points and not as many good points so I would not return to stay- especially considering how overly priced it is.
We had the seafood buffet on a Friday night in the restaurant which cost almost $60. For that price I expeted something impressive. Instead there was a small amount of seafood, bland looking salads and other food that looked like it had been sitting there for hours. The staff were also very pushy and tried to talk to our large group a lot which really just didn't help!
The breakfast cost $19.50 a person which was also a buffet, but also very over priced! The food quality was average and not a huge spread.
The staff were generally quite friendly. The day before the wedding we were having a few social drinks and the barmen disappeared a lot which was quite annoying. The rooms were nice but as most rooms are adjoining to another you can very clearly here the people next to you- if you stay on a weekend you are likely to hear young adults getting ready to go out late at night and coming in in the early hours of the morning.
The worst thing that probably happened though was the phonecall we received to our room at 2:45 in the morning from Reception who rang us looking for someone- the had been asked by a random girl to call us and see if it was her friend. We might have been able to laugh this off if it wasn't the night before my best friends wedding. She was trying to sleep before her big day and this woke her us up and kept her awake for a while. With all the mayhem of the wedding the next day I was unable to mention this to the manager but it seemed very unprofessional.
The wedding though, went off without a hitch. Unlike the food in the restaurant the food provided at the reception was delicious and drink service was fantastic. The wedding co-ordinator was very helpful and with us a lot of the day. Guests were considerate of the wedding and happy to move themselves so we could get photos in particular areas.

The Mantra Legends might be ok for a mid-week stay, if it's ot important for you to get a good nights sleep but I doubt I will go back!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the beach is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    858
    394
    159
    133
See reviews for
501
861
114
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have stayed here before many years ago and the hotel has had a face lift. Public spaces and rooms are generally well appointed and I would be happy to stay here again if it wasn't for the terrible beds. This stay was part of a conference and many colleagues also commented on how uncomfortable the beds were. Queen beds seem to be two singles put together. One half of my bed was a few centimetres higher than the other half which was inconvenient and uncomfortable. Also there is no wireless internet in the rooms, only broadband cable and very expensive.

The hotel is well located in the middle of Surfers Paradise but noisy even with the balcony door closed. The Surfers Paradise part of the Gold Coast doesn't really appeal to me anyway but I think next time I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a full size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Mark Laurence

Thanks for your feedback following your stay with us - I always appreciate constructive feedback, particularly from a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of comfort offered by the bed in your room. We purchase only Sealy beds so I am disappointed this did not prove comfortable for you and the other guests who commented on the same. I will be meeting with Sealy to pass on this feedback as several comments have been received via TripAdvisor in this regard.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments and please do let me know if you are back on the Gold Coast and wanting to stay with us. To this end, I invite you to contact me directly on vince.king@mantra.com.au.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed here in late August in one of the Hotel Studios. The location is so convenient and the staff were very nice and helpful. The rooms were sparkling clean and the view was STUNNING - I requested we be placed on a higher floor away from elevator - got just that - on the 16th floor WOW.

It's great that the hotel only took a $1 CC imprint. I think more hotels should be doing this as they already have your ID and CC details there is no risk of trying to retrieve funds should there be any case of incidentals.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel again - great location with views.

Room Tip: One of the reviewers mentioned they had to stay on a different floor to others in their group. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear tkso

I am thrilled that you had such a good stay with us and thanks for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I look forward to seeing you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The rooms were very nice and well maintained and everything worked.
Nice and quiet. You get what you pay for.
We were in a group on different floors and it was a pain to get to a different floor because we had to meet them on the ground floor everytime we wanted to visit and then they took us to their floor, This really was annoying.
I would not stay here again becasue of the price - over $250 pn for 2.
If it's on special then that's fine.

Room Tip: I think it only really suits couples/single travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Last minute decision paid off at this beautiful hotel a stones throw from
Surfers paradise beach, and Cavill Ave.

Excellent value for money @ $166 (for 4 people) for one nights stay in a deluxe ocean view room

It's usually hard to find a nice hotel in surfers when it's last minute, and not overly priced for one nights stay so I fully recommend this one!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Ana K

I am pleased we proved so convenient for you for your visit to the Gold Coast.

Thanks for posting some feedback about your experience at the Hotel - great that you feel we represented excellent value for money.

I hope to see you back some time in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We really enjoyed our time at this Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy. We also went to Hardrock Cafe just up the road and the meal was delicious. Will definately be back when we are next in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Malcolm B

I really appreciate your feedback so thanks for sharing this. I am thrilled that you had such a great stay with us and that the service from the team met your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Got this hotel on a "wondering weather" deal at only $99 a night.Considering that it included full buffet b'fast for 2 it was an absolute bargain. The room was a small studio but was nice and had a good outlook. The Bathroom is very tired and needs a bit of TLC but it was clean. The lack of free and/or reasonable WiFi is a big let down. I don't follow why these hotels persist with this pay for wifi rubbish. Staff were pleasant and helpful. I would stay again but only on a deal. The sea food buffet is far too expensive and a bit dissappointing unless you are on a two for one deal - then it is only just OK. There is this great persian cafe across the street - eat there at least once.
Close to the beach and a nice pool as well. Handy to the main shopping area and night clubs but far enough away as well if that isn't your thing.

Room Tip: being higher up is probably best but you knew that already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartywishbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra8, General Manager at Mantra Legends Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear smartywishbone

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel. I am really pleased that you found the Hotel to be good value and that you were able to enjoy your time whilst visiting the Gold Coast.

I hope to see you back at the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vince King
General Manager
Mantra Legends Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Legends Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Legends Hotel

Property: Mantra Legends Hotel
Address: Cnr Surfers Paradise Blvd and Laycock St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Legends Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering premium accommodation in the heart of Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends Hotel provides the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. The hotel is just a short stroll to the beach, premium shopping outlets and fine dining restaurants and Surfers Paradise's famous nightlife scene is a mere five minute walk. The hotel boasts well appointed guest rooms and suites, featuring ocean or hinterland views. All rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, in-house movies, wireless connectivity and most feature a private balcony and the option of upgrading to a deluxe (refurbished) room. On-site facilities cater to both business travellers and those on a relaxed getaway. We offer exceptional conferencing facilities as well as a beautiful outdoor pool area, fully equipped gym and steam room. We offer guest services including 24 hour reception, secure undercover parking (subject to availability) and concierge. Our hotel offers an on-site restaurant, Fables and our own Tales Bar. Join us for breakfast, dinner or simply an evening cocktail. We provide the ideal location for a family holiday, short break or business trip. Limited undercover parking is available for one car only per room at a cost of $19 per day payable direct to the hotel. For more car parking information please contact Mantra Legends (parking is subject to availability). Maintenance Notice: As part of ongoing improvements, Mantra Legends will undergo exterior repainting of the building from 13 March until 10 July 2017. The works will involve pressure cleaning and remedial work to the building’s exterior prior to re-painting. Work will be carried out from 8am to 4pm Monday to Friday, no works will be undertaken on the weekends. Mantra Legends Hotel management team wish to apologise in advance for any disturbance this may cause. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Legends Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Legends Surfers Paradise
Mantra Legends Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing